We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, friendly service in interesting surroundings”

Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe
Ranked #3 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Tempting homemade cakes, sandwiches and main meals for the most discerning palates - our relaxed and friendly café is a slice of foodie heaven in the heart of Salisbury. With fresh, quality ingredients and the care and creativity of chef proprietor Michael Fox, we're a culinary treat worth talking about - winner of the 2015 Observer Food Monthly Awards 'Best Cheap Eats in the West'. You can also explore our treasure trove of amazing artwork in the largest independent art gallery in the South West. Spread over two floors and overflowing into a sunny courtyard, our ever-changing, contemporary collection brings together the work of leading artists, sculptors and furniture makers from across the UK as well as carefully selected, unique gifts sourced from the UK and further afield. Discover a selection of handmade cards and jewellery, as well as original glassware, ceramics, woodwork, and textiles-and take time to enjoy some of the finer things in life in a uniquely historic setting.
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Situated in the Fisherton Mill gallery, the cafe has a very relaxing and friendly atmosphere. The gallery has plenty of things to look at ranging from paintings to ornaments.
We visited on a weekday for lunch. We got there at 12 and were pleased that we had, as it soon began to get busy. Hubby had the bacon and egg tart with a very good salad. He pronounced the tart as nearly as good as mine. Well, what else could he say. I had the black barley, smoked salmon and red grapefruit with avocado and asparagus salad. It was really fresh and lovely. They had a fantastic display of cakes at the counter, but we just couldn't find room. We will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin S, Customer Relations Assistant at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thanks so much for your comments, it's great to hear you enjoyed your time at Fisherton Mill. We look forward to seeing you again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Unfortunately the kitchen was closed for renovations on the day we visited, so we were only able to sample food from the counter, but what we did have was tasty, fresh and creative (including good options for vegetarians) and served with a smile by staff who went out of their way to make it a pleasant experience for us.

Next time I'll be visiting when the kitchen is fully functioning, the yarn shop upstairs is open and I have a lot more room in my suitcase for purchases from the gallery! Definitely worth a visit any time of the day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cameronandhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin S, Customer Relations Assistant at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We really appreciate your positive comments and understanding whilst we were renovating our kitchens, we are now offering our full menu again with some delicious new dishes as well as some old favourites. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

All the cakes here are homemade. We had a slice of lemon cake plus a chocolate hedgehog and both were excellent! Wish they had capaccino ... will definitely return.

Thank Eddy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin S, Customer Relations Assistant at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Fab... It's great to hear you enjoyed the cakes! Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Bustling café in the ground floor of a converted Mill, now an art gallery complex with resident artists on the upper floor. Good selection of soup, salads and sandwiches plus a couple of hot dishes. Bottled beers, cider and wine by the glass as well. All very wholesome and freshly prepared food, great for lunch or afternoon tea.

Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin S, Customer Relations Assistant at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit, thanks for leaving a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile


Have visited on number of occasions and it never disappoints.
Excellent food and menu at a very reasonable price.
Delightful staff.

Thank Andreea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin S, Customer Relations Assistant at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thanks for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoy coming to Fisherton Mill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing