We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of St. Lawrence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Lawrence Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Bristol
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very conveniently situated. Staff helpful about early arrival. Room very cramped for two people with small unstable wardrobe. Shabby bedspread and only 1 pillow per person. No heating in bathroom and discovered no hot water either in morning, quickly rectified but too late as leaving hotel. Breakfast - no yogurt, only white bread. Cereals suitable for children, no meusli.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    32
    17
    21
See reviews for
7
43
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed in room 7. First impression coming into the room was a smell of damp. The outer bedding had stains on it which wasn't the best but the sheets were clean.

Towels were clean, however a twin room for two people, only one bath towel.

Wardrobe had hangers in it, but was wide enough to fit clothes in- doors wouldn't close.

Spider webs in the bathroom and a spider on the pillow to greet us. Plus itchy night under the sheets.

Mattress was cheap- could feel every spring.

Light in the bathroom worked when it felt like it.

Man who ran the place seemed ok, friendly but obvious from the state of the rooms that his standards aren't great.

Breakfast was basic- cheap and nasty so don't expect much.

At £49 for the night i wasn't expecting much but in hindsight I would have paid extra for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrtrue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worcester hotels

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Covenient for the centre of Worcester yet quiet and spacious Edwardian home
Great coffee machine, big TV, free wireless and parking

Room Tip: Great value and friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

we booked this hotel for one night only. The hotel is in need of a 'fresh coat of paint' and a good spring clean. However the sheets and towels were clean and the breakfast was very good .

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Found the room clean, more then adequate in reflection to the cost, we stayed in a double room, with a good en-suite. Staff made us feel welcome. Good walking distance to town and the races. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, buffet self-service style with cereals, yogurt, fresh bread, great coffee machine, juices, tea and full English breakfast - very good value for money - plus free parking, can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doubleoseven_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I have been desperately trying to find alternative accommodation in Worcester to replace the Fownes following my nightmare experience there. This place is certainly no worse in terms of condition, cleanliness, and overall experience (i.e. it's not great). But is half the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I booked an over night stay at this 'hotel', admittedly I wasn't expecting much due to it's 2 star rating but at 39 pounds a night you would expect at least a clean room. I arrived and was shown to my room which was situated on the 1st floor. It would be easier to list the problems as there are so many: My door was difficult to lock, the furniture was old and most of the drawers did not have handles so you couldn't open them, the wardrobe smelt damp so I couldn't use it, tired decoration with wallpaper peeling off the wall, dirty stained carpet, un-washed and stained bed cover, a horse blanket and one sheet on the bed, window wouldn't stay open, toilet seat was broken with the fittments left on the back of the cistern, shower was so small I could just fit in it, water pressure was non-existant .........OK onto breakfast. Range of self service cereals, a toaster and a type of un-identified juice in a jug plus a coffee/tea machine which my fellow guests struggled to work. I made a cup of tea and it was like syrup. I was then offered a cooked breakfast which was tasteless ..... finally when I checked-out I was made to struggle with my bags and case to my car as the proprietor waved goodbye at the door! The only positives I can think of is that I have a clean towel and a nice wide-screen TV in my room.... that's it.

Room Tip: PLease lower all expectations and take slippers as you won't want to walk barefooted in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel40Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
1.3 km away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.8 km away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
473 reviews
0.7 km away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
521 reviews
7.0 km away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.6 km away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lawrence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lawrence Hotel

Property: St. Lawrence Hotel
Address: Bath Road, Worcester WR5 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lawrence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Lawrence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Lawrence Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing