We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The lodge location is absolutely stunning”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Colwyn Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Beddgelert, Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Joe D
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The lodge location is absolutely stunning”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a review for the Snowdon Lodge, not the Colwyn Lodge.

Just home from a great week at the wonderful Snowdon Lodge at Snowdonia Holiday Lodges.

The good:
- The lodge location is out of this world. I am usually wary of reviews with claims like that, but I can't think of any other way to do it justice. Set in a little valley with the River Arfon running past it, and a series of cataracts and rapids that are a few yards from the deck. Sitting on the deck drinking wine and watching the display of water tumbling down is magical.
- It is private and secluded without being isolated, perfectly located close to Beddgelert for easy access to all parts of Snowdonia.
- VERY clean lodge, and everything you need for your stay.
- The owners are a joy, attentive and responsive but at a distance so you don't feel they are intruding, or watching over you. Ed is a local and knows the area backwards so can advise on pretty much everything.

The not so good:
- Midges! This is midge central so go prepared for an onslaught if the air is still.
- Its marketed as a "6 person" lodge and for just the wife and I was fine, but for larger groups it may be somewhat cramped.
- The worlds most difficult to turn on TV, though Ed says he will be replacing it, thank goodness.

Of all the holiday cottages I have stayed in this was the happiest I have been. After a day sightseeing and touring it was a real pleasure to return to each evening. We will return, definitely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you for such a wonderful review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel P
1 review
“Simply STUNNING!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We don't usually review places we have stayed but we feel that we should make an exception for this wonderful place.
Everything leading up to the holiday was really pleasant from the easy booking process to the long but beautiful drive to the lodge through stunning Welsh countryside. On arrival at the lodge, Ed and Elaine were there to greet us and show us around. The complimentary wine and juice for the boys was really well received as was the pint of fresh milk in the fridge. The lodge itself is really well equipped and and contains everything you need to be comfortable, Ed and Elaine are more than happy to replenish items that have run out like dishwasher tablets, bin bags etc. Allthough a clothes airer would have been useful to help dry towels and wet clothes ( boys were in the river a lot!)
The lodge is set next to a fast ish flowing river which the boys really enjoyed messing around in and they found a pool upstream which was deep enough for them to swim in, thanks for the tip Elaine! You can hire a fire pit from Ed for a few pounds for the week and it was a perfect way to warm up and wait for the BBQ to be ready ( also helps to keep the midges at bay)
We took our mountain bikes as the forest is just outside the gate to the lodge and there are miles of tracks to explore all with stunning scenery everywhere you look ( great for walkers too) Not all down hill unfortunately but the views and the thrill of the downhill made the climb up worthwhile.
There is plenty to do locally and within less than a 40 min drive. We found a lovely little tea room in Rhyd Ddu, visited canaerfon and castle and popped over to Anglesey for the day. If you like to go crabbing you must visit Beaumaris. We caught over 100 and needed to buy a bigger bucket.
Overall, this place is perfect for relaxing if that is what you are looking for and also perfect if you have young children / teenagers to keep active and tire out. Ed and Elaine are genuine, lovely people who have created a fabulous secluded holiday destination. They are on hand if you require anything at all ( nothing seems to be any trouble and Ed's knowledge of the area is unrivalled) but they also give you the space to enjoy your holiday. If you are planning a trip to snowdonia, you really don't need to look anywhere else once you have found Ed and Elaine's lodge. Thank you both for providing the base for a fantastic holiday. We will definitely be booking again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing, we liked everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
It was a pleasure to have your family come and stay with us and we have to say what 2 lovely gentlemen your boys are and wish you all well for the future we hope to see you back again soon very best wishes Ed & Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
HI Very happy you had a great stay good luck with the 3 Peaks see you again soon Ed & Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
54karen20...
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing location . Peaceful . Cosy an comfy .”
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a great welcome from ed one of the owners an he showed us around . This is a beautiful location . The lodge was small but cosy comftable an warm as this was December . Has everything you would need for a comfy stay . The owners ed an Elaine would go above and beyond to make your stay all you could want . Lovely walks straight from lodge in the forest . Not far from snowdon which we walked up on Christmas Day an got snow on the top so that was amazing . Some great pubs in the area an very dog friendly too . Looking forward too going back , would highly recommend .Also the stream was lovely right outside would love to go back in the summer an paddle . Was amazing watching it rise an go back down with the rain we had . All in all a fabulous holiday which was made all the better with the information an chats with the owners . Loved seeing the horses an pigs too . Thankyou once again to you both we will be back .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Happy new year and thank you for the lovley comments we would love to welcome you back again soon fingers crossed the weather will be a little drier all the very best Ed & Elaine from
Snowdonia Holiday Lodges
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river outside the front door
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Once again we are very please that we were able to make our guest stay as relaxing as possible lets hope the weather is at its best next year
best Wishes Elaine & Ed
from snowdonia holiday lodges
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tunbridge Wells
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Hi It is so reasuring to hear such great comments and that we are getting things right for our guests so thank you for such brilliant comments. We would love to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you again. Dont forget the 10% discount in all of our accomadation for returing guests when booked direct.
Many thanks again
Ed & Elaine
from snowdonia holiday lodges
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Temeplaye...
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great hideaway”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Might not be for you if you want luxury, but otherwise an idyllic hideaway for two - cosy, homely, comfortable and functional. Elaine and Ed are warm, friendly, helpful hosts and although their house is only a matter of yards away you feel completely secluded with just the river for company. There are delightful quiet forest tracks on your doorstep but the honeypot of Beddgelert is only just down the road. Despite only staying for a couple of nights and booking at short notice there were flowers, chocolates, milk and a bottle of wine to greet us. Happy to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion
Liked least: WiFi not available due to fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Many thanks for the lovley review it was great meeting you both and having the oportunity to show you the new Snowdon Lodge with all its mod cons. We hope it will be open by Mid Septmeber , so for anyone wanting all the extras Snowdon Lodge is for you sleeping ideally 4 but will accomadate 6. Colwyn Lodge is ideal for couples and we welcome their pets.
Hope to see you back soon dont forget the 10% discount when booked direct very best wishes Elaine & Ed Snowdonia Holiday Lodges
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing