We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horse and Hound

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse and Hound
Ranked #21 of 31 Broadway B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

What a great place to stay! David and Diane made the weekend with their warm welcome and excellent service. The food was fantastic on both evenings that we stayed in this lovely inn in the Cotswolds. Can't say that David laid on the weather but what a difference it made to our stay. The room was very comfortable and we would wholeheartedly recommend this place to any visitor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    32
    12
    9
    13
See reviews for
19
55
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Pate and Garlic Mushrooms for starters. Then the Roast Beef dinner. Great stuffing in the Yorkshire Puds and Sweet Potatoes in the Veg gave a great savoury flavour in the Dinner. Based on the meal and the service we would go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We were nervous about booking a room here due to some of the reviews. We emailed Broadwegian who left the review titled Avoid, avoid, avoid for more info but didn't get a response so took our chances and proceeded with the booking. We are so glad we did and will be back. Food was all freshly cooked and so tastey and on the night we stayed there was live entertainment, a solo guitarist and singer who was fab. Pub was full and the atmosphere was great. We befriended a few locals who told us how much the current owners had turned things around. Our room was very pretty, suited to the surroundings, and the bed was so comfy (room 3 we stayed in). Breakfast was a proper full English, very nice. It was then that we got talking to the landlord, a very chatty and friendly man who was very helpful in recommending surrounding areas to visit. We decided to bring up the fact that we nearly didn't book because of previous reviews and went on to learn that "broadwegian" who is actually local to the area and, it would seem, have some alliance to a competitor and feel the need to bad mouth the horse and hound, very sad behaviour and unfair. He had left another bad review several months ago and on looking at his history has only left 3 reviews, 2 of which have been on this pub. The third was an excellent review on a competitor. The landlord suggest referring to late rooms where reviews can only be left by genuine guests who have stayed at the horse and hound. I will be putting my review on their next. In future I will be more wary of the reviews I read on here. It's a shame some people have to ruin what should be helpful sites for the rest of us.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Fourth stay after a gap of 3 years. Present owners are very pleasant and helpfiul. Excellent location in centre of Broadway village. Breakfast freshly cooked to a good standard. Rooms are not large but excellent value in a lovely location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enid4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed for one night as we were at a wedding nearby!

Room very nice, oldey worldy which was good! Comfortable bed at the front of the pub and it was so quiet!

Breakfast was excellent, fresh and really well cooked!

Finally we needed a taxi to go and get our car from the wedding venue. Kindly the owner tried a few taxi numbers but with no avail! Then kindly the chef took me to collect the car, very kind people!

Overall very good, recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banyard2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights while working on the primary school round the corner. Had a lovely greeting by the owners from the first minute we walked in and for every minute that followed. The breakfast was amazing and served with a smile, and the evening meals were even better. Lamb shank & steak and ale pie was my favourite. Only small downside was the rooms were very dated but i suppose some older people will like the style of room, but me being 24 years old it was abit old fashioned. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly, would defiantly recommend this B&B to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Booked a last minute stay here and was not disappointed. A genuine welcome on arrival from the owner, a comfortable and clean room with lovely views down Broadway High Street, an excellent meal in the restaurant, a good night's sleep in a great big bed, followed by a nice cooked breakfast. As if it couldn't get any better... they have Hogans cider on draught!!! Do not be put off by reviews that were written before the new owners took over, I have been to the H&H before and it is much improved.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackdiamondexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadway hotels
0.4 km away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.3 km away
Russell's
Russell's
#5 of 31 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lowerfield Farm Bed and Breakfast
0.5 km away
Abbots Grange
Abbots Grange
#7 of 31 in Broadway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.8 km away
Mill Hay Country House
Mill Hay Country House
#18 of 31 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound

Property: The Horse and Hound
Address: 54 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Horse and Hound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Hotel Broadway
The Horse And Hound Broadway, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing