We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,552)
Filter reviews
1,552 results
Traveller rating
1,133
323
67
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,133
323
67
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black boy black jacks the pub low beams coach house four poster bed steak and ale pie huge portions mussels welsh breakfast ate here main building large bathroom great room car park real ale both nights
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,552 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Went to the sea zoo Sunday 14th October and didn't fancy any of there food as we really fancied a traditional roast! Drove past a few places and found the black boy inn, what a great find! The two young lads serving were brilliant! So prompt and polite. Drinks were served very quickly. Great as we have an impatient 3 year old. Food was delicious and fantastic portions, we ordered extra sausage in bacon as we thought they would only be small, we didn't end up eating the extras as the portion size was very genoruose. The meat was so soft it just melted in our mouths! All of the dinner was so nice, that we will be taking the 45 minute drive on a sunday more often! Having been in the catering industry for 13 years im normally very picky but this was a top find. So well done to the chefs, your doing a great job! My partner told me I wouldn't be disappointed and that I wasn't. Thank you for our wonderful roast! Only down side was when we arrived we had to wait to be seated which was awkward with two kids in tow, as the place is small we felt like people were staring at us (probably just us being paranoid) and the lady who seated us offered us a high chair for the baby and never brought it so my partner had to get up to ask one of the young lads, who happily brought it straight away. Maybe she was busy, I don't know. Never the less we will be returning:)

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank charl1marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely review.Please do return soon to this lovely Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Caernarfon for a night to climb snowdon the following day and decided to head to the black boy for dinner. It was really warm and cosy inside and clearly very popular. The service was excellent and the food was great. Great portions and quality. I would definitely eat here again if I’m back in the area

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank El27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you for the lovely review, please do return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

A weekly Breakfast gathering with a friend brought us here this morning.Tucked away into the narrow castle walls of the town you will discover the hidden gem of The Black Boy Inn.We sat in the bar and was pleasantly greeted by the barmaid and a warm fireplace. £7.50 got us each a deliciously large full English Breakfast with unlimited refills of Tea or Coffee.Couldn't complain.Inside the pub was very clean and planned out to perfectly suit any customer's needs.Highly recommended! Will try the Eggs Benedict next time I visit.Best Breakfast off all the places I have visited in Caernarfon so far.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank DJFood86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you for the lovely review of this lovely Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We stayed one night in the Ty Dre Town House annexe (out of choice). Friendly & efficient welcome. Handy & cheap parking nearby. Quiet, clean & comfortable accommodation. Good breakfast. No hesitation in recommending or returning.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangorBagCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Thank you for the recommendation and review. Please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

We stayed for 3 great nights at the Black Boy.We stayed in a 4 poster room on the 1st floor which was very comfortable and clean.We had 2 lovely meals on the 1st and last night,we couldn't get in the 2nd night too busy.Its a very popular place even on a Monday and Tuesday night.I thought the drink was a bit pricey but i would recommend eating and staying here,the staff were brilliant couldn't do enough for you.I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Thank you for the review of this lovely Inn and please return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews