We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location with beautiful views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Velvet Cottage

Fabulous rainbow viewed from Velvet Cottage's garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fabulous rainbow viewed from Velvet Cottage's garden
Large three seater faux leather sofa in the lounge Two seater leather settee and views across the valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Fabulous rainbow viewed from Velvet Cottage's garden
Large three seater faux leather sofa in the lounge
Two seater leather settee and views across the valley
Kitchen and dining area
Offroad parking bay, cottage frontage and garden
Superking bed
Twin beds
Bathroom showing full size bath and shower
Single bedroom
View across the valley from Velvet Cottage front terrace
The rumour is true - Eliseg's pillar does contain a pot of gold!!
Abbey Terrace and Velvet Hill from Llantysilio slate tramway
Llantysilio Church with snowdrops in Spring
Plas Newydd with Spring crocuses
Clwydian Way (ten minutes' walk from Velvet Cottage) in Winter
Valle Crucis Abbey and carp pond
Horseshoe Falls on the River Dee (ten minutes' walk from Velvet Cottage)
Valle Crucis Abbey in evening sunshine
Valle Crucis Abbey and Dinas Bran castle from Velvet Hill (behind Velvet Cottage)
Velvet Hill from the Llantysilio Mountain tramway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bandmclan...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great location with beautiful views”
Reviewed May 27, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Love the location, so close to everything and yet so relaxing with peaceful surroundings. We enjoyed the walks around the area. Cottage was clean and comfortable for our needs (hardly there), and the close proximity to the local pub for great meals was a bonus.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2018
Thanks very much for the review Michelle, it was a pleasure to host you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 2, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Camper740...
1 review
“Relaxing break.”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a lovely stay at Velvet Cottage, it was clean and cosy with everything we needed. In a quiet spot with lovely views and your own parking bay in front of the cottage.
Many thanks Yvonne and Ian for an enjoyable few days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Thanks very much for the review. It was lovely to meet you, we're really pleased you enjoyed your break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evie39
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A return visit and just as I remember it - Lovely, Lovely, Lovely!”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is our second visit, having spent a week at Velvet Cottage last year. I can only say that it was just as I remember it. The cottage feels like a real home from home and we all settled back in so quickly and were so comfortable. The bedrooms are very comfortable and warm and with the added peace and quiet you can't help but sleep well! I love the quirkiness of the cottage - the small bedroom (my daughter loves that room!) and the stairs I personally love - and makes it special - and I can imagine myself living there permanently! Horseshow Pass has some amazing views(maybe the first time you drive up there is a little nerve wracking but take it steady and its fine!) and walking up there is a must with views that make you sigh - remember though if you bring a dog to keep them on the lead as the sheep come first! We went into Llangollen quite a lot and it's good to see it so busy. Be careful though if you use your phone to get a parking ticket in Market Place car park as I did as I ended up with a Parking ticket because there was a delay in the details being registered and I am sorting that out now (but that's nothing to do with the cottage!) I wholly recommend and hope you enjoy the cottage as much as we did (again); you're bound to relax and the view from the living room and kitchen windows alone are enough to make you smile! Enjoy - I'm rather envious! We hope to return next year. Oh and Yvonne and Ian it was lovely to meet you!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
We're really pleased that your return visit was as good as your first. It was great to meet you too & hopefully we'll see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemmac473
1 review
“Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

After getting on the wrong train at Birmingham we arrived at Chirk after the last bus to Llangollen had left. We went to the bar at the Hand Hotel and the excellent staff and customers arranged a taxi for us. Velvet Cottage is lovely and after a quick look round my daughter decided she wanted to sleep in the "tiny room" rather than the twin room. The cottage is full of character and I loved the use of the space by the stairs as an office.
We recommend the tea room/bistro at Abbey Farm, a very short walk from Velvet Cottage. The food is lovely and staff helpful. Also worth a visit or three is the pub at the Bridge End Hotel.
We did not have a car, but the walk to Llangollen is easy and enjoyable - even in the dark. We followed the directions for Ian and Yvonne's favourite walk into town (we got lost!). The area is beautiful. The people are friendly. The cottage is lovely. The information given by Ian before we left home was invaluable. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
We're really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much after such a dodgy start!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 May 2017
Thanks for the review Ian, you're welcome to return any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing