We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mair-y-Coed

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pool602
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A really lovely property with everything you need for a great family holiday. Its location is ideal, only a couple of minutes walk to the village centre.We would highly recommend a stay here for a large family and look forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and size
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hebden Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable accommodation in a great setting
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
girliesFl...
flintshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd Ladies Walking/Birthday Weekend - It must be good for us to return!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at Mair y Coed (translates as Mary of the Woods). The property is a beautiful and characterful former Chapel/Church which has been converted to luxurious holdiay accommodation.
This year 10 of us shared the four upstairs bedrooms. We were all very comfortable. There is a 5th downstairs bedroom which we used last year, but is very small and basic. This was made clear to me by the owner before we booked, but we needed the accommodation for our large group. The group was smaller this year so everyone was happy!
The house is lovely and warm, has a huge tv and wood burner which is great to relax in front of after a long walk. It really is a nice place, smart and comfortable with a homely feeling. And of course we used the sauna to relax.
The kitchen is well equipped and we found the Aga handy when cooking for our large group. There is plenty of utensils and we could all sit round either the kitchen table or the formal dining table, which we did to enjoy our birthday meal! The fridge is huge, with plenty of room for the essential wine chilling for large groups like us.
The property downstairs is open plan and there is a large open area which we use as a dance floor! A great place for a celebration.
Outside there is a lot of parking, and front garden is on several usuable tiers. It was lovely to sit out on the nice day and watch the world go by. At the back is a rough grassed garden plentiful with birds and wildlife.
It is only a very short walk (couple of mins at most) to the main part of Betws with all the shops, cafe's and pubs. A lovely walk is on the doorstep up to Llyn Elsi, but Betws is central for most Snowdonia walking which makes the property suitable for groups like us with hard core walkers are people who just want a shorter walk.
A great base for a comfortable and luxurious break in Snowdonia. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked everything.
Liked least: 5th bedroom - small and basic but ok for a single.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 24, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious for a large group
Liked least: The non existant fifth bedroom
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Big House, Perfect Setting, Lovely Village - great experience all round!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We booked accomidation for 11 lads having a Stag-Do and staying two nights. The house is really spacious with a big table we all ate and played games around. The kitchen had all we needed to make massive batches of spagetti bolognaise which we ate throughout the weekend and to cook our full english breakfasts! (Dishwasher included!)

We watched the Sky TV in the lounge for the Everton vs Man U match (4-4!) and a UFC match, it had Wireless too, which is a must these days. There was a kareokee machine but we didnt get to use it as we went off to Chester on the Saturday night, but that was a nice touch.

The Sauna was great, the only issue I would say (and I've never used a Sauna in a house before) - is it was a bit colder at the bottom and took a while to heat up. After a long day walking the sauna was a real treat.

Beds were excellent, being a bunch of 11 lads I managed to grab one of the single beds upstairs (2 in 1 room) before the others did, but I didnt hear any complaints from anyone else about the other beds they found around the large house. We had an ensuite bathroom with a shower which was hot, and I think a lot of the other rooms did too.

There was a BBQ - which we didnt use but it wasnt in our plans. Our stay was really pleasant, we left it in top condition - with some of the boys really suprising me with their cleaning skills.

The setting for the house is really beautiful. I had never been on a walking/partying trip to wales before and it definately opened my eyes to coming back again. I also left my walking boots at the house and the owners were very kind to send it back to me.

Highly recommended all round!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sauna
Liked least: Could have been hotter
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186363sue
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“great house,great location,would definatly go again.”
Reviewed June 16, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

the house was perfect for our needs,we were a group of 13,with a mixture of children and adults,the location was excellent,very close to a park so the kids could go out and play while the adults prepared dinner,or just relaxed,the layout was great with all the bedrooms having ensuite bathrooms,there were no waiting for the loo or showers,the open plan living was very spacious,pleanty of room for everybody.the kitchen was equiped with everything we needed,my only small negative,would be the room downstairs which acted as a fifth bedroom,did'nt come up to the standard of the upstairs rooms and although my 17 year old son was glad to have his own space,not sure it would be suitable for a couple. the outside space had lovely views,and was great for an early morning cup of coffee before everyone woke up,and great for the end of week bbq.
would certainly use this property again in the future,and would'nt hesitate recommending to friend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing