We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
641
50
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
50
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams wonderful hosts wealth of knowledge walking tour fresh fruit salad breakfast was delicious helpful information b and b exeter street large table fellow guests the location is perfect each morning parking permit bed and breakfast surrounding area wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 694 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2018

We stayed at Cathedral View for two nights in April 2018. Wenda and Steve gave us a very warm and attentive (but discreet) welcome. Their beautiful B&B is just outside the Cathedral Close, and it does indeed have a spectacular view of the cathedral. Breakfast was great entertainment - Steve and Wenda gave their personal attention to us, as we ate in a group with guests from the other rooms. Their standard of cuisine is the best we have ever come across at a B&B and considerably superior to any hotel we've stayed at. The company was entertaining, too - two sets of charming visitors from the US, who broke the stereotype of what we English think Americans are like. We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Salisbury.

Rather than booking through an agency, you will get better rate if you use the Cathedral View Website

Room tip: Room 2 is at the back.- garden views and quiet. Other rooms at the front have a spectacular view of the cathedral
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Q7079NUnickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathedralfan, Owner at Cathedral View, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Thank you so much for the glowing wonderful review you gave us. We are just so happy as it shows that the hard work we put into making our guest house welcoming and special does pay off. I also like that you mentioned our charming guests from the US. As most of our guests are from the US we really enjoy their company, good sense of humour, and charming manners. They all love coming to Salisbury to see Stonehenge and our magnificent Cathedral. Thank you again Nick & Lorraine our warmest wishes to you both from Wenda & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

You can't be closer to the Salisbury cathedral close than this - literally, step across the street and you're inside. You're also easy walking distance from the center of town and a variety of restaurants and markets. But you will also get the benefit of Steve and Wenda's friendly hospitality and conversation (great fun to talk with), excellent breakfast (virtually whatever you might want, it seems like), and very comfortable rooms. Really, it's hard to think of a better B&B experience you could have than this one.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathedralfan, Owner at Cathedral View, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

It was a pleasure to have such lovely guests stay and thank you so much for the review. Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Wenda and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

The location of this B&B is just perfect, being directly opposite the Cathedral Close (ideal for popping over to see the Cathedral, Mompasson House and the two museums housed there too) and two minutes walk away from the start of the shopping areas and old town. The hosts are delightful: Wenda makes a delicious lemon drizzle cake and scrumptious Anzac biscuits, while Steve has an impressive knowledge of all the interesting spots you might like to visit while in Salisbury (providing a very helpful information sheet to take with you!) and both are lovely people who are very eager to give their guests the very best holiday experience. Our room was very comfortable and gave us a fine view over the walls of The Close across to the Cathedral spire.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathedralfan, Owner at Cathedral View, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a superb review and it was so nice to see you two visiting so many interesting places and enjoying our little City (Smallsbury) so much!!!! Also thank you for leaving the pretty "thankyou" card!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

Stayed three nights to visit family and Salisbury. Comfy rooms, homemade biscuits, personal touches and good recommendations for places to go and things to do and restaurants for good food. Breakfast cooked to order and served with home made jam, marmalade etc. Highly recommended

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank bizzieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

Look up “friendly” in the dictionary and you’ll find a picture of Steve and Wenda.
I stayed in room three with a nice view of the Cathedral spire. Upon arrival Steve was a wealth of information. (I clearly need three or four days to take in this city!)
The room was spacious with charmingly squeaky floors that are to be expected in the house that was built in 1795. I was on the top floor so the only squeaking I heard was my own.
Hot shower. Big, soft bath towels (I just love it when the towels are as big and thick as the ones I use at home), quiet room and a wonderful view of the cathedral spire all at a reasonable price.
Breakfast was delicious. Homemade croissants right out of the oven served with Steve’s homemade raspberry and strawberry jam. The coffee was fresh ground and brewed just for me.
Last but not least there were two delicious homemade cookies waiting for me in my room when I arrived. Such a nice touch.
Thanks Steve and Wenda! I’ll be back.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank PuppetArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews