We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our last Sunday lunch in the uk for a while”
Review of The Alma

The Alma
Ranked #12 of 269 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: You'll find The Alma just 5 minutes walk from Windsor town centre tucked away on a charming Victorian red brick terraced lined street. We are a traditional English pub serving a range of beers, ales, fine wines and great food... We also have the largest beer garden in Windsor which has recently been given a real polish, great for those hot summer days and evenings! We are conveniently located for Heathrow, the M4 and the M25. The Alma is full of antiques and collectable's including: furniture, paintings, pictures, mirrors, ceramics and interesting knick-knacks We also have a collection of rare film posters and are constantly adding interesting and unusual items. It's like pubs used to be and, in our opinion, should be.
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for Sunday lunch, the staff were very helpful found us a table even without a booking and they were very busy. Nothing was a problem, they made the time to talk to us and really make us feel welcome. The food was lovely... for our last Sunday dinner in the uk for a while it was all we wanted and more, very happy and highly recommend.

1  Thank Experience752801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 350 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2018

We went on Sunday to try their roast - it was so good! The only downside was not enough veg (only served one portion between 4) but other than that was great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

We visited Windsor for the weekend, and drank in a few of the pubs, the Alma being one, and we also ate here. The meals we had were ok, my wife had a chilli, which was plentiful, and tasty, but the chilli was served on top of the chips which was a bit disappointing, maybe a separate bowl for the chips would have been good, ...or a choice? I had the Lamb Tagine, which was okay, but more lamb in the meal would have been nice. What stood out for us though was the lovely, lively atmosphere in the pub, some nice real ales to choose from, and excellent, friendly, attentive staff. A real top boozer! We would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RicohWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018

My husband rang on Friday to book a table for 1pm saturday to include his elderly mother (92 years). Explained the need for parking and advised we could park in the neighbouring street after 1pm.

When we arrived at the pub we looked at the menu which had a smaller brunch menu on top. When we queried this, we were told that the lunch menu did not start until 2pm!!!

Pretty ridiculous situation and we only received a half hearted apology. We left and went to a more accommodating venue and unfortunately won’t be back. A real shame as we’d had lovely food here in the past.

Thank SWLLsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Apologies for this one, we had a misunderstanding within the team however the main menu was available at this time. We have made sure everyone is aware of this going forwards, but have to hold our hands up that we fell short this time. Please drop me an email at bookthealma@gmail.com as I would like to discuss this further if possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 24, 2017 via mobile

Family friendly, good menu, pleasant staff, good portion sizes. Very nice warm feel to the place. Nice.

Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at The Alma, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2017

Glad you enjoyed it... see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alma also viewed

 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing