We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
643
50
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
50
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams wonderful hosts wealth of knowledge walking tour fresh fruit salad breakfast was delicious helpful information b and b exeter street large table fellow guests the location is perfect each morning parking permit bed and breakfast surrounding area wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 696 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Arrived here totally weary from a long trip to UK from NYC and were warmly greeted by the owners, Steve and Wenda. Although the room was not yet ready, we were treated to a great introduction to Salisbury by Steve. Walked about town for a bit and then returned to our room on the top floor of the building. Comfortable, immaculately clean, and complete with home made treats, our room was perfect for our three day stay. And the breakfasts! So delicious, prepared to order, and enjoyed around a large table full of great conversation. I can't say enough good things about Cathedral View - the hosts truly made us feel at home. And the city itself, reeling from the crisis of the poisoning of the ex Russian spies, showed remarkable spirit and a sense of real community as they work to return to normal. Everyone should visit Salisbury, enjoy the beautiful cathedral and be spoiled by Steve and Wenda at Cathedral View!

Room tip: The top floor is quite a climb - not for the weak of heart!
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathedralfan, Owner at Cathedral View, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Such a lovely review and so well written. We are back to "normal" now and it has helped us that 90% of our guests are from USA and have kept coming here. We so enjoy those guests as they are always so polite, thirsting for knowledge of our history and positive with good sense of humours. Thank you so much for review. best wishes from Wenda and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Steve and Wenda were gracious hosts, and went beyond bed and breakfast. They know their town well, and Steve has put together a walking tour of the town that is architecturally interesting.

The B&B is well-located, about a five minute stroll from the cathedral and the Manga Carta.

Full English breakfast is on the menu. There may be lighter options, but after the breakfast, we did not need to stop for lunch, so were able to pack more sightseeing in on our time in Salisbury.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathedralfan, Owner at Cathedral View, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this super review. Yes you dont have to eat the full english breakfast?!!!! We do have lots of lighter options. warmest wishes from Wenda and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2018

We had an excellent three night stay at this comfortable and perfectly located B and B while we singing at the cathedral last week. The bedroom was comfortable, with a lovely view of the floodlit cathedral spire. We appreciated the fresh flowers, the homemade cake and biscuits, and the birthday card! Breakfasts were absolutly first rate. Thank you very much Steve and Wenda. If we find ourselves in Salisbury again we'll be back!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathedralfan, Owner at Cathedral View, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely perfect review. It was a pleasure having super guests like you two to stay and makes our job worthwhile when people appreciate what we do in Cathedral View. I hope that people reading this will contact us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2018

Steve and Wenda are the best! The rooms are all very comfortable (we've now stayed in each of them). This trip we stayed in Room 1, which has a great view of Salisbury Cathedral's spire. The rooms are always impeccably clean and include a tray of tea/coffee making items and homemade cookies. Yum!
The breakfast is spectacular (award winning - and well deserved) and there are many choices. Bread for the toast is baked daily and the jam is homemade. We enjoyed the full English, as we usually do.
The location is perfect - just outside St. Ann's Gate into the Cathedral Close.
I only wish we could have stayed longer, but there will be another visit. :)

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mysticaltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018

Steve & Wenda were a great host and hostess. The accommodations were clean and appealing. The breakfast choices were excellent. Both of these fine people also think about what a guest would like and try to accommodate that from room accessories, food choice, sight recommendations etc. Also, they have discount arrangements with several restaurants in the city. Highly recommend!

Room tip: Book on their website directly.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews