We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab”
other travellers have booked this property

Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone

Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Welcome to Plas Dorothea in the foothills of Snowden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
71 reviews
Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Welcome to Plas Dorothea in the foothills of Snowden
Your very own little pub with inglenook fireplace and logburner
Kitchen with 8 burner range cooker and all the facilities you will need
Kitchen with ample cupboard space and dry food store
Lounge with NOW tv and open fire
The lounge  also has an additional dining area
Lounge dining area
lounge
Dining room and games room
Entrance hall
Bedroom 1 - Family bedroom double bed with sofa and en-suite
Bedroom 1 - sofa in bay window overlooking Talysarn and Pen-y-bryn Estate
Bedroom 1 - En-suite with bath and shower over.
Bedroom 2 - Family room - Double and single bed
Bedroom 3 - Double bed overlooking Mt Snowdon
Bedroom 4 - Double bed with en-suite with shower cubicle
Bedroom 5 - Double bed with on -suite bath and shower over
Bedroom 5
En-suite bedroom 5
Bedroom 6 -downstairs 3 single beds which zip up to create a double and single if required
Bedroom 6 with sofa in bay window
Main bathroom with walk in shower and his and her wash hand basins
Main bathroom
Rear garden ideal for just relaxing or for the more energetic ball games
Front paddock with ponies overlooking Nantlle Ridge and Mt. Snowdon
Hot tub on the patio hired locally by our guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

There was a group of 5 couples we went to celebrate 1 couples wedding. It was great rooms a plenty. On the first night we did have a small power cut but Del and her husband came straight up got us extra wood for fire and candles it did just add to atmosphere though. We range from 30-50 years old and found the house great. I think we will be coming back in summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Not the best place to have a power cut is it. Very dark and full of atmosphere!!! We were so pleased that it didn't last too long and Delyth was her usual helpful self. It will be great to see you again and a totally different holiday in summer. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R
1 review
“This is an ideal for a house party of friends in beautiful scenery”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was recommended to us by a close friend and suited our need perfectly. 6 double rooms, log fires,and well equipped kitchen and lots of games etc.
My only suggestion is that it needs a toilet on the ground floor, as we had 1 person who was disabled and our friend had 1 also.
If you go don't miss the Welsh Highland Railway Caenarvon to Portmadoc, best day out I've had in years.
Mike Russell

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location
Liked least: Lack of ground floor toilet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments A ground floor bathroom is in my plans for the near future as this is something other people have asked about. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico_Vi...
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Look no further if you want a house to celebrate and have fun!”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I booked this house to celebrate my daughters 18th birthday it was the bar that made the decision easy and boy we were not disappointed!!! Linda was so helpful answering all my many questions promptly before booking. A big thank you to Delyth who got in touch with all details for the weekend she even gave me her address so I could send banners and balloons to decorate for our arrival and was so kind even offering to buy them for me, now that is what I call going above and beyond! On arrival Delyth had a roaring fire and was very welcoming showing us all around the house and explaining how everything worked. The pictures are outdated as some rooms have been rearranged differently and don't do the house justice. This is an amazing nineteenth century house that could benefit from a little updating but this just gives it more character and you get what you pay for. The house has many extras to keep everyone occupied, we were supplied with plenty of wood and coals for both fires and the cupboards are well stocked with the essentials like tin foil, bags, dishwasher tablets etc which was a great surprise and a nice touch as I have stayed in rentals before that supply nothing!
The house is in a lovely surrounding with great views I'm just sorry I never had time to explore it as I was too busy in the bar!
We were a group of 12 guests ages ranging from 13 up to 74 we all had a fantastic time partying, the bar was the main place of occupation with music and even disco lights and I wiould definitely recommend it.
I just want another celebration for an excuse to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
This is such a lovely review Thank you very much for your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your celebration. We look forward to you returning in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley182...
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay ”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very enjoyable stay for my dads 60th celebrations

. The 'pub' room was an enjoyable extra that not many other properties have to offer and we enjoyed a good few darts tournaments in there! Linda and Deylth where both very friendly to deal with and I would recommend this property to those wanting a weekend away in an affordable home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thank you for your comments Hayley. I find the darts too strenuous and tend to stick with the wine lol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulietteC...
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent home from home for extended family parties”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The service received was excellent, with offers of help to make life comfortable for us and was supported by superb communication. The guided tour provided helpful information and further contact details in the event of queries.
This large, mid Victorian property, was ideal for our extended family party and provided loads of space and opportunity for activities indoors and outside and for people to take part or not as they wished or help with supervising young children. For us it was like a home from home.
A wide range of useful information was provided to inform local visits. There is plenty to do and see very locally as well as further afield. The local shop is open long hours and is well stocked.
It was great to be able to park all the cars conveniently, eat together and have the convenience of bathrooms and a large kitchen with several fridges, ovens, hobs, toasters and other equipment. It was great to have Wi-Fi and other facilities too.
The house has character and was great for us. Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact we could all be together so conveniently in a well-resourced house
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Thank you for your comments. It's nice to know that we are meeting our goal of helping you to have the most enjoyable stay you can. The house is really good for allowing some to enjoy peace and quiet without spoiling the enjoyment of others who enjoy the hustle and bustle of a large gathering. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elisa5432...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOUSE in beautiful, scenic surroundings”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wow - what a place. From my initial enquiry through to the end of our stay, Linda, Glynn and (especially) Delyth and her husband made our stay absolutely perfect. There was a group of 7 of us, plus a little 8 month old. As there were two significant birthdays in our group (a 30th and a 40th) we had some advance planning to do - Linda and Delyth were incredibly helpful and even let me turn up early to put up decorations before everyone else arrived.

The house was very clean, and in particular the kitchen is really well equipped - I'd brought a cake tin to bake a birthday cake but needn't have bothered as there were a selection to choose from! Beds were really comfy too, with enough bathrooms and en-suites to go round. There was also a friendly horse and her foal in the paddock next to the driveway!

The pub area was much enjoyed - with a dart board, and a lovely wood stove to keep us warm when it got slightly colder in the evenings, opening out onto the patio. This was far enough away from some of the bedrooms that the little one wasn't disturbed by us later on in the evening. We were also provided with a starter bbq kit, including a bag of charcoal and firelighters, to use in the bbq, along with a lot of outdoor games.

You will need a car, but there is a Co-op and a Premier about 1.5 miles away which we walked to. The surrounding area is absolutely stunning, with no light pollution at night, giving us an incredible view of the stars and the Milky Way. A great place to use as a base for walking and exploring the surrounding area, and lovely to come back to after climbing nearby Mt. Snowdon.

I can't recommend this place enough - we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extra touches - games (indoor and out), bbq starter kit, fancy dress box etc.
Liked least: The fridge is a little small for a large group, but it is manageable.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
What lovely comments Thank you so much and we would love to welcome you back It is a good house for a celebration isn't it! I am so pleased that we managed to support you in your preparations as sometimes it is difficult to fit things in At the end of day your enjoyment is of paramount importance to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George120...
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needed TLC and de cluttering.”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Really good party house and plenty of room, in a lovely location,and with a lot of TLC and a make over this place could be fabulous.Despite staying in July the house was cold and we had to go out to buy logs and coal, which we felt these should have been supplied.Also although we did not use up the electric on the Meter, it was rather disconcerting that if it did run out we would have to go out and top it up.also the water wasn't hot enough to bath or shower and the bath in the main bathroom needed replacing.
The kitchen, bar and games room was extremely cluttered and needed a spring clean and re organising.also a bigger fridge needed for large groups.We did however have a good time and our hosts most ameniable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday In winter we do provide logs and coal but in summer we provide charcoal for the BBQ We provide £10 per day electricity which has proven to be more than adequate After all very few people use more than £3650 a year on electric The Victorian bath is due to be upgraded later this year and has been restored since your visit Most guests find the games useful rather than a clutter and many guests have spent pleasurable times into the early hours enjoying their tournaments There are two fridges but we are looking into installing another
We are really sorry that the property didn't live up to your expectations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing