We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Late September Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Home from home with all creature comfort. Stunning setting. Sleeps 4 or romantic get away for 2,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Home from home with all creature comfort. Stunning setting. Sleeps 4 or romantic get away for 2,
Woodland/Garden setting, with outside dining, brimming with wild life and birds. so peaceful. Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Home from home with all creature comfort. Stunning setting. Sleeps 4 or romantic get away for 2,
Woodland/Garden setting, with outside dining, brimming with wild life and birds. so peaceful.
Lounge
Bright, light and just a step away from garden dining. Shop online and we will take it in for you
Full bathroom, with shower over the bath.
You will alway receive the warmest Welsh welcome, from your hosts Lesley and Mike. Local experts.
Even looking out of the window the view is full of character and charm.
Our cottage is nestled into the side of Mount garmon, an idilic setting and so peaceful. .
Tyn Y Fron cottage in The heart of North Wales, The Gateway to Snowdonia. See everywhere with ease.
Enjoy our bluebell woods, in fact enjoy all of our grounds.
All Year colour.
Our grounds are brimming with birds some of which I had never seen before I came here.
The great outdoors, For walkers, hikers, climbers, cyclist's and like me sight see-ers
Bring best friend, we welcome well behaved pets (but not in the bedrooms) at just £25 per week.
The railway staion is just 5 minute walk away or we come and collect you. Buses are just 7 min.
Betws Y Coed High street, The very best of restaurants ( book ahead), shops and pubs. Delightful.
Sappers Bridge, your way to The village, bring your camera such a delightful 7 minute walk.
Conwy Castle, like all the places of interest just a short drive away 20-30 mins.
Your view from the lounge side window- it still takes my breath away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
95peter12...
Kent
1 review
“Late September Getaway”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Traditional cottage in a lovely location. Situated on the edge of the village of Betws Y Coed, this cottage is in a quiet and peaceful setting, while being only a five minute walk away from the centre of the village, to access a variety of pubs, shops and restaurants (particularly the Spar for basic groceries and fresh bread and cakes). With an upside down layout (bedrooms on the ground floor), the livingroom benefits from lovely views across the gardens of the B&B.
Its a perfect base from which to explore the local area and, take leisurely walks through nearby forests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P
Crawley
2 reviews
“Great Location, shame about the holiday cottage”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great location, but due to the age/style of the property it suffers from damp problems and there was mold on the walls/ceiling of the bathrooms and walls of both bedrooms. As an asthma suffer I found this an issue. I appreciate this is difficult to fix, but needs to be sorted out to get returning custom.

The bedrooms were both very cold even in August, so warm PJ's recommended.

The Kitchen crockery varies in place setting numbers and several pieces were badly chipped. The single tall kitchen cupboard seamed very wobbly and badly fitted. An inventory of what is there would be useful as there were no tea towels, cloths to wipe work surfaces or cleaning items.

Instruction manuals for the kitchen electrical appliances would have been useful along with recycling details etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, the owner (Mike) was very helpful and friendly
Liked least: Mold on the walls
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
We are responding as the new owners of Tyn Y Fron Cottage (since July 2016). The cottage is currently undergoing total refurbishment including the installation of gas central heating, the bedroom walls have been stripped off and re-insulated as well as other steps to improve ventilation and ensure there are no condensation problems that lead to the formation of mould.

As part of the refurbishment the cottage will be fully redecorated, new soft furnishings, new beds and new kitchen equipment. We hope that the problems mentioned above will have been addressed in full for the enjoyment of all guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz F
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday in May 2015”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage is a lovely place to stay and in an excellent location for snowdonia national Park. The cottage is well equipped for self catering the only downside is you have to pay for the electric that you use during your stay in addition to the rental costs of the cottage.

The bedrooms are downstairs with the lounge upstairs, the bedrooms were cold on arrival especially the twin bedded room but the owner did reduce the cost of our electric bill, because of this.

The wifi did not work at all during the stay due to the location of the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The cold bedrooms and having to pay extra for the electric
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
Thanks so much for leaving a review, it is very much appreciated. I would like to explain why we charge for electric separately. In keeping with our green credentials we try to minimise our carbon footprint. When we included electric some guest would leave the heating on 24/7 and open the windows resulting in four time more electric used. To resolve this we reduced the cost of the rental and charged for electric at cost.
Mike I believe did show your husband how to connect to the WiFi, but as we are in the mountains and BT's signal can be weak, which is why we never charge for it. Guest can always come over to the house where it is more reliable.
It was lovely to see you getting out and around Snowdonia and enjoying your holiday and we very much look forward to welcoming you back as there is so much more to see and do. As you now know, we are conveniently positioned for all of North Wales. When you do wish to return you get the best deals by booking direct.
See you soon
Lesley and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L E
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great, traditional cottage in a peaceful location, yet only a few minutes interesting walk over the river the lovely town of Betwsycoed. Mike and Lesley made us feel very welcome and the cottage is finished to a high standard with great homely touches such as electric blankets on the beds. It's a perfect place to explore the local area, we wouldn't book anywhere else. When our daughter said "we MUST stay here again", it just sums it up really. Thank you Mike and Lesley.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
We so appreciate your taking the time to make review for us. Your enjoying your holiday means so much to us and we love to know we are getting it right. One of the reasons we love it here ( besides the peace and quiet) is because it is so easy to get around with so much to see and do for kids as well as the rest of the family. Just love that your Daughter wants to return, so good to get them out into the mountains and fresh air.
Always contact us directly for best rates via our website.
Best wishes
Lesley and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth W
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look no further - Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Coming from Australia, this was our 3rd trip to Wales and Betws-y-coed and the local area is packed full of stunning landscapes, walks and drives with the township being the jewel in the crown for us. It is brilliantly placed for many attractions within a 30 -40 min radius....too many for us to experience in 4 days as we found. So we spent most of our time locally on foot exploring town and forest (apart from one day trip thru Snowdonia to the coast). Our stay was in winter which did not disappoint and was not long enough with the weather better than expected.

The cottage location is a 10 min delightful walk into in town and was better we thought than staying in town. It was an easy stroll including a swing bridge across the scenic river setting. The cottage itself is well appointed and charming to look at and worked well for our family of 5 so there was plenty of room (esp the kids bedroom!). We loved the yard with the outdoor setting and plenty of room with its filtered views over the valley. Its a special place that has left lingering memories which we hope we can re-live again one day. The owners were also especially helpful and obviously enjoy the hospitality industry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and living room comfort and elevation
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
Just delighted that you enjoyed Tyn Y Fron , especially the lovely Grounds ideal for families and relaxing in with a wine on the decking, but better in summer I think. As you said loads to do in Snowdonia ,so I guess that means another trip over. I very much hope.
See You soon
Lesley and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philip472
Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We came for one night and stayed two , Lesley and Mike were great hosts , the bedrooms very clean , fantastic breakfasts and plenty of information on what to do and were to go , we will defiantly be back !! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: the location and hospitality
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
By coming over to the B&B for breakfast you can have a hearty start to the day and no washing up, and we get to know you better. So pleased you enjoyed it so much, you are very welcome any time.
Thanks for the review
Lesley and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Moreton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this lovely little cottage for 7 nights (4 adults). The cottage was in a beautiful location and shared garden with the high quality guest house. Everything we needed was provided in the cottage and both Mike and Leslie (owners) were lovely and very friendly. We had a fantastic week with plenty of things to do in and around the area. Shops and a decent supermarket are close by. The garden is lovely to sit in and a good size table and chairs were provided for outside the cottage if you want to eat outdoors. I woul have no hesitation recommending this cottage to anybody and will definately be going back for another holiday in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the bathroom upstairs away from the downstairs bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
That is exactly what we aim for, happy guest who wish to return. Cant wait to see you again, we offer best rates from our online booking via our website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing