We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$666
PricelineUS$666
Agoda.comUS$673
TripadvisorUS$666
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
403
81
49
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
403
81
49
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden music room byron suite original kitchen stately home single track road hotel is beautiful old house roll top bath original features wedding venue bar menu front of the house huge bathroom evening meal sat nav wet room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 584 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2020

We were disappointed with the quality of the "luxury" room after paying £170 for the night.
The lack of a mirror in the bedroom was a real issue.
Two roman blinds were broken, one in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. There was a makeshift arrangement with the broken blind in the bathroom but the blind needed to be lowered as we saw occupants looking out of windows in neighbouring rooms and the bath was right in front of the window. It was too dark even with the lights on for shaving, contact lenses and makeup.
The bathroom door didn't close.
The bed was really hard, creaky and uncomfortable.
Emailing Nanteos on our return home, the answer was .......... silence!
This isn't luxury accommodation and if the room needs repairs really shouldn't be available.

Room tip: All a bit shabby, if you want a bit of luxury go elsewhere
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank annrV9049SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2020

Dear AnnvrV9049SG,

Thank you for your recent review, I am disappointed to read your comments with regard to your recent stay and do not recognize many of observations you have made. Yes we are aware of the roman blinds, which have been measured for repair, however the existing ones remain functional.

The lighting in the bathroom has always suited the needs of many of our clients whom specifically request that particular room, however as you have now raised it we will review the current provision. We would also take issue with regard to your comments about the bed as our beds are complimented on with regard to their comfort.

It would appear from the above that the room itself was just not to your liking, it is a shame that you could not have raised this at the time of your stay and we could have moved you to a room more to your liking, and similarly had you requested an extra mirror for the bedroom we would have been more than happy to provide one.

Finally, unfortunately we have not seen any email from yourselves with regard to the above, we strive to ensure that we reply to all correspondence in a timely fashion, but in this digital age we live in it is not unknown for the odd email to go astray.

We would be delighted to see you again at the Mansion in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us directly to assure you of our personal attention.

Yours

Nanteos Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2020

We stayed here for the first time as part of an Equinox ride across the UK, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were looked after by every member of staff who attended to us. The service we fast and efficient and really enjoyed ourselves though out, so we would return for another stay. The Covid precautions required, gave this hotel as the first hotel of this ride, a strange air to it, but like the world we now live in, accepted it and carried on with our stay. The room, was clean and comfortable with a tea and coffee tray for our use. The food was well cooked and plentiful and very freshly prepared, our pre-ordered breakfast which is now the norm, was nicely cooked and tasted great .

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Dear Ian,

Many thanks for your review . The 'Equinox ride' was a unique event and we are glad at it all went well.
It was a pleasure to welcome you.

Best wishes

The team at Nanteos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2020

In response to the cancelled ‘wedding’ booking, it is correct to say that the wedding had taken place 36 hrs before, BUT we had not booked the venue for a wedding or for a blessing!!!!! We booked the venue for a family gathering to take place two days after the wedding - there was NO vicar and NO registrar. The music room was simply booked for the family, and my brother to say a few words. It was booked weeks ago with everything agreed with Nanteos. All these covid rules that Nanteos are going on about all cane into place on the 22nd, so that gave them plenty of time to let us know that they were not going to allow our family gathering. Yet they left it until 36 hours before to drop their bombshell. The running of this place is diabolical. Shocking behaviour !!!!! Think twice before booking anything at this place.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 234glendae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Dear 234glendae,

Whilst we regret having to cancel, we received confirmation on 10th September from the Bride that the Music room was required for a Blessing of the wedding. On the 14th of September the Welsh Gov placed a ban on indoor social gathering of over 6 people with the exception of Weddings or Funerals. At this stage under these guidelines all was still fine for the event based upon the information we were supplied. A further email was received from the bride entitled ," Blessing Saturday 26th September 2020 , New COVID 19 regs," agreeing to these regs and asking whether ,"it was just wedding guests who have to wear masks and not the bride and groom?". From this we rightly assumed that the wedding and the "blessing" were happening on the same day. Of course when we were made aware that the wedding was not going to be held on the same day as the reception we had no option but to cancel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2020 via mobile

Not even sure where to begin writing this review but I feel people should know. I was due to get married there 2 days ago and the venue cancelled on me 2 days prior with some out of date covid terms and conditions, not the most up to date ones. The terms and conditions were dated from august 22nd however we booked the venue 1 week before that and they were happy to book it, pay in full and continue to plan the day with us. Why they couldn’t tell us it couldn’t go ahead 6 weeks ago?

If it wasn’t for another venue stepping up to help me I wouldn’t have had a venue. They were not bothered that they were ruining one of the biggest days of my life and no issue in just brushing it off with a quick phone call. I would have been the first person to recommend this hotel as it is a great place however I have to say the team there have dealt with this so unprofessional!

The funniest part of it all is they couldn’t hold my wedding because of some out of date covid guidelines however they were okay to hold a wedding there the day they were calling to cancel mine!

Not a place I would ever trust to be in charge of a wedding!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jkwls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2020

Dear JeWales22,
Firstly, your review headline is untrue. You were not due to get married at Nanteos. You had planned to have a Blessing of your marriage and a small reception for 30 people at Nanteos. To be clear and to avoid confusion it is important that I address this review. Whilst it is true that we had to cancel the event mentioned this was done with extreme reluctance when it became evident to us that to continue with the event would mean that the business would be breaking the law.
Unfortunately it only became apparent to us at the last minute, i.e two days prior to the event that the couple were not getting married on the same day as their reception. When contacted two days prior to the event to confirm the location of the marriage Ceremony we were informed that it was to happen in the Manchester area in 2 hours!
Current Welsh Covid 19 Wedding Guidance, which was 'updated' on August 22nd and remains in force, is very specific in the matter of the wedding ceremony and subsequent reception being held at two different venues in that this is allowed if both wedding and reception were to be held on the same day.

As soon as we were made aware that that the couple were actually getting married two days prior to the wedding reception itself, we revisited Welsh Government Guidance, confirmed this with the council and deemed that it would not be legal for us to allow the event to proceed. We then had to inform the couple that the event could not continue and immediately returned the deposit.

We bitterly regretted having to take such an action and of course we have sincerely apologised to the couple and family. However, as one can imagine emotions were running high, and the reasoning behind our decision was dismissed. Unfortunately we cannot risk the future of the property and its staff to accommodate an event that could see us rightly prosecuted and hope that the casual reader understands the predicament we found ourselves in.

Lastly we are surprised and shocked that another venue in Wales permitted the event to go ahead as we are all subject to the same regulations. Especially at a time when our County for the past week has seen such an increase in COVID test positive results and most businesses are doing their utmost to assist in controlling the risk of spreading the virus even with resulting loss in revenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2020

My son returned for his second year at Aberystwyth last weekend and we needed a room for our group of 3 (my wife, my daughter and me) to stay. When I made the booking I paid minimal attention to the property and so it was a tremendous and delightful surprise to emerge from the long single track wooded driveway into the bucolic parkland setting of Nanteos. The house looks fantastic and a couple of small groups were enjoying drinks on the paddock area at the front. There was very well signposted Covid guidance, and (as we now expect) a fully screened reception area. Room service breakfast orders were placed at check-in and then we went up to the room (mini-suite) which was very comfortable and offered great views. We had dinner in town and returned to the hotel to be offered drinks in a large sitting room (the bar is currently Covid closed) which was a very pleasant way to end the evening. Breakfast was delivered bang on time and was extremely good. We cannot wait to return once the pandemic restrictions have eased - we are sure the experience will be excellent.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paulcookfiskerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2020

Many thanks for your review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your son's second year in Aberystwyth is not to affected by current events.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

The Nanteos team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews