We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
264
168
43
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
168
43
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontcar parkcooked breakfastno liftbreakfast was excellenttop floorlovely hotelexcellent locationwatching the worldfresh fruitgood sizefried breadsound of the wavesfire doorsbedroom windowbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 485 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2017

We spent 2 nights at the Richmond and found it to be clean, comfortable and ideally situated. The staff were pleasant, efficient and helpful. Excellent breakfast and the restaurant serves evening meals too

Room Tip: We had a second floor room with a sea view and it was quiet
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

The hotel is on the sea front with picture perfect views, the staff are polite and helpful, breakfast wasn't great but was ok.

The hotel is tired, stairwell and doors could do with a lick of paint and our room could have also done with one too. There were only 2 wafer thin pillows on the bed, I would say that they had seen their day and should be replaced, also the scatter cushions wiffed a bit, I think people had used them to compensate for the wafer thin pillows, bedlinen was clean but the scatter cushion covers could have done with a wash, they stunk of greasy hair.

The price was expensive for what we got £105 however having looked around whilst we were there it is the going rate for something of this standard in the area, it should really be classed as a 3 star and so dont expect a 4 star quality.

However wow, what a view. I was told by the receptionist ( who was lovely by the way ) that most of the rooms are sea facing and quite frankly the view was breathtaking and a hotel with a sea view is a must if you are visiting Aberystwyth.
Would I recommend, well yes just dont expect too much it is not a luxury hotel infact most of the hotels along the front all look as if they need a bit of TLC, except for the Gwesty Cymru hotel which was fully booked for the dates we were looking at.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank TeresaC568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

I booked at short notice for a stay over the bank holiday, it's a lovely location right on the promenade, the room was spotless and with just about everything i needed in the room. The bonus for me was that I travelled by motorcycle and they have secure covered storage in the rear car park. A lovely freshly cooked breakfast served each morning by really friendly staff, as that well known actor say's, I'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoss6304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

visiting Aberystwyth? Why would you stay anywhere else? With free parking, perfect location, fresh home cooked breakfast, you will not find better value than the Richmond. Book us in for the same time next year...

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 11 and the view was stunning
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katrina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We spent two days at the Richmond. The hotel is in a brilliant location with parking which is a definite bonus. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were to die for. What really made the stay though was the attitude of the staff who, from the original booking over the phone, to receptionists and breakfast staff, could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dawno57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews