We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time at tanronnen but already planning to return”
Review of Tanronnen Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beddgelert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tanronnen Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

beautiful village and wonderful welcome at the tanronnen. could only stay 2 nights as they were fully booked.As with other comments the room No 9 had a wonderful view and was cosy and comfortable and staff extremely helpful.Pub grub hot and plentiful. We have been to posher places and had more extensive choices at breakfast but we cant wait to return to the Tanronnen. Home from home atmosphere in the comfy friendly bar and lounge. So happy had we been at the tanronnen that we cut our holiday short rather than be disappointed with our further accomodation.

Room Tip: we didnt see all the rooms but were very happy with room No 9 as it was duel aspect with beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding in the village of Beddgelert. On arrival, we were delighted by the quaintness of the village centre, which was a hub of activity, and relieved at the parking available at the Tanronnen! We were warmly welcomed by the proprietor, given a choice of room type (we had room 10, a family room with bath and shower) and shown immedicately to our room. The host was chatty and friendly. Our room was lovely and spacious, with stunning views onto the mountains and to the grave of Gelert. The accommodation is spotlessly clean with the usual facilities you would expect. On explaining the reason for our visit, we were given directions to the wedding venue, suggestions of how to get there and a "late key" to facilitate a bother-free late return to the Inn.
The village itself is just gorgeous, with a good few places to eat well, and amazing walks. We were sorry that we could not bring our dog with us, as she would have enjoyed Beddgelert very much: simply everyone appeared to have a dog! Perhaps allowing pet dogs to stay at the Tanronnen might be a step the owner would be prepared to consider in the future! (Currently, assistance dogs are welcome).
Breakfast at the Tanronnen was superb: a good range of choice, and served hot and quickly, with a smile. We hope to return to Beddgelert in the future, and would certainly consider staying at the Tanronnen Inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissPositive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

This was our first stay at the Tanronnen Inn but it won't be our last.Our room (#9) overlooked the field and hills to the south.The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast and dinner.It has a great atmosphere due in large part to very helpful staff.Parking is at the rear of the hotel.This one is a real gem.

Room Tip: Both rooms 9 and 10 have a southerly exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60,103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Beddgelert and this part of Wales is beautiful. The Inn was very good, all apart from the room in which we had (number 8 we think) which was located above the kitchen, it was so loud at times (breakfast and dinner) it was unbearable. Food was good, other choices of places to eat/drink within walking distance too. We would stay here again but not in the room above the kitchen!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweeney1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I have been visiting North Wales since I was young and although I have drunk in the Tanronnen I have never stayed, but it was a great choice. The room was small and a bit chinzy, but clean and warm, considering all of the snow outside. The room also had tea /coffee making facilities and biscuits.
The hotel was decorated for the Christmas period and had a great Xmas tree and decorations in reception and a large fireplace and fire in the bar. The food in the restaurant was good, there was quite a lot of choice and the staff were efficent and friendly. Overall it was great value for a 2 night stay. There were lots of people staying or working in the hotel that were happy to give you advice on the best walks in the area. I will be going back, some people were booking for next year when we left !!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We were travelling to Wales to visit Snowdonia and travel the Ffestionog narrow gauge railway which is world famous and departs from Porthmadog.

Other reviewers didn’t have much good to say about Porthmadog (and after visiting I think they may be right), so after research on Tripadvisor, we chose the Tanronnen Inn in Beddgelert which was only a 18 minute drive to Porthmadog.

Beddgelert is a pretty little village and doesn’t seem to attract a lot of large trucks/lorry’s and possibly because of the very narrow roads. Tip: Don’t hire a large vehicle if you are planning a visit to Snowdonia! The Inn itself is built externally out of stone. There is a public Bar, loungeroom and restaurant downstairs and it appeared that all accommodation is on the second floor. There is no lift, but staff will take your suitcases to your room if needed.

We booked an en-suite room which was both clean and the bed very comfortable. However, there are some things to note. There is only heating in the room which means on a warm night one must leave the window open. At certain times of the year (May/June?) there are a lot of midgies a small biting insect like a mosquito. We had problems with a few house flies and had to ask for a swatter as no spray was available. Some rooms back onto/overlook the car park and late arrivals/early departures can cause a little disturbance. Some rooms are also above the restaurant and bar and muffled voices and laughter can be heard through the floor. However, this didn’t go on too late and is probably worst on busy nights like Friday and Saturday.

Breakfast is served in the main Dining Room which I must say is very nicely set out with clean crisp cloths and tableware to suit. The Brekky menu is simple but adequate for most. I have had better, but what we had was definitely OK. We also ate Dinner in the Restaurant and it was very nice having that home cooked feeling.

Would we stay again? Yes, especially when the new narrow gauge railway is running in 2010 between Caernarfon and Porthmadog! And yes, the area is fantastic for hiking.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geordielass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Stayed at the Tanronnen Inn for 2 nights and had a very enjoyable stay.

Rooms very clean quite spacious with big bathrooms, best feature was the view over the mountains and fields.

Staff and owners were all really friendly and went out their way to help, please ignore previous review which mentioned cards are not accepted... debit/credit cards ARE accepted for payment of drinks/meals etc, although food is only served up to 8.15pm which was fine for us but maybe a bit early for some?

Breakfast was varied and very good, we also had an Evening meal which again was very nice and quite reasonable, the specials were different every night. Looking around the village the Tanronnen stood out as the best accomodation which provided an Evening meal choice at a reasonable cost. There is also a residents dining room where you have an allocated table, very useful as the main dining room and bar area was very busy during our stay (Monday/Tues in Sept!) proving how good the food is!

Parking.....although the car park was small, the owners keep a space for you thoughout your stay so no battling for a space when you arrive or go out for the day,

Overall I would recommend this place to anyone......mainly because the owners and staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

Thomas Family

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bingobalss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.2 km away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
241 reviews
0.3 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
11.6 km away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Saracens Head
The Saracens Head
#3 of 12 in Beddgelert
389 reviews
0.1 km away
Plas Tan y Graig
Plas Tan y Graig
#1 of 12 in Beddgelert
106 reviews
1.0 km away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#2 of 12 in Beddgelert
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanronnen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanronnen Inn

Address: Village Centre, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanronnen Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We try our best to make sure that all our guests have comfortable facilities. All requests are dealt with efficiently because we want you to feel welcomed throughout your stay. The inn has seven en suite bedrooms, each with colour television, telephone, tea and coffee tray and hair drier. In selecting your bedroom, you can choose to overlook the river at the front of the house, or the green fields backed by the mountains at the rear of the house. Besides the dining room, there is a large lounge with an open fire and two attractive small bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tanronnen Hotel Beddgelert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing