We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Characterful, comfortable, cosy cottage with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy Cottage nestles in the Malvern Hills with views across the beautiful Severn Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy Cottage nestles in the Malvern Hills with views across the beautiful Severn Valley
Entrance to Ivy Cottage - small enclosed garden with seating for two Sitting Room - with sofa, arm chair, flat screen TV and DVD player
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Ivy Cottage nestles in the Malvern Hills with views across the beautiful Severn Valley
Entrance to Ivy Cottage - small enclosed garden with seating for two
Sitting Room - with sofa, arm chair, flat screen TV and DVD player
Sitting Room detail
Sitting Room - with sofa, arm chair, flat screen TV and DVD player
Kitchen with electric cooker, oven, fridge, dishwasher and microwave
Kitchen with electric cooker, oven, fridge, dishwasher and microwave
Dining room
Dining room
Dining room
Main bedroom with double bed
Main bedroom with double bed
Bathroom with bath and shower
Bathroom with bath and shower
Bathroom with bath and shower
Bathroom floor detail
Second bedroom with bunk bed
View from sitting room
House Plans
The Malvern Hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Malvern, Malvern Hills, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
jessallen...
Gosport, Indiana
2 reviews
“Characterful little cottage.”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Malvern in spring was very beautiful, as ever. This period cottage is full of character and I'd recommend for families with children because the smaller bedroom is very much set up for them (bunk beds, lots of books). The stairs are steep so bear that in mind for very young children/toddlers. The bathroom has been beautifully done and is just the place for a luxurious bath or shower. The living room has seating for 3, and truly lovely views. The location is gorgeous, with access at the end of the road to hill walks.
The kitchen was well kitted with a full size dishwasher and plenty of pots and pans, but there is nowhere to store food. It's a galley kitchen, with cupboards on one side, which are all taken up by plates/glasses/fridge/dishwasher/oven - we found nowhere to put the food, which is an issue in a self catering accommodation, in my view.
Unusually, the check in time was 4pm instead of the 2pm-ish time that we have been more used to. This meant that in order not to lose a complete day of holiday, we visited a town on the way, arriving at 4pm after a day's travel. We were a little dismayed to find that, though there were some tea bags, there was no coffee, and no milk. Tea, coffee, and milk on your arrival is I think a fairly basic welcoming touch, and would have been more particularly welcomed when we couldn't gain access until 4pm, and really didn't fancy a visit to the shops after a full day's travel.
Other things to bear in mind are that the pretty tiled floor in the dining room is very cold! Bring slippers! (Though in high summer I imagine it will be nicely cool).
All in all a very characterful little cottage, with it's own quirks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Characterful, comfortable, cosy cottage with excellent facilities”
Reviewed March 26, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was our second stay . We love it’s quiet location with wonderful views near the woods but with easy access to the centre of Malvern and all its facilities. The cottage has a lot of character but has every modern convenience including a very modern bathroom with bath and separate shower which has been revamped since our first visit. It feels much more of a home than just a ‘letting cottage’ and contact with James the owner is helpful and appropriate.

Love this place which is an ideal venue for a couple or a couple with 1/2 children. (NB The stairs are quiet steep and might not suit some)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for your review. So glad you love the home feel of the cottage and all its facilities, it's nice to hear they are appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ivy cottage-”
Reviewed December 22, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Beautiful setting
And the facilities were very good
Close by to the shops.. and the walks were amazing
Had an enjoyable time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser67...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visiting Malvern Hills and Worcestershire.”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved the Ivy Cottage. The views from the living room window and the double bedroom are magnificent. The house has everything you would possibly need, and James was prompt in answering any concerns.The area itself is amazing, and the walk up to the Worcester Beacon is worth the climb.
We loved our stay and wanted to thank James for making that part of our trip to England amazing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you :) !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, serene hideaway with spectacular views”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This quiet, comfortable house was the perfect location for exploring Malvern and the countryside of Worcestershire and Herefordshire. It is well equipped with everything we needed. The views from the living room as well as the main bedroom were breath taking. The house is on a quiet road with easy access to walking trails. It was a nice treat to find the bathroom was recently renovated to have both a shower and separate tub. We would definitely come back and stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you so much Barbara! We look forward to having you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A genuine home from home in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second visit to Ivy Cottage. It's a truly characterful home, with beautiful views from upstairs and down.
Its elevated position leads straight to a path at the end of the road, which ascends through the woods onto the Malvern hills, where there are a variety of walking routes.
The house itself feels like a real home, with characterful furniture which compliments the Victorian feel, whilst it also has tastefully modern kitchen and bathroom.
It is such a peaceful location and comfortable home, excellent for a good nights sleep.
Great Malvern is close by, as is the lovely Upton on Severn, and the house makes a good base for exploring many other towns and the countryside.
This trip was our honeymoon, and we look forward to returning for a third time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We'd love to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
132gregp
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Every Bit as Good as Last Time”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was a repeat booking having stayed at about the same time last year. The bathroom has been refurbished and now has a shower. There really is little to add from my review of last time. It's warm, cosy, well equipped and is very well stocked with books. It has a real family feel and I'm sure we'll be booking again for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing