We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent for bedtime stories by the fire.”

Review of Y Neuadd Lwyd

Grade II Listed Welsh stone cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grade II Listed Welsh stone cottage
Living area with beamed ceiling & inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Grade II Listed Welsh stone cottage
Living area with beamed ceiling & inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
Perfect for cosy nights in front of the fire.
Living area with beamed ceiling & inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
'Slouchy leather sofa's to relax in.
Open plan living - view from living area to kitchen/diner
Modern fitted kitchen with ceramic hob, electric cooker and dishwasher.
Modern fitted kitchen with granite worktops.
Individually designed Bedroom 1
Views over the Snowdonia countryside from bedroom1
Bedroom 1 with modern en-suite shower room
Bedroom 1 en-suite shower room
Bedroom 1 en-suite shower room
Individually designed Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 with modern en-suite shower room
Bedroom 2 en-suite shower room
Bedroom 2 en-suite shower room
External utility room also doubles up a secure lockable storage for bikes.
Patio doors from living area onto timber decking and private courtyard garden.
Relax and appreciate the peace, quiet and stunning scenery.
Dolwyddelan village at the foot of Moel Siabod and Snowdon in the background.
View of Lledr Valley with Dolwyddelan in the distance.
Dolwyddelan Castle - 15 minute walk from the doorstep.
Grade I Listed 15th Century St. Gwyddelan's Church - 2 minute walk from the doorstep
Well situated for walking and mountain biking.
Zip World Velocity is the fastest zip line in the world - 45 minute drive.
Snowdon Mountain Railway - 40 minute drive.
Bounce below is set in a disused slate cavern - 10 minute drive.
Bodnant Gardens - 20 minute drive.
The coastline of North West Wales with it's safe sandy beaches are easily accessible by car
Stunning local scenery within walking distance from the doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LLugger
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for bedtime stories by the fire.”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a delightful cottage in an excellent location for exploring the area. The cottage was immaculate and very well equipped. The small courtyard garden was perfect for those odd blasts of sun. The only reason for a 4 overall was the Wifi which was very spasmodic. The owners are lovely and on hand as much as you needed them to be.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
instadesi...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Immaculate cottage, friendly people, great value”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We really enjoyed staying here last week, the cottage is in a great location for walking and climbing and Helen was very helpful with our numerous questions. The only surprises we had were that we couldn't get on the WiFi and we thought towels were provided but they weren't. Very minor setbacks to an otherwise extremely comfortable, peaceful stay. Would definitely come again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for such a lovely review and we would be delighted to welcome you back any time.

As advertised towels are included in the weekly rate, however, guests who visit us out of season for short/weekend breaks should bring their own towels (guests will always be advised of this at the time of booking).
Due to the rural location wi-fi is limited, our village is not currently connected by fibre-optic or cable therefore we can not expect the same service received in towns and cities. Connection via 3G is advisable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieGil...
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous, quiet stay!”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My other half, and I and two of our friends stayed here last weekend!
We weren't expecting too much as it was very very reasonably priced, and it was Wales. Our aim of the trip was to climb Mt. Snowdon - and that we did!!
The fact that cottage was just so lovely made the stay that bit more special.
It is out of the way, meaning it is gloriously quiet.
It was the most comfortable bed I have stayed in for a very long time!
The kitchen facilities were brilliant, and the log fire was an absolute treat and really made the house feel cosy for the few days we were there.
We all loved the cottage and the area, and everything about it. We would definitely stay here again!

Sophie Gilbert

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison W
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage in a beautiful place”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a week in this beautiful cottage. What can I say..... Helen was very welcoming as soon as we arrived and although the family live next door we hardly saw them but knew if needed them we could just knock. We were 2 couples and the 2 double rooms both with en suits were excellent. The cottage was spacious and had everything we needed especially the views!
The location was fantastic, very small village but accessible to everything you need to see in snowdonia. We visited so many places that were all within an hour away, Snowdon, beddgelert, Caernarfon castle, even took a drive up to Anglesey. There is a lovely village about 10 mins away called betws y coed which we went to most evenings.
This cottage is a must stay and is highly recommended to everyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieRod...
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Had a wonderful 4 weeks in this cottage. Every creature comfort cattered for. A very short walk to local shop and pub which does great meals.
Wonderful views from the back deck, lots of birds in garden and great walks around the local area.
Helen was extremely welcoming and helpful nothing was too much trouble.
Very rare two bedroom cottage with an ensuite for each bedroom!
Locals were all very friendly. Will definately stay again when we are in North Wales next.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, the cottage and the location
Liked least: Nothing it was all very good
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve c
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

our fourth time to cottage location great spar just up road and great walks and views from cottage.ideal place for family we have 19th month daughter and it great for her.ideal place near main routes.overall clean friendly and a great place to stay we will be back again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesssmith...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy, good value, comfortable”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A comfortable cottage with everything you need. The log burner was a big bonus for a winter weekend. Conveniently located with a local shop down the road and a coupe of pubs in the village to eat (only tried one of them). Good value especially if you split it between four people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing