We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
45
20
20
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
20
20
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peppercorn sauce period character homemade chips hotel bar breakfast included excellent meal beautiful walk this lovely hotel real ale bit dated drying room nice stay main road night stay home made cooked to perfection lamb shank
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 113 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

A group of us stayed in October for a weekend of mountain biking, and the hotel staff couldn’t have been friendlier, breakfast was good and the bar welcoming. We slept in the bunkhouse; the rooms were very basic, but as expected, however the toilets and showers are in need of a long over due investment. Drying room was good though!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank paulgderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna D, Owner at Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Hi Paul,

Many thanks for reviewing us, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

I do apologize the showers & toilets in the bunkhouse weren't up to scratch. We have now booked a refurb of them at the end of November, so we hope to welcome you back again to try them out!

Thanks
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here in a family room for October's half term (England's)
Room was exactly as expected , hot shower. Had a meal in the restaurant, Beefstrogonoff with rice and chips fantastic it was , can report rest of family's meals were also fantastic.
Breakfast was cooked English, and all the toast you could eat !
Great location, we stayed here to do the zip wire, Forrest tobogon and the cave bounce and of course the mountain, fantastic central location for all of this. Fantastically beautiful village. Great friendly staff . Shall return !!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank CJHumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna D, Owner at Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Hi there,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back again,

Thanks
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

The mattress in the room was seriously sagging. There was no extractor or window in the bathroom. They did not really clean the room in the day. The cooked breakfast is with everything, you cannot pick and choose (but they have a vegetarian version which is nice). The parking is very tight on a busy weekend, but luckily there is on-street parking at the back. The restaurant in the evening is great. Nice atmosphere, good meals, good value, and the staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. The location overall is great. Very close to the main mountains and in the centre of the town.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank martinpathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna D, Owner at Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Hi Martin,

Thanks for taking the time to review us, and we are really glad you enjoyed the food in the restaurant, we work really hard at producing good quality food using local ingredients.

I'm sorry you found the mattress uncomfortable - you don't say which room you were in, but judging by your description I assume the bunkhouse. I will go and check all the mattresses there myself.

Many thanks
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

We called in without booking a table and were very pleased. Staff were pleasant and food very good.we returned the following evening and again enjoyed our meals.We will certainly return to the Glan Aber when we next visit Betws y Coed.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank 184ruthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna D, Owner at Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Hi Ruth,

We are very glad you enjoyed your food here and hope to see you again soon,

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Staying just round the corner we booked a table for two for 7.45 after seeing the steak offer outside.

We ordered two cold starters and two steaks.
After over 30 minutes we inquired where our food was as there was only 8 people in the restaurant and didn't appear to be busy.

The steaks were they brought out! NOT the starters!
When we asked where our starters where they seemed surprised and asked if we had not had them yet.
We were then told we would not be charged for the starters ???

My steak was meant to be medium. IT WAS RAW. Not rare but raw.

We paid for my fiancee's steak only and the bottle of wine and left very hungry.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Demodave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna D, Owner at Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Hi Dave,

I am very sorry for your experience here. It is not the high standard we strive for.

All our food is cooked fresh and to order ad sometimes there can be people eating in our bar or lounge which can cause delays. However, it is obviously not acceptable to get your mains before your starters and your steak not as ordered, so please do get in contact and I'd be happy to offer you some compensation - as usually people love our steak deal which is great value for money.

Thanks
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews