We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very tired hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasmere House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Warwickshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very tired hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed overnight in a deluxe room, with dinner, B & B. The cost was £149, as it included a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates. Our room had a good view of the cathedral, but what a tired, dark room. I understand that hotels cannot replace furniture regularly, but wallpaper is a different matter. In the corner of the bedroom the paper was coming off the walls & in the window bay and damp stains on the bathroom and bedroom ceiling. A fresh lick of paint and wallpaper would have made all the difference. Energy saving lightbulbs didn't help either. The bathroom was tired too. Furniture scratched, mirror wearing away and everything could have done with a brightening up session.
We believed that the menu left in the bedroom, is the same as you would get with the dinner, included in the price. Beware.. this is not the case. So, from an expected menu of around 10 main courses, including pheasant, duck, steak, you are presented with a boring, mundane and uninspiring 4 dish choice, inc. pasta, turkey and stuffing. The choice was like a school or hospital dinner menu. No steak, duck or pheasant to be seen. All a bit of a con. On complaining about the amount we had paid for the deluxe package, the owner agreed to let us choose from the menu which was left in our bedroom.
The lounge area is a hotch potch of furniture, with a large tv balanced on a small table in the corner. It reminded me of an old persons home. Old furniture and dull lighting.
This hotel has a lovely setting but is totally ruined by the lack of either care or money. I suggest the owner goes into each and every room and looks at the state of the rooms, furniture, especially the decor in the older part of the hotel and the bathrooms.
As said before, it's more like a care home than a hotel. The potential is there though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review when you stayed with us recently. I am sorry not to have responded sooner, I was pleased that you liked the view from your room. In reply to your comments, you will be pleased to hear that the room you stayed in has been redecorated, the offending wallpaper (the result of an overflowing bath from the room above) has been replaced and the ceilings have been repainted. All of the lightbulbs have been replaced by bulbs with 100w lumens. The furniture has all been treated by one of our local tradesman and brought up to the sparkle it should have.
I was horrified to hear that you were presented the wrong menu on the evening of your stay and immediately instructed the staff to give you the the a la carte menu. I hope that you enjoyed your meal.
The furniture in the lounge is an eclectic mixture of expensive leather and fabric suites of differing styles to give the lounge a sense of character. All of the light bulbs have been upgraded. The television was specifically requested by some of our guests seeking to catch up with sporting events like the rugby.
Once again many thanks for taking the time and trouble to express your concerns and write your review, for it is constructive comments like yours that help us to maintain our standards and in fact gives us the chance to improve on them.
We do hope that this has not deterred you from visiting us again when we can show you that we do really care about our clients. Please feel free to give me a call when you next decide to visit Salisbury and I shall personally handle your booking.
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    152
    85
    54
    40
See reviews for
99
235
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Probably one of the worst hotels i have stayed in on business in the last 18months. I booked in around 5pm to find a 'Wake' going on, it appeared i was on the only business person staying here and the rest of the guests were part of the Funeral party with a disco in the next room to the dining area and due to no wirless connection in the room i had to sit in the dining area! Dinner ddint start until 7pm however could not believe it when the kitchen & hotel staff came out into the dining area with their plates and sat down and ate their food in the 'Guest' dining area. Ther food was very average and the wine shocking! Overall the hotel needs a tidy up the rooms are ok, the bathroom was very basic and there was more that came from the bottom of the shower hose than the head! I really want to say something positive about this hotel however i am struggling. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 935charlotte_W935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it is invaluable to our business as it helps us with monitoring your concerns and maintianing our normal high standards. I was very sorry to hear of your unhappiness and would like to assure you that we have taken steps to rectify some of the issues you have brought to our attention.
Funeral gatherings are delicate and emotional events, and we do try to handle them with the utmost care and discretion. The "Wake" you mentioned had been in progress in the afternoon and was meant to finish by around the time of your arrival, I am sorry to hear that their music disturbed you. The gathering did finish by 7.00pm and the guests departed, there were only one or two rooms occupied by funeral guests staying the night.
As the funeral gathering was a little noisy one of our staff, in order to give you privacy and wifi access to the internet, directed you into the restaurant. I am not sure if you were aware that there is superfast hard wired and very secure Broadband in your bedroom. At this time the restaurant was closed, as it was when the staff ate their meal, and I am sorry that you were upset by this. Quite a few restaurants feed their staff in their restaurants albeit out of opening hours.
I was pleased to hear that you were happy with the bedroom. The shower head you mentioned has been repaired, thank you for bringing this to our attention. You will be pleased to hear that some of the bathrooms are due for a refurbishment later this year. As part of our ongoing continual annual refurbishment.
Once again thank you for bringing to our attention your unhappiness, we do like to hear from our guests at the time of their stay as it gives us a chance to rectify any of our mistakes or shortcomings. However we are pleased that you took the time and trouble to post your review, as mentioned earlier it does give us valuable feedback and enable us to maintain and improve on our standards.
I do hope that you will give us another chance on you next visit to Salisbury and we can show that we really do care about out clients and our business.
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Northampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

There are some real positives with this hotel but unfortunately a few niggles too.

We stayed in a superior double room as it has a bigger bed (two singles pushed together to make a king size). The room was a great size and had a gorgeous view over the river. The bathroom was also a good size with bath/shower, 2 x sinks and toilet. The rooms were very clean and tidy. My main gripe is to do with the bedding - ie not big enough for this size of bed which meant that one of us was without covers every night. Luckily the room was nice and warm otherwise I think we would have struggled.
The hotel in general is a little tired but that actually made it very charming - there is a big lounge with comfy chairs where you can sit and read, a very small bar area, terrace outside overlooking the gardens & river, and dining area. The breakfast was generally ok but the bacon was undercooked and toast burnt. We decided to eat dinner there on our final night and whilst the food was delicious and cooked very well I didn't feel it warranted the £18/£19 per main course. In addition they had done nothing to make the room feel nice ie the tables still looked as they did for breakfast with no tablecloths or placemats so it was nothing special. Surely to charge that kind of money you expect the surroundings to be a little nicer. Service generally was ok - some staff friendlier than others.
The main thing about this hotel is the location - very close to the centre of the city and the view was gorgeous. This in itself would make me stay at this hotel again.
Other: we ate at the Strada restaurant (Italian) - good food & service; and the Swan Inn in Stoford - average food & good service.

Room Tip: Superior double rooms for King Size beds and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Booked into the Grasmere House for a surprise 60th celebration birthday in Salisbury, expecting a classic "country house" type of hotel. What a disappointment! We stayed in room 11 and to be frank the bathroom should have a demolition order imposed on it... The sink was cracked, floor tiles cracked, wall tiles falling off......and the shower head was a disgrace!
The beds were hard as rock and the breakfast the next morning was chaos! No teaspoons, the weakest tea I have tasted, hardly cooked bacon and untoasted toast; not a pleasant experience.
I know that the hotel was busy but this was a weekend out of season and for £65 per room was just not good enough.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alirobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for the time you took to post your review on Tripadvisor. Thank you also for bringing to our attention your concerns and our shortcomings. You will be pleased to know that the bathroom sink has been replaced as have the floor and wall tiles and the shower head refurbished. The bathroom has also been redecorated.
I am sorry the breakfast was not to your liking, steps have been taken on staff training to ensure that tea is stronger than you experienced, and bacon cooked properly The toaster had been put on an incorrect setting this has since been rectified.
Once again many thanks for your constructive comments, it is comments like yours that help us maintain and improve on our normal high standards. We do like to hear from you at the time of your stay as this gives us a chance to rectify and amend any thing that has gone astray at the time
We do hope that we will have a chance to look after you again in the not too distant future and show you that we really do care about our clients and our business.
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked this hotel as it was near to the town and also close enough to the Ramsay New Hall Hospital where my wife was working for the day.

Having driven down the day before and already finding out on the internet that Salisbury doesn't like cars we paid £3 to park in the market square for an hour before booking in to the hotel.

The staff were pleasant and the rooms clean and a decent size including the bathroom which had double wash basin, Bath and Shower.

Room has complimentry Kettle, Tea,Coffee and biscuits (Cookies for our US friends) and TV. with views of the river and Cathederal from our window.

We chose not to eat in the restaurant that evening as we were heading back to the town to have a look around but were impressed by the standard of service given at breakfast the following morning, having discovered that the room was cheaper to include a full english breakfast when booking direct with the hotel on line than without?

To get into the town it is a 20 minute walk but we used the red 5 bus from the stop a short distance from the hotel (Turn left out of the hotel gates and the bus stop is on the corner of the next road on the left) and paid £1.80 each for a return ticket. We didn't use the return and decided to enjoy the walk back past the Cathederal.

Having asked the management the car was left in the car park the next day whilst my wife was at the hospital and I explored the town again including the market, being market day (Tuesday)

Will definately use again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calimagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for the time you took to post a review, and thank very much for all of your nice comments. I shall pass on your complimentary comments to all of the staff as I am sure that they will appreciate them. We all look forward to welcoming you to Grasmere House again sometime in the not too distant future
Once again many thanks
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barmatt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

An absolutley terrific terrace and grounds with a stuuning view of Salisbury Cathedral. The dining area is well suited for function catering. A very traditional decor, that is very in keeping. Clean and well appointed ground floor room. Ample parking. Food during function was not amazing but fine, none the less. Pleasent Staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Booked this hotel through KGB deals as a last minute romantic break and it did not disappoint. Booked standard room and was upgraded with out asking to the delux with four poster bed and fabulous views across the grounds to the river and Cathedral.
On a freezing cold day, we snuggled by the open fire in the lounge with a complimentary glass of wine. Staff were all very accommodating and although we didnt eat in the hotel restaurant as there was wedding on that day, we did have a full english breakfast with all you could want.
Highly recommend this hotel but there are lots of stairs. Disabled rooms on ground floor.
Will try and return in the summer to enjoy the riverside location

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.9 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#5 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 15 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.7 km away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.0 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing