We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey End

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
oldmko
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Property”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Really enjoyed our 4 night stay. House is very clean and tastefully decorated. It has all amenities and is well equipped. The crockery and equipment such as TV, cooker, etc is good quality. Great gas barbecue available and back garden in pleasant setting with small stream running through it. Owners are in the neighbouring house and friendly and helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review as promised,
You were a really nice group so glad you enjoyed your stay here and everything was to your satisfaction at abbey end.
Be great to see you all back here sometime in the future
Take care.
best regards
brian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyToge...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very comfortable and spacious cottage”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Abbey End to celebrate our friends forthcoming wedding. There was 6 of us plus a labrador. We found the cottage lovely and spacious. The bedrooms were a good size and kitchen was well equipped. The owners Rob & Brian introduced themselves when we arrived and showed us around the cottage and made sure we had everything we needed, and let us know they were only a phone call away if we had any concerns. We didn't need to contact them, but it was lovely to know they were about if we had. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here. The cottage is situated in a good location if you want to get out and about or is just a lovely retreat if you just want to chill out and get away from it all.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful sitting and dining room. Very comfy sofas and lovely decor.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Thanks for choosing Abbey End for your break,
so glad you were all happy here ,
Your detailed comments are really appreciated
Hope to see you again sometime.
Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

By far the best holiday cottage I've ever stayed in. Very comfortable, great for families or groups of friends as we were. Well equipped, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. I thinm we will make it a yearly retreat. Higjly recommended!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Hey guys thank you for taking the time to review our cottage ,
would be good to see you back here in the near future you we"re all so friendly .
best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
535mike
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay and forget about the fast pace of life for a while.”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Owners Brian and Rob were a pleasure to deal with. on hand whilst allow you to relax and and enjoy their cosy warm cottage. Abbey end is spacious with every comfort catered for.
A great base for exploring the mountains and coast.
Liked most the beautiful walks and homely feel of the cottage.
Least liked the rain and leaving.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Thank you for a fantastic review, was great to meet you, so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, ideal for climbing Snowdon or a cosy getaway”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

First of all, Brian & Rob the owners are absolutely lovely & you can tell Abbey End is their pride & joy from the effort they have put into it being so beautiful.
The cottage has everything you could possibly need & the local curry takeaway was the best i've ever had (although we had just climbed Snowdon)
Bonus: If you like cats, visit the friendly hotel bar next door!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
Thank you for this brilliant review so glad you both reached the top of Snowdon as planned ,Were so happy that abbey end was the perfect place for your weekend stay,
Love to see you return here sometime in the near future as so many of our guests are already doing so ,
Thanks again and take care ,
Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine L
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanks for an excellent stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Hi guys,

thanks for an excellent weekend break. The house is fantastic and the stream running beneath entering within the garden was great that clear Welsh Mountain water. Would highly recommend to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2015
Great, so glad you enjoyed your break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bookmytri...
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A True Gem - Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here over New Year for 4 nights, 2 families of 2 adults and 2 kids (and a little dog), and we all had a fantastic time. Extremely well appointed, tastefully decorated, spacious, with a great sized garden that features a stream, includes broadband, and located just a short drive from Llanrwst and Betws-y-Coed. The owners left a nice selection of Welsh goodies, and also live next door, so handy in case of any problems (of which we had none!).
We did a lovely little walk locally, you drive up the road opposite the cottage, bear left to the top of the hill and just on the left there’s a woodland walk, on a National Trust site, to Cadair Ifan Goch which has outstanding views of Snowdonia National Park. It’s steep in places so not good for the less mobile, and the walk takes about 45/60mins in total. Being lazy one night we had Fish & Chips from “Tir a Mor” in Llanrwst, 10min round trip and the best battered fish we’ve ever tasted.
We’ve rented welsh cottages fairly frequently over the last few years, including in the centre of Betws-y-Coed, this ranks up there with the most comfortable, pleasant, and enjoyable stays we’ve had, and we'll definitely be returning.
Thanks again to Brian and Rob.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feel.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Guys,Just to say a big thank you for taking the time to review our cottage ,Our aim is to ensure our guests have a great break here always .
best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$210
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing