We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Snowdon Cottage

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Outside Outside from the side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lounge
Outside
Outside from the side
dining kitchen
master bedroom
resident wild mountain goats
Path to the top of Snowdon just 300m from the cottage
local area
Llyn Dinas - 500m from the cottage
welsh black cows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnnieDown
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous week in Snowdon Cottage, a great sociable space for a family holiday. The Cottage was clean, warm and very well equipped ( the tin opener defeated us and it could do with a larger fridge- two minor points)
A nice welcome of wine, chocolates, bread and a few other basics to start us off.
A great location for Snowdon, Beddgelert and lots of lovely walks.
Would certainly recommend it for an ideal base for enjoying beautiful Snowdonia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beenaboo
Stafford
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We visited with some friends for a short 4 day stay and were not disappointed. Snowdon cottage was great; spacious, clean and the added touches including flowers and chocolates were very much appreciated.

Claire was very helpful and checkin/out easy.

Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage. Lovely location.”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a lovely group of cottages and camping pods. Snowdon cottage was clean, modern and well equipped. Nice big cosy kitchen too. Location was great... we used it as a base for the zipworld sites. It's at the foot of the watkin path too. There's a fabulous cafe just up the road before the watkin path. The title Cafe doesn't do it justice. This isn't a fry up cafe. Lovely menu. Local and organic ingredients. Wine and beers. We were just Disappointed that we only found it for breakfast on the morning we left. The Sunday menu looked lovely. The team at red dragon were all brilliant and helpful with every question and request.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon. Claire and team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in glorious landscape”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a great location in Snowdonia close to the attractive village of Beddgelert. It's is clean comfortable and modern inside and feels like a cosy family home. Our host and all the staff were friendly and helpful. A great location for hiking and exploring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahcott...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Snowdon Cottage is located within stunning scenery. There are plenty of walks in the surrounding area and a beautiful walk around a lake, river and countryside in to Beddgelert (about 2-3 miles on flat terrain). Beddgelert is a very pretty village with plenty of places to eat and a village shop supplying a range of groceries.
Snowdon Cottage itself is excellently equipped and although built in traditional welsh stone has a very modern feel inside. Dogs are welcome also.
The owner (Claire) was very welcoming and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
One warning is there is no phone signal at the cottage or nearby Beddgelert (although there is half way up Snowdon!) but there is wifi. To be honest it was nice not to be bothered by the phone!
We are definitely going to return to Snowdon Cottage. Our time went too quickly!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
195carl
Cradley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Beautiful cottage well equipped and cosy in a fabulous setting. Fabulous walks and Watkins path up Snowdon are all on the doorstep. Do yourself a favour and go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward B
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage is an ideal, scenic location. ”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We recently enjoyed a week break at Snowdon Cottage.

We found it to be a lovely spacious cottage, filled with all the amenities you could need or want. Parking was ample, with enough room for our 4x4 and trailer for our kayaks.

The setting and location is perfect for exploring Snowdonia, and gives a nice feel of isolation without being TOO far removed from civilisation. Perfect.

The nearest village is Beddgelert, which is just under 3miles away, which has a selection of local and tourist shops, as well as a handful of pubs and placed to eat.

For supermarkets, there is a Tesco just over a 20min drive away in Porthmadog, or an ASDA and Morrison's little over 30mins away in Caernarfon.

Though maybe not to everyone's taste, I really enjoyed the lack of phone signal at the cottage. It really helps connect with the surroundings and nature without the distraction of notifications every 2 seconds.

It has to be said, that although this cottage is located very close to a path up Mount Snowdon, that path is the Watkins Path. This is known to be the hardest path up the mountain. If you're not of good/high fitness or an experienced climber, I would recommend a journey to one of the other 5 paths. The Llanberis one being the easiest (though longest), which also has a lovely railway that goes up to the summit as well.

Whilst staying here, I would also recommend a visit to the Sygun Copper Mine, which is located just under 2miles from the cottage.

All in all, a thoroughly lovely cottage in a beautiful, scenic location. Perfect for a break hiking and kayaking. If I'm ever in the area again, I would definitely look to rebook.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing