We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, magical, peaceful retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glyn Shepherds Hut

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah H
2 reviews
“Cosy, magical, peaceful retreat.”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I took my husband to Glyn Shepherds hut for his birthday.
It was freezing cold but it was so cozy. I slept like a log and didn't want to come home.
Set high up with the most amazing views, we felt we had our very own little retreat.
The property was immaculate and so clean!
It had tiny touches that made it so special. There is are spaces to cook, eat, shower and use the loo. It is like a tiny magical cottage. Catherine even gave us some milk, provided tea/coffee/sugar etc so we could have a cup of tea. She was ever so friendly and accomodating.
Really would recommend, had a great time :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian T
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just spent a delightful 4 night stay at the the Glyn Shepherds Hut - we can only confirm the recommendations of others and encourage anyone to book a break with Catherine and her perfect shepherds hut

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthernM...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, cosy, relaxing, perfect.”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful stay where everything had been thought of...a cosy and perfect little hut for exploring all the wonders North Wales has to offer. Catherine is a generous and thoughtful host - we are already planning when we can next some back - I highly recommend! I would live here if I could!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenigaz
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed at the Glyn shepherds hut for the past four nights, my only regret is that I didn't book to stay for longer! Catherine is a wonderful host, my wife and I felt very welcome. The hut itself is beautiful. very well equipped, very clean and is surrounded by stunning scenery. A perfect setting for a romantic getaway and an excellent location. I would highly recommend staying here and hope to return! Thank you Catherine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I couldn't fault anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C
Grasmere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect little place to stay.”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The shepherd's hut is beautifully furnished and remarkably well equipped for its size, with a wonderfully cosy double bed and fully functional kitchen. The views from the big window, looking down over the lush valley and up to Moel Siabod, are magical. Not only is the hut quirky and romantic, it's also surprisingly practical due to the large additional porch (plenty of space to ditch wet walking gear) and bathroom area. Catherine couldn't have been more welcoming, greeting us with tea and scones in her house and encouraging us to use whatever facilities (e.g. the tumble drier) we liked while we were there. We stayed two nights during which it unfortunately rained most of the time, but it really mattered much less because the hut was such a pleasure to be in. We'll definitely be back, hopefully with the weather to enjoy the gardens (and hills) a bit more next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelimm...
Cool,CA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“So Blessed”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with Catherine for 2 nights in her beautiful home. We had lovely bedrooms with comfortable beds. Catherine is the most amazing host, full of information about the area and where to visit. She made her house our home. It was an amazing visit... Please reward yourself and stay with her. You will be so glad you did!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripp491
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
“Best place to stay in Snowdonia”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Myself and my fiancé wanted to escape for a bit of r&r and I can honestly say Glyn Shepherds Hut was a delightful place to switch off! Catherine couldn't do enough for us - from our initial booking to recommendations for local sightseeing and restaurants.
The hut itself has a spectacular view of Siobad and a thoughtful bench positioned outside that made a cup of tea after our trek up Snowdon much more enjoyable. It is perfectly designed and had everything we could possibly want (including a king size bed) The spacious bathroom was a welcome surprise... I will never camp again! Catherine even had tea and biscuits on arrival. It was so comfortable and so clean.
The location was perfect - a 5 minute drive from Betws-y-Coed, the most picturesque little village in Snowdonia. I can't recommend Glyn Shepherds Hut enough - we will definitely be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing