We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Wellings family

nice place bit small very hot not suitable for small in pushchair as there is not a lot of moving... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
tmwellings
,
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely butterflies

Lovely experience of the butterflies. Lovely to see them free and flying. Had a few land on us... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2018
sarahjaycy1981
,
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Read all 251 reviews
  
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
100
65
38
23
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
65
38
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful butterflies sugar water different species interesting insects butterflies flying humid inside tropical fish small garden sat nav power station previous reviews amazing experience sit outside rheidol valley information centre gift shop rainy day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is a small polly tunnel not very big at all. Disappointed I suppose at how small it was as the visit was over in 30 minutes and really was over in 15 minutes! So for that reason the price is costly. However you do get to see some beautiful butterflies and moths and a tarantula, beatle, millipede and stick insect. For a family it may be expensive for a half hour visit although you can stay as long as you want.

Thank awayfromhome1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

nice place bit small very hot not suitable for small in pushchair as there is not a lot of moving space small children got bored and didnt like the butterflies landing on them cafe was a bit over priced but ok if u want a snack

Thank tmwellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to go to chill out food is very nice it's not to pricey staff are very friendly would go again

Thank audreybasnett57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Should be on everyone's itinerary when visiting Aberystwyth, for locals entertaining guests, or just as a relaxing afternoon out. Very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff help to make your visit educational as well as enthralling. Lovely collection of giant butterflies and moths, and other exotic creatures and plants.

Thank Seb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Small and compact butterfly house near the head of the stunning Rheidol Valley. Beautiful butterflies from around the world on display with informative displays and identity charts. Host very welcoming and obviously very passionate. Butterflies can be handled with care with the owl butterflies being particularly game to perch on a finger. Our two boys loved the Butterfly House and although it may be perceived as expensive, it is worth every penny to ensure the continued upkeep of this hidden gem!

Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018

Lovely experience of the butterflies. Lovely to see them free and flying. Had a few land on us which was lovely. Unfortunately the £8 each price is quite steep for only ten minutes but if you are in the area well worth the visit

Thank sarahjaycy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

getting in touch with beautiful 'pili palas' from around the world , my wife loves butterfly so we had to make this a part of our trip - she wasn't disappointed ,so many wonderfully coloured creatures in one place . educational and fabulous .

Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Superb attraction, really enjoyed our visit and look forward to visiting again some time.

Only comment would be that for some of our visit the place was filled with badly behaved children, in one case the mother openly and loudly encouraging her kid to try and swat the butterflies. If you can’t respect nature then stay away.

Thank danhanson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Nice place but expected more for the £8.00 admission charge. Butterfly house very small but the is alot of butterflies to see.Think the charge was a little expensive for what we saw

Thank Caroljohnsteveemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

We were under the illusion the place would’ve been in a larger dome so naturally with the walkways and visitors it became somewhat cosy and we were feeling fragile as not to brush by butterflies. We purposely lapped the walk ways more to feel as though we had better value for money but our daughters did enjoy having butterflies land on them. Staff were lovely

Thank Keryka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews