We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simple but very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasmere House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simple but very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for one night with our two young children. A large family room with everything there. Breakfast was very good and the service was top class. The only slight problem was that the fan in the bathroom came on when you went near the toilet and it was a bit noisy. Only a minor issue but everything else was great.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very complimentary review, we are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breakfast and service. I am sorry to hear you found the fan noisy, am also sorry to say that fans in our bathrooms are a statutory requirement by our health and hygiene regulations. Some of the bathrooms have advanced movement detection sensors that activate the fan, as compared to those activated by the light switch. However I will investigate if any of them need maintenance or replacement, as all mechanical items do at some time. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.
We look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit Salisbury.
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    156
    90
    57
    41
See reviews for
104
244
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

'The best breakfast we have ever tasted'
The Grasmere has hosted our daughter's Wedding reception in 2010 and our Ruby Wedding Anniversary celebration this year. Both ocassions were a resounding success due to the very discreet, efficient and friendly service, together with a calm, welcoming atmosphere.
All our expectations were met. The food served was outstanding, hot and on time, despite having 80 guests seated for a three course meal.
The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. Provision for children and disabled guests is met without fuss.
The lovely grounds include a river with ducks and swans and a superb view of Salisbury Cathedral across the water meadows. They provide an excellent backdrop for photography.
We are looking for an excuse to have another party at this fine establishment, just a short walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We upgraded to a deluxe room for our weekend stay and were pleased that we did. The room was large and comfortable with stunning views of the Cathedral Landscape. The bathroom was nice (if a little tired around the edges of the bath) and had a large double sink.
The building is old but charming, hence there are areas that are tired in places, such as some of the carpeting. But that really did not affect our stay.
Breakfast is acceptable. It would have been nice to have been offered croissants and pastries, cheeses and more fresh fruit, as part of the buffet and to perhaps offer a vegetarian alternative. The toast was cold but the staff were very quick to remedy that.
Indeed, as with any stay, there were a few niggles (like the bedding not being big enough for the large and comfortable beds) but the staff were so helpful and did their best to sort it out for us so that we were comfortable.
Overall our stay was a real pleasure. We were made to feel comfortable and at home. The views from the hotel and our room were stunning.
We would recommend a stay here and advise that if there is anything that you are unhappy with, to let the staff know, they are so accommodating and do make the effort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend as we were planning in visiting stonhenge. Location is gorgeous, we walked from the train station but got a little lost along the way but we didn't mind as it was a nice day. On arrival the staff were very helpful and chatty. Our room was located on the ground floor and i was pleasantly surprised, we had a fantastic view over the gardens and there was ample space for us both, the bathroom was particularly well sized with a big bath and shower. Correct directions from staff meant it was just a 20min walk to the cathedral and 30 into town (or a £6 taxi). It was very quiet despite our room being near the bar and the bed was extremely comfy. I would give this hotel a 5 but we didn't sample breakfast as we got carried away taking photos of the ducks that wandered into our room :-) would definetly reccomend and planning a trip back soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patio doors directly linked to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here for one night (going to Stonehenge). The hotel is old but really nice. Located in a beautiful place. The food was Ok, the breakfast was nice, the staff was very helpful and they didn't mind fixing a vegetarian breakfast. It is within a nice walking distance from the Cathedral and Salisbury's downtown.
It was very quiet at night, and if you are lucky and have clear skies, the view of the sky is amazing. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor, nice big rooms there and really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rovaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and thank you for your lovely comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Only too happy to oblige with the vegetarian breakfast. Your comments will be passed on to all of our staff as they all get a boost from complimentary comments like yours. Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grasmere House Hotel, again hopefully in the not too distant future
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just returned from yet another most enjoyable weekend at Grasmere with a group of friends (22). Couldn't want for more, first class location, lovely rooms, wonderful views, great food, friendly staff and a management team that did all they could to ensure we had a successful stay. Allowing us as a group to have our own dinning room was much appreciated. Thanks once again to all at Grasmere for making our stay such an enjoyable one and we look forward to doing it all again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldsdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The word "tired" is used in several reviews. This is true but we found the general cleanliness and state of repair about average for a 3* in the UK. Breakfast, on a Sunday when all the guests decided they would eat at the same time was a little crampted in the dinning room but the service was very good and the traditional English was excellent.
The walk into the city is easy for those with average mobility.
More attention is needed on certain areas- the electrical testing ( so called PAT) in the room was either mising or out of date. Our extractor fan in the bathroom did not work.
Booking in is an experience from 50 years ago; despite booking on the internet, a large book with the details of guests is produced for me to add mine. If the full system is not computorised, then this system should be replaced by individual registration cards. The hotel should not be handing me the details- names, address, car reg and date of arrival of other guests.
Would I stay again? Yes at 65GBP per night I would but I may book in under the name Smith!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#6 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.9 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.0 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing