We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
33
31
10
12
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
31
10
12
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 107 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent location, lovely rooms. The twin beds made up as a double made for a huge bed and the bathroom was lovely. We arrived late in the evening and asked the doormen to direct us to the hotel, up in the lift. Our room was facing the main road but was still very quiet. The staff both in the hotel and the pub were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was great too - lovely eggs benedict!

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazzieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent location in the centre of Salisbury next to the River Avon. Separate entrance to the hotel from the Weatherspoons pub and we had asked for a quiet room situated at the back of the hotel. It was difficult to decide whether it was better to have a quiet room at the back looking out over the bins or a room at the front overlooking the beautiful buildings at the front.

Room was excellent - twin beds zipped together with lovely clean white linen, good hospitality tray including bottles of still and sparkling water (nice touch!). The bathroom was very basic and we found it very amusing to read the note on the bathroom wall requesting that if you would use your towels again please leave them on the towel rail ............ there was no towel rail to be found!!!!
The receptionist was very friendly and explained that as they didn't offer room service we were welcome to get food and drink from the pub below and take it up to our room.
Next morning we had breakfast in the pub which was excellent value - I had eggs benedict which were very tasty and my husband had the full English breakfast - with coffees for both of us and toast and marmalade the price was £9.47 - excellent value
The hotel itself was £32.00 for the night and it made a brilliant overnight stay at a great price - definitely stay there again

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great location, right in the centre next to a river. Room was a good size, clean with everything in good order. Reception has to be via a lift, but the service was welcoming. Basically it was like a travelodge with a little more character.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 305MartinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Cycling from Bristol to Salisbury through heavy showers, laden with panniers, this hotel was not only welcoming - very friendly staff - but very accommodating in our need to keep our bikes in our room as there's no garage. Our room was spacious and clean, there was a nice deep bath and endless hot water. For the price it was very good value but we didn't use the bar other than for a ridiculously cheap £1.98 pint of bitter made 50p cheaper thanks to CAMRA membership !

Room tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trikemaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I have stayed at the King's Arms twice with my wife, and both times we were with another couple. By this, I was able to see 2 different rooms. This is a quirky old hotel with crooked staircases, doors and hallways. A fun place to stay and I would recommend it. Don't expect 4 star treatment or rooms but a good place for an affordable hotel in a location that can't be beat!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews