We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second stay and just as wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Is-y-Graig

New front door, new windows, new gutters
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
New front door, new windows, new gutters
The cottage viewed from the road Cosy living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
New front door, new windows, new gutters
The cottage viewed from the road
Cosy living room
Snowdon in March
Well equipped kitchen
Moel Hebog and Beddgelert church
Spacious hall
Well equipped kitchen
Beddgelert cottages
Master Bedroom
Living room looking towards hall
Beddgelert bridge
Our new sun room
Twin bedroom
Woodland walk
The road outside the cottage
Our patio garden
Our new sunroom
Aberglaslyn path in June
Our new sun room extension
Outside of Cottage
Our pet robin
The hall looking towards the kitchen
Moel Hebog
Beddgelert cottages
Cottage entrance
Beddgelert with Snowdon in the background
Slate sill uncovered in the master bedroom
New curtains in the living room
The hall with new front door and shoe rack
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AlanAPoll...
2 reviews
“Second stay and just as wonderful”
Reviewed March 12, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Having visited Is-Y-Graig before I decided it would make a great treat for my partner and her mother at the mothers day weekend. They arrived on the Friday for a 2 night stay and felt at home straight away.

Alix as always was very helpful and responsive when it came to booking the property, giving all the information needed to get up settled in nicely.

The weather did its best to spoil the fun, but with a nice warm comfortable cottage to stay in, my partners mother was more than happy to sit it out and relax away the time.

Beddgelert is a lovely characterful village and we can't stop going back time after time and this is one of the first places we always think of booking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2018
Thank you for the kind review. I’m glad that they had a good time. We look forward welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
callaghan...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Is - y - Graig”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Had a lovely xmas week , very central ideal for what we were looking for . Would definatley book again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmanAI
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect base to explore Snowdonia National Park”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We made a very last minute booking to stay at this property over the bank holiday weekend, and it did not disappoint. The cottage is beautiful and very spacious with comfortable furnishings and a well-stocked kitchen. The new sun-room was a lovely light space to relax in. The cottage is well-located, a 2 minute walk to the shops, pubs and cafes of Beddgelert and perfectly positioned for walks and hikes in the area. We spent a very enjoyable 2 days walking in the surrounding hills and enjoying good pub food back at the village. Alix was a great host, with detailed information about the cottage, facilities and local area all supplied before departure, and was very responsive to our queries. Very highly recommended - we would love to stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHRoW
Ross on Wye
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good central location as a base for touring the area”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We know the area very well, having stayed in many cottages throughout Snowdonia for the past 30 years. Beddgelert is perfect for a walking base. We would recommend the Saracens Head and The Royal Goat Hotel - both serve excellent food, if a little pricey. The village has an excellent food shop/post office with very friendly and helpful staff.
We have three renting properties of our own, so we are familiar with the potential problems with guests but the 'pack' of instructions we received prior to arriving at Is-y-Graig was a great deal larger than we have ever seen and took some time to wade through. We still had to refer to it several times, even after reading it through as there are so many things to remember! I spent all week without power to the shaver point in the lower bathroom, simply because I forgot to push the light in a particular way to get it going again! The bedroom TV was never used as I understood one had to go downstairs after watching it to turn of the set in the lounge. The boiler gave us half an hour of panic when the needle rose above it's apparent safety point and the tap we were told to turn would not budge!
However, despite the 'glitches', the cottage was comfortable and warm. The biggest downside is being located at the back of other cottages, which was a little claustrophobic and parking was definitely a problem. 4 out of our 5 nights we had to park some way along the road and carrying shopping/walking kit in the rain was not easy! The alleyway is very dark until the security light comes on when one is almost at the door of the cottage.
For the price, the cottage is not 'high spec' and could benefit from some TLC. For example, there has been some work on the front door but the installers neglected to remove the printed protective tape all around the surround before painting - a simple task that would so improve the entrance way?
It is typically 'cluttered' which is fine for a 200 year old cottage, but little space has been left for the utility/downstairs bathroom - we had to remove the ironing board and broom, just to get into the room! This is preferable however, to the upstairs toilet, which is no more than a small, windowless cupboard - frankly unnerving!
Much work has gone into the the 'sun room' but I am afraid we found it cold and unwelcoming. High ceiling, high windows with the only view being of the recycling bins and the wall to the rear of the cottage was not inviting.
This is, of course, mostly a matter of taste and having read other reviews we accept this - it did not spoil our week in our 'second home' but given the amount of work we were expected to do before leaving the cottage (we have never been told to clean out the fire, clean the kitchen, strip the beds and put a wash on before!), the least we should receive for our investment is a clean environment. We found hairs in the downstairs bath which had clearly not been cleaned, and the hob had food caked on the surface. Cobwebs are inevitable but blackened with dust would indicate a long time since they were disturbed - not acceptable I'm afraid.
I am sorry to give a less than positive review but we booked on the strength of others, so the least we can do for future residents is describe what we experienced.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
I’m glad that you like Beddgelert and found the cottage comfortable and warm.
I’m sorry that you found our details long and difficult for you to understand. They are arranged alphabetically so that people can refer to them if they encounter a problem, rather than leaving people with no troubleshooting information. Our new front door had just been fitted and the plaster had to dry before the protective tape was removed and the painting finished. This has now been done.
Unfortunately, there is no commercial laundry anywhere near Beddgelert
and it is extremely difficult to engage a reliable cleaner. Our current
cleaner has a 25 mile round trip to our cottage and often cleans a couple
of other cottages on busy changeover days, so we have to ask guests
to strip the beds and put one load of washing on to make things easier for her.
You can just turn the TV off upstairs after use. The boiler is self-regulating if it goes over its ‘safety point’ and so is nothing to worry about.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Cozy Cottage!”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed here in February and I meant to write this review earlier because the whole process from booking to staying and finding everything was so easy. The owner sent us all the instructions to follow whilst we were there, there are 3 bedrooms, 2 double and 1 twin. Very clean and cozy, the heating is no fuss and there are extra heaters provided, maps, tourist guides, TV with Netflix and wifi! Kitchen it stocked so all you need to bring is your food. There's salt and pepper and oil etc I think from previous rentals. I think we may have left some too! The beds are fantastic and I slept well. The views from the road are great and very close to Snowdonia's many paths. There is a local post office who pretty much knows everyone and there is a great little local fudge shop on the corner. Very nice people and friendly in all. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Wales which I'm sure I will. Thank you so much for returning my robe and taking the time to do it. I really appreciate it!! Everyone enjoyed the trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhu931
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Comfortable well stocked cottage”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed in this cottage for a week . It is situated in the beautiful picturesque village of Beddgelert with easy access to the amenities in the village. The cottage is very old and has a unique charm . The kitchen is fully equipped with all the modern facilities . The lounge is comfortable with a fireplace and a tv with satellite. We were particularly impressed as we could watch all our Indian channels as they were part of the package . The bedrooms are airy and well furnished with plenty of storage space . As this cottage is very old the ceilings are quite low and also the stairs are narrow . It would be difficult for a person with restricted mobility to get around the cottage . We made good use of the newly decorated sun room on the ground room as it is airy and sunny. The cottage is located off the main road behind other cottages and can be a little difficult to find . The best way to find the cottage from the village is to go past the telephone box and look for the bus stop opposite . There is a small pathway right next to the bus stop and the cottage is there. Overall our stay was comfortable and would definitely recommend it .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S
2 reviews
“Holiday”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cosy cottage full of character and charm. Ideally located in the heart of Beddgelert for walks pubs & cafes. Really managed to unwind. Thank you !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing