We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Standard Spoons”
Review of Tafarn Y Porth

Tafarn Y Porth
Ranked #4 of 11 Quick Bites in Caernarfon
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed October 28, 2018

Called in Friday evening for a bite to eat and a few drinks. Food and drink decent quality and price, decor a little bit tired. Good atmosphere, with a Welsh twist, everyone speaks Welsh 100% of the time (this is how it should be). So if you're not Welsh you may feel a little bit out of it, it's very popular with the locals and we found it friendly and welcoming. Gets a little lively as the evening progress's, just adds to the atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ianjmc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1715PubManager, Manager at Tafarn Y Porth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi ianjmc85,

We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. The majority of our staff are local and welsh speaking. The weekends do tend to quite busy adding to the atmosphere. We hope to see you again.

Many thanks,


Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 382 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

I know from experience that Wetherspoons generally struggle to serve a breakfast that is hot but never before have we had food that was stone cold. I had to return a big breakfast to be reheated. My wife's bacon sandwich had to be returned but when it finally came back 15 minutes later it was still stone cold so we had a refund. What's so hard about heating food so it's warm enough to eat? It's not rocket science.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank manicoverdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1715PubManager, Manager at Tafarn Y Porth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We would like to apologise for your poor experience. You are correct, it’s not rocket science to serve hot food. We are busy pub and from time to time mistakes do happen. Again, we would like to apologise and hope to see you again.

Many thanks,

Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

While visiting Caernarfon we called in for lunch, a little deterred by the smokers congregated at the entrance. We were pleased to see the Food Hygiene rating of 5*. Lunchtime was busy but we didn't have to wait too long for our meal - 2 (British) beef chillies for £8.19. The food was piping hot and really tasty. No complaints with the food or service; excellent value for money!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank and13Tenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Went in for a few birthday drinks.

Went in and all was ok until i was told by the doorman i “wasnt aloud alcohol” after he asked if i was with my family/parents i showed him my ID and said i can do as i please as im old enough (19) not only then did he let in someone in my sisters year (14 years old) who was drinking alcohol!!
Just seemed very snobby about it, maybe if he hadn't of just assumed i was underage and asked first!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Sightseeing in the area and wanted somewhere for lunch. Typical Wetherspoons which was very busy when we arrived. We did wait about 35 minutes for food but it was lovely. Friendly server too!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 387mandyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tafarn Y Porth also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Tafarn Y Porth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing