We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Know Conwy well but had not stayed at Castlebank before - but we'll be going back. A really quiet - yet central - location. Ours was a large room with everything you could wish for - clean, comfortable and relaxing. The lounge and dining room were welcoming and used by guests - - so often they aren't. Great breakfast. All in all a wonderful privately owned hotel where the owners clearly work hard to keep up a high standard.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
248
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very beautiful hotel, cosy 'home like' rooms, vfery small but clean bathroom, VERY friendly host and hostess. Really, very charming and friendly!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea and/or castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justmarried2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

My partner and I love this hotel. We first stayed on recommendation from close friends and it did not disappoint. This October was our second stay and we have already booked our third.

The hotel is just fabulous. The breakfast is ideal, you can order exactly what you want so no leftovers (or from the point of view of my husband, you can pick as much as you want). The hotel will also provide evening meals, but book early as word must have got around as to how great it is. The atmosphere at the hotel is warm and friendly with excellent hosts. Our room was spotless and got cleaned again on our second morning! Lovely.

If all that wasn't enough the parking is even free and the hotel is within walking distance of the town. Perfect, can't wait to stay again next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leafy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We love Conwy and have discovered yet another reason to return. ' Castlebank' is a lovely find. Henrique is effortlessly charming and made us feel really welcome, from the minute we arrived to our departure. Not knowing what time we would arrive, we had pre-booked the Friday meal - good choice. Generous helpings and very good home-cooking. Coffee in the lounge afterwards added to the relaxation. Good breakfast with views of the castle and town walls just added to the atmosphere. Our room was full of character too with lovely views over the hills. Parking in Conwy itself is always a bit of a nightmare, so to have parking in the hotel grounds helps a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed at the Castlebank Hotel in Conwy last weekend. Fantastic location, great food, homely atmosphere, wifi available and more importantly rooms comfortably appointed with everything we needed.
Our thanks to Henrique and Jo for being excellent hosts.
If you are coming to stay in Conwy try booking here first.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed 5 days at the Castlebank and used it as home base for our touring around northern Wales. Everything was terrific, the rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfast was excellent and very plentiful. This is an excellent value and a great place to stay to see all of the castles on the north coast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cragg Vale
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This was our second stay at the 'Castlebank' and most certainly won't be our last.
I posted a review following our first visit and hope that this had helped others to choose what we feel is one of the best small hotels.
The hotel is full of character and ideally located as a base to explore the many attractions North Wales has to offer.
The hosts, Jo and Henrique are the most helpful and welcoming hoteliers we have met and will endeavour to make their guests stay as comfortable as possible.
There are lots of good restaurants in Conwy and the surrounding areas, but try dining at the 'Castlebank' as you won't be dissapointed.
We will most certainly be checking into the 'Castlebank Hotel' in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crooky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.3 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.3 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
2.7 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
4.8 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.4 km away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing