We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold weekend”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cold weekend”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel on the 10th February and used tesco vouchers. For bed breakfast and evening meal it was £640 for two people for two nights which is a different price than if you are not using vouchers. Overall the experience was ok however the hotel was freezing and the great hall was miserably cold. I had to wear my husbands jacket. We were given radiators in our room but informed they may be taken away if someone else needed them. We did speak to the hotel about the temperature of the hotel and were informed that they are trying to fix it. If i had not been using my vouchers i would have complained as the cost for the weekend was significant. Staff all lovely but the speed at which you are served is almost olympic! Dinner takes them only an hour from sitting down to leaving. Our premium double room was large but lacking in character and again, freezing cold. Broadway is lovely and i would return but not to this hotel. Bar prices are also steep. Two double gin and tonics in the bar £19.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareBSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for completing your review. Firstly, please let me assure you that we do not charge different prices whether you are using vouchers or not. I am sorry that you felt the hotel was cold we did everything we could to ensure the heating was to full compacity. With regard to the drink prices, these are prices for doubles served in 50 ML measures we do however serve drinks in 25 ML measures. I am sad to hear that you would not return to the hotel again, however should you decide to do so or would like to discuss this with me further please do feel free to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    631
    288
    158
    91
See reviews for
240
1,380
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenna Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Loved the location and our room. Service was good but I'd say cool and distant not all but most.
Internet - terrible! Wireless only available complimentary in lobby and very slow so why pay for it in your room and what is with this paying for it anyway? The waste of time setting it up obtaining a password tying up staff why not just add a £ to ever ones rate and be done with it.
I'm only staying from now on in hotels that offer it free.
The breakfast and dining room were lovely, Room very nice well located and quiet!

Room Tip: #64 in the thatched cottage quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for completing your review. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. With regard to the internet we now have a new provider so the issues you have raised should improve and I do take on board the comments you have raised. We very hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have stayed in this hotel twice in the past six months, once in the main hotel and once in a room in the 'extension' through the garden. Lovely property in a fantastic location.

Food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. The rooms in the main hotel (the older rooms) were much nicer than the garden rooms which do require some updating. It is worth paying the extra to stay in the more traditional rooms. The breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Hotel manager was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for completing your review, we are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here after much research to find a hotel suitable for an 80th birthday with a wide range of ages, interests and dietary restrictions. The hotel were fantastic in accommodating all of our eating problems, and flexible and helpful in arranging anything we asked for. Between us we had a variety of rooms which were all lovely, and tastefully furnished. The food was delicious and there were plenty of small rooms in the public area of the hotel which could accommodate family groupings in relative privacy. Not one of us had a single gripe...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for completing your review and we are delighted to hear that the you all enjoyed the celebrations, we do hope that this will leave you all with memories for time to come. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed as a last minute treat for our birthdays and it was well worth the 2 hour drive to this part of England. We had a perfect room for me, my wife our son and the dog. Great staff who dealt with a slight dining issue very well. A great get away from the daily grind.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realdealUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for completing your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yur stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service we received from the staff was friendly and of the highest quality.

When we arrived there was repair work taking place just inside the front entrance but one of the maintenance staff immediately greeted us and directed us around the works to reception where we were warmly greeted and checked in. The concierge showed us to our room and give us a quick but comprehensive run down on the hotel facilities.

We had booked a spa break in order to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and the break included 4 mini treatments. Never having had a spa break before we were pleased when my wife went for a facial later that afternoon that the warm greetings and positive attitude of the staff continued. She was put totally at ease and thoroughly enjoyed herself. The massages and manicure on the second day were equally pleasurable experiences. The pool, sauna, steam room and changing facilities were also excellent.

The break included 2 nights accommodation, 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts and 1 lunch. There was no limit on what we could choose from the menu. The food at dinner was absolutely superb - 3 courses preceded by an amuse bouche - all of the highest quality. Breakfast was more limited than some hotels but made up for this in quality - the cooked elements were cooked to order rather than a hot buffet meaning it was beautifully presented, hot and tasty. We had our lunch in the bar and again this was freshly prepared, well presented and tasty. Overall the food was probably the best I've had in a hotel to date.

The building was old and there were a number of lounges of varying sizes many with blazing fires. These were ideal for sitting and reading and with the temperature outside being barely above freezing, very welcoming

Overall it was a great 2 day break that we will remember for a long time.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone and I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s0undman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for completing your reveiw we are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here in Feb 2012 - first impressions were great. Great looking property with lots of character. Broadway is a beautiful place and the walks up the hills and worth it for the views. The hotel spa is great with heated pool, jacuzzi, steam room, saunas etc and towels provided. The reception areas with open fires are great - especially after a long walk up the hills. Very relaxing romantic trip!

However, at exactly 2pm check in time we were told our room would not be ready for c 30 mins (no apology and no alternative). We left out luggage with them to 'keep it safe' and found a local pub for some lunch only to return to find our luggage sitting alone in the middle of the reception area. 'Les' the porter was very friendly and took us to our room in the older part of the property - unfortunately we had to walk back and forth through the great hall to get to our room 40 (which in the middle of 5* dinner service feels rather uncomfortable in your casual gear!). Our room was very 70s with floral curtains covering beautiful old beams and a floral headboard. A lick of white paint and plain materials would have brought the room to life and actually added character like the rest of the property.

We didn't have dinner in the great hall as although the room has some character with a large old fireplace, the room is bland and doesn't provide an atmosphere for smaller groups. We also found the lack of English speaking staff in the bar and restaurant made ordering difficult. We would recommend The Swan for dinner.

I also had a hairdryer in our room which looked 20 years old and ended up smoking whilst in use! The bathroom felt dated however clean.

We would stay again only for the location and spa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have raised. We do say that check in is from 2pm, and I apologise that your luggage was not in your room when you returned from lunch. I have discussed with the porter to ensure this does not recur. We are always willing to offer alternative rooms should you not like the one you are allocated. I have also discussed the issue with the hairdryer with maintenance to ensure this is safe. We carry out portable appliance testing every year to ensure items are safe and whilst we can not totally wait a year for these to be completed, we do carry inspections every day to ensure items are safe. We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back. Should you wish to discuss this with me further please do feel free to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 km away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
818 reviews
2.4 km away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,327 reviews
5.7 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
17.4 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
1.8 km away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway
The Lygon Arms Broadway, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing