We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic as always!”
other travellers have booked this property
Doleos in May evening sunshine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door
Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Have the beds linked for Super-king
OR twin bedded bedroom overlooking garden and meadow
Very well equipped kitchen including fridge, dish-washer, microwave and clothes wash/dry machine
Dine out on Doleos patio and admire the views
View from the meadow gate towards the coast and you can also see the distant Cambrian Mountains
Really comfy sofa-bed in the lounge if needed and pre-booked
Plenty of books and brochures
Private parking directly by Derwen Cottage
View the glorious surrounding countryside from the meadow
distant views of open countryside from the meadow
garden path feature at Derwen Cottage
Patio and garden feature at Derwen cottage in 2012
Ynyslas beach and estuary near Borth, North of Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth beach and prom - lovely long walk to 'kick the bar' - a local tradition
Glorious Cwm Rheidol where the Butterfly house is located
Summer visitors
Spring flowers in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Caroline...
2 reviews
“Fantastic as always!”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed at Celyn (the newest of Doleos holiday cottages) whilst bringing my daughter back to Aberystwyth Uni. I have stayed in all of Marilyn and Ifor's properties and as always Celyn didn't disappoint. Lights on, heating on, spotlessly clean and a welcome pack of goodies to greet us. When we come to one of the properties, it's like coming to family and we always know we can expect an excellent quality of accommodation from Marilyn and Ifor. Everything is very carefully thought out to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I would thoroughly recommend this lovely little cottage to anyone. Many thanks once again Marilyn and Ifor. Will be back in the New Year I'm sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
THANK YOU so very much for taking the time to review and for such kind words. It is because of visitors such as these - friendly, warm hearted and appreciative - that we strive to provide the best we can and are eager and delighted to welcome back time after time. With further landscaping and improvements underway it's especially nice to have visitors who share our vision.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony G
Torpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
“SUPERB!”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Doleos surpassed our expectations. We arrived late to a very warm welcome from Marilyn who made us feel immediately at home, lights were on, curtains drawn, and bread, butter, jam, milk and biscuits were provided, which was a lovely touch and very appreciated after a long journey. Spotlessly clean, warm, spacious and very comfortable, we were so pleased to have discovered Doleos, and we will definitely stay here again. There is a second barn conversion which had just been completed and which another member of our family stayed in making it an ideal location for extended families. The setting is very peaceful, but only minutes from Aberystwyth and the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exceeded expectations
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
THANK YOU so much for your extremely kind words and taking the time to review. It's immensely satisfying to know that my precious visitors really love staying at our cottages. With considerable landscaping being done I hope they will return for another visit to admire the changes and hopefully the planted gardens will impress.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJ0nesy
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Book Doleos now - convenient peaceful spotless comfort with a wonderful Welsh welcome!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you’re looking for a homely little place to stay five minutes from Aberystwyth, don’t look anywhere else – just book Doleos!!
My husband and I stayed in August 2014 over our wedding weekend, and really couldn’t have been anywhere nicer. The cottage is absolutely immaculate and spotlessly clean, and is very spacious and modern inside with everything you need for a self-catering holiday. It’s a quick five minute drive to the centre of Aberystwyth, so very easy to get out and explore – and yet the tranquil countryside setting makes you feel that you could be a million miles from everywhere! There’s a lovely patio overlooking the Welsh hills, which is secluded and peaceful, and the coffee and biscuits we had when we first arrived, which Marilyn very kindly left for us, were a real moment of peace in what was inevitably a manic weekend otherwise.
Marilyn and Ifor are both absolutely lovely and were so helpful. We came back from the wedding to find two champagne glasses and a bottle of fizz, and ‘just married’ balloons everywhere – an example of just how kind they were. We enjoyed every moment there!
Doleos is very convenient, very modern, very clean, very well equipped, very peaceful, and all in all the perfect place to stay if you’re looking for an escape to West Wales. I wish we could have stayed longer and really hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou for such a lovely review. I am overwhelmed with pride and delight. We were so thrilled when we knew a bride and bridesmaids were due to stay and meeting the young bride and groom to be was an immense pleasure - such a charming couple. This sort of experience certainly makes all the hard work so worthwhile as we are fortunate to meet some really lovely people such as these. Reading this review makes me wish I had been able to make this my lifelong career rather than a bit late in life. It's made my day! The feeling of exhaustion as the hectic summer bookings begin to ease off has been replaced with super energy to do even better. I wish the young married couple a long and loving marriage such as my 43 years with my dear hubby. DIOLCH, diolch, diolch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viki000
St Helier Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Picturesque, pretty and peaceful”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with children and a dog. All were very comfortable. The cottage is modern an beautiful inside with a lovely outlook into fields where the children and dog played in the evening. 5 minute drive to main town and seaside. Comfortable beds and very good cooking facilities. Definitely worth a stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review. I am delighted that you liked the cottage and it's outlook and that you enjoyed your visit having traveled such a long way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno R
2 reviews
“An ideal place for both active and peaceful holidays”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We can only thank Marylin for her warm welcome and their perfect cottage! So comfortable, so clear and clean, so peaceful and with all the details which shows how attentionate Marylin is! I can only recommend her place. No doubt we'll come back! I already miss its serenity!
Don't hesitate, it's a must ! Plus the area is just beautiful. And if you like jogging or having a nice walk in the evening, you can climb up the hill and enjoy a beautiful sunset . all the ingredients for the best holidays!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house on the whole and its place
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your generous review and for visiting from France. It is impossible to quantify the immense pleasure I gain from seeing visitors from abroad enjoying the glorious Welsh countryside and this location in particular. I was delighted to hear that you found the tranquility and peaceful surroundings to your liking and that my cottage exceeded your expectations. While valued visitors continue to enjoy staying here I will strive to ensure total satisfaction with the facilities I provide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally A
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Countryside Idyll”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a find - so close to Aberystwyth but in the heart of the countryside, perfect!
The cottage had everything you might need for a comfortable stay inc. washer/dryer and dishwasher - really helpful. Marilyn and her husband Ifor were so friendly and keen to help us make the most of our time there and gave us information about hiring bikes locally. Although we like to eat out it was great having the facilities to cook evening meals when wanted. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very spacious, great shower too. I would recommend this accommodation for both couples and families alike. Thanks Marilyn and Ifor, your hospitality
was much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good range of facilities in the cottage
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a total delight meeting you both and sharing our location with you especially as you were so enthusiastic about the natural environment here and how we are developing the landscape. I so hope to see you on a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NerysL8
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our few days wished we could have stayed longer. So relaxing and peaceful at the cottage and all home comforts for us and our baby. Definitely visit again. Convenient location for Aberystwyth and stunning views.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
THANK YOU - DIOLCH O GALON - Delighted to have such a lovely little family staying at the cottage and taking such interest in our plans and ideas for finishing another little cottage. The little baby boy was adorable and contented and I hope one day to see him running in our meadow or paddling in the stream!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing