We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Fabulous hotel, brilliant location right on the river. Room was spacious and comfortable, service is excellent, staff friendly and efficient and the meals excellent. The morning pantry for breakfast is a unique touch. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms seem very well soundproofed. Nice to have a view of the grounds and down to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake R, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Eileen M,

It is brilliant to hear you found your stay with us to be 'Excellent' as this is what our whole team strives to deliver to all our guests. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed the location, food and spacious rooms offered as well as noting the unique offering that is our Pantry breakfast.
Most importantly, I was proud to read you found our staff to be friendly and efficient with excellent service - this is a true testament to the team's hard work and one i will be sharing with our staff.
We all look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We went to Oakley court for an anniversary afternoon tea on Saturday afternoon. The venue was lovely our table was right in the window and we could see the lovely gardens and river from our seats. The choice of tea was good we had earl grey and dragon wall which was yummy. The sandwiches were nice and they catered for our nut and fish allergies. The cakes were amazing especially the macaroon. The scones with the choice of jams were good too. I would recommend this venue for a decadent afternoon tea.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sakerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake R, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear sakerman,

I am delighted you had a lovely anniversary Afternoon Tea and thank you for sharing that special occasion with us. It is always great to hear we have helped make a special event even more memorable and with our ornate Drawing Room for a backdrop overlooking the landscaped grounds and River Thames - It truly makes for a stunning experience.

To know you would recommend us is testament to the whole teams hard work and I very much hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

My husband and I were treated to the afternoon tea with champagne experience as a gift. We received a warm, friendly welcome from the staff. The tea room was spacious and very comfortable. The service, food and drink were excellent, generous and we felt unrushed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank pearlywhirly2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake R, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear pearlywhirly2016

Thank you for your kind review and I glad to hear you had a wonderful Champagne Afternoon Tea experience with us.

In particular I am glad you enjoyed the service and will be passing your comments on to our hard working team members.

Do return soon, perhaps for a stay next time?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel really is in a great spot on the river. It's ideal for an active stay and has walking routes, running routes, gym, pool and bikes to borrow. It's also great as a base for sightseeing locally or in London. It's also incredibly relaxing. Think log fires, laden bookcases, great views, fantastic grounds, decor, gothic splendour and spacious rooms. A delight was the breakfast buffet which is laid out beautifully with every attention to detail.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank ochre8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake R, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear ochre8

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of our 'fantastic location' and managed to make full use of our onsite leisure facilities as well.

The riverside setting is certainly relaxing and add in our intimate lounge areas with log fires and you have a perfect getaway!

I hope we can welcome you back soon for another brilliant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel and its gardens are very beautiful, especially the outside deck invites the guests to an afternoon in the picturesque surroundings. However, the circa 50 ladybugs we had in our room one night (we did not have the windows open, so we did not figure out where they came from) where not very gladly seen. Staff is very friendly but extremely badly trained: duvets, sheets, towels and trolleys lie/stand in the corridors everyday and for the whole day. Apparently nobody has ever told them that these things should remain in the room cleaned at the time so not to disturb other guests. Also, the lady doing the check-out did not know that newspapers are included in some rooms (as her colleague told us at check-in). The language capabilities are generally rather poor. One would expect management to take care of such issues...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake R, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear M P

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed the extensive grounds and our Terrace restaurant, they really are the perfect place to while away an afternoon.

However, I am sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay and please be assured your feedback regarding Housekeeping has been taken on board. We hope to be able to welcome you back on another occasion and provide a service more in keeping with the high standards we set ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise gift for me as I wanted to visit Windsor Castle. On arrival first impressions were great but we were allocated an annex room in an outbuilding which was bland and tired with no wardrobe doors! The room was badly designed but not lacking in space but why oh why no wardrobe doors! Even wheelchair users can open and close doors. Absolutely hated seeing an iron and ironing board resting in the corner. Access to the hotel was diabolical with staff having to place a ramp just to get into reception. To add further insult when going for breakfast there was no wheelchair access to the dining room. After placing ramps to get in we were shown to an empty room to take breakfast but we could hear people chatting and asked if we could dine in the restaurant. I cried and am sure the staff noticed. There was no access to the dining room so we had to go outside and navigate shingle paths to the back of the hotel just to join the other guests in the breakfast room thank goodness the rain had stopped.

My surprise weekend was a total disappointment and I can not recommend this hotel. I was so upset and couldn’t wait to leave and didn’t want to speak to the management so I really hope they read this.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake R, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear P D,

Thank you for your comments.

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the bedrooms, as the lack of wardrobe doors isn't exclusive to our accessible rooms but an initiative we are instigating in many of our refurbished rooms to ensure a cleaner and smoother design. I am sorry if this concept wasn't to your personal liking.

As a Grade II* Listed Building, we are limited in amendments we can make to the structure of the main house and as such ensure we have ramps and our onsite butlers available 24 hours a day to assist all our guests.

The area you were shown to for breakfast is our newly refurbished top section of The Dining Room which is fully accessible. Many of our customers chose this area as it is quieter and provides a more relaxing breakfast setting. Once, you asked to move our Head Butler was happy to assist you to our lower section.

It is never our intention for any guest to have anything less than an enjoyable experience here at the hotel and I hope the points outlined above go some way to helping provide a clearer understanding of the concerns raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

A treat for us to celebrate a special anniversary but worth every penny.

The drive up to the hotel was beautiful with wild flowers and huge art craft of drift wood formed into a horse. We found ourselves smiling in anticipation of what else the hotel was going to offer.

The hotel oozes charm and the glorious weather enhanced our stay.

The staff were all delightful and intent on helping whenever we asked for it.

The breakfast had every conceivable food item to suit everybody's diet.

Our anniversary evening meal in the restaurant was faultless. Shame one of us had to sit facing a wall when we had requested a window table when we originally booked months ago. The waiter explained the restaurant was full and could not change our table. Very disappointed.

Our beautiful suite in the west wing had views of the river and the lawns. Faultless.... or so we thought. All night long we heard what sounded like water bubbling loudly in the pipes. It resembled heavy rain on the windows.

We had another unpleasant problem which was resolved by the staff but we were impressed by their concern. Well done to everyone.

We will return as we love the staff and ambience of the hotel. All in all it was an almost perfect anniversary weekend.

Our thanks to everyone at Oakley Court.

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake R, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Nannabug

Thank you for your comments and I am delighted to hear you joined us to celebrate a special anniversary, it is always a privilege to play a role in memorable occasions for our guests.

I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed ideal weather during your visit and were able to appreciate the array of wild flowers and unique, driftwood artwork we have on display. As always, I am always very proud to hear our staff have delivered excellent service and played a key role in your enjoyment - it truly is a testament to the hard working, passionate team we are lucky to have here.

I am glad you managed to make full use of our Pantry breakfast experience and enjoyed dinner, though I do apologise we weren't able to offer a window table on this occasion.

Naturally it was great to hear you enjoyed the views from your room and that our team members were able to resolve any problems with efficiency during the stay.

We certainly hope we can welcome you back again soon, perhaps for another anniversary weekend?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
4.6 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.5 km away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
4.6 km away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
8.1 km away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,957 reviews
4.4 km away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $261 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing