We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
126
90
46
25
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
90
46
25
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomthe penthousenice hotelthe dee valley suiteupon checkwalk along the riverunder new managementlovely bathroombuffet style breakfasthuge bedshort staffedrestaurant menuevery member of staffground floortwo night stayfamily weddingllangollen town
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 315 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Over the years we have visited this hotel ,we have seen it develop in to a lovely relaxing place to visit . Location is very good easy to get to ,,,across the road you can walk down by the side of the river Dee into Llangollen , The staff are very pleasant and helpful our room 309 was big and very comfortable lovely bathroom overlooking the front of the grounds . The spa was so relaxing and warm ,thou it could do with a few more seats .The menu was varied the food lovely not to expensive ,we have only visited out of season so it was quiet ,lovely gardens we just look forward to going every year .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosieposy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPHT, General Manager at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Please book direct for the best rates.

Sean and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked a room for the night as a celebration for passing our first year of university, upon arrival we were greeted by Natalie on reception who was absolutely lovely, she told us about our room, the facilities on offer and wished us a happy stay. When we got to our room it was beautiful, clean and welcoming. We quickly unpacked and headed for the spa. The spa was gorgeous, facilities all spotless and relaxing. After the spa we went back to our room and put the TV on, unfortunately the TV had some signal issues but nothing drastic, I went to reception to enquire whether or not there was someone who could fix the issue if not we would of been fine watching it with minor interference. Without hesitation Sean said because of the inconvenience he would upgrade us to the penthouse suite. As you can imagine, I was shocked by the generosity. We were given the key and we raced to the room to see it. One word... Breathtaking, the room was spotless, it had a hot tub on the balcony and the bathroom was huge. I cannot thank Sean and Natalie enough for making our stay so amazing and welcoming us with open arms. No job was too big and they were genuinely happy to help with any enquiries, staff seemed genuinely happy working in the hotel, the location of the hotel is in an amazing area and the room prices are beyond reasonable for the service you get. Thank you so much to all at the Wild Pheasant, we’re already looking at dates to come back.
Natalie and Adam x

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPHT, General Manager at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Nat and Adam!

You’re more than welcome!

We really do appreciate such social and happy guests who engage with management and the team!

See you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a birthday treat. We stayed in Llangollen before and on a walk along the canal we spotted the glass roof of the spa and decided that would be our next break.
We orignally booked just two nights but decided to book an extra, the staff was really helpful over email to accommodate us and even offered a £10 reduction in price for the extra night.
On arrival, the staff at reception were very efficient in checking us in and provided good recommendations for things to do and where to eat locally.
The hotel, including our room, was decorated to a high standard with a cosy country feel in the bar and a more sleek, modern feel in the reception and bedroom.
We stayed in a standard double and it was equipped with everything we needed. The welcome pack in the room was very informative and the phone in the room was handy for ringing reception with any queries we had. As advertised in the welcome pack the hotel are trying to reduce their carbon footprint and so offer guests the option of not having their room cleaned each day in return for a free drink per guest each night. We choose to accept the offer and were really pleased with the 6 free drink tokens as we were still able to ask for new towels, toiletries, tea and coffee etc not that this was nessecary.
On the first night we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant, the staff were really friendly and the food was tasty and reasonably priced.
As mentioned in a couple of other reviews, the breakfast on our first day wasn’t the best. The food was cooked lovely and there was generally plenty of it however some guests were being particularly demanding and therefore the waitresses were rushed off their feet trying to meet their constant needs. Our following two breakfasts were much calmer and therefore more enjoyable. The staff again were very friendly and attentive offering us tea and coffee as soon as we arrived and the food was tasty and plentiful.
We visited the spa 3 times during our stay and enjoyed each visit more than the last even deciding to spend a few hours chilling out there before heading home. The water in the pool is really warm and there is a lovely calm atmosphere, normally only us and one other couple were there. Treatments are available and are reasonably priced (£40 for 30 mins) and there was plenty of availability during our stay.
The hotel is in a great location only a pretty 10 minute walk alongside the river to get to town and close to Chester too. We visited Cheshire Oaks, delamere go ape and the Llangollen railway during our stay. We also enjoyed lots of walks in the local area including to the aqueduct. In town there is also a lovely bar and restaurant called the Corn Mill which we would highly recommend.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and I know we’ll be visiting again soon!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MissBlackhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPHT, Manager at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Thanks you for you kind response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

Stayed two nights for a wedding up the road at Tower Hill Barn. The room was quite nice, bathrooms was good with a large shower. Toiletries etc were all very good
Rooms were a bit noisy with pipes etc.
Restaurant was good with friendly staff and fairly priced.
Breakfast was a bit poor. Hard eggs under hot lights. Second day was a bit better, but All buffet style breakfast suffer from over cooking.
I will stay again for the next wedding so that’s as good a recommendation as I can give!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cass09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPHT, General Manager at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Thank you for your honest, kind feedback.

We appreciate your support and positivity.

I will ensure breakfast is investigated asap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

We attended a wedding here and stayed in an "executive suite" room 312 and was very disappointed. Way overpriced for what was less equipped than a Travel Lodge room.

No plug sockets within 20ft of the bed.
No signal on TV (every room had the same problem).
No safe.
Toilet did not flush.
Underfloor heating in bathroom broken.
Towel radiator broken.
Water pipes made loud noise when next door took a shower.
Loud fan noise at random times from boiler room below the room.
Toilets did not flush in main hotel in Male toilets.

However the staff where very friendly and the cleanliness and decor where to a high standard. A good experience as long as you didn't want to spend any time in your room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank MartinT3203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPHT, General Manager at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Dear Martin T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Firstly I would like to clarify our Exec rooms are not suites.

In my opinion our hotel is a lovely country hotel and spa set in a beautiful location, I disagree with your comparison to a travel lodge.

99% of our guests give us nothing but positive feedback about our exec rooms our suites and the Dee Valley Penthouse.

Our plug sockets are slightly concealed in those particular rooms.

Unfortunately the TV service was very poor due to weather conditions - we have moved our dish back into position and we are at full TV signal again.

Our Suite's are the only rooms that have safes, we do not advertise our exec rooms to include a safe.

Underfloor heating is only offered in the bathrooms of our suites.

I have been up and inspected the towel rail and it is in fully working order.

Guests do experience some noise pollution from the spa which is below that wing of the hotel.

The spa does close at 8pm so the slight noise pollution would not usually interfere in the evening.

I have had maintenance any issues with water pipe noise on that side of the hotel.

There is not a boiler room underneath the bedroom you stayed in.

The male toilet flush was brought to our attention and maintenance have since fixed it.

I am glad you found the team to be friendly - We pride ourselves on our customer service.

- If you choose to book again I would like to offer you the experience of one of our suites given that you did not get to experience one on your last visit.

We will of course offer you this a complimentary upgrade depending on availability, excluding Saturdays.

This offer is available until 24/09/2018

Please contact me direct to book: gm@wildpheasanthotelandspa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews