We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
58
82
44
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
82
44
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family hotel home cooked the ritz friendly hosts town centre short break bit dated toast nice stay ample parking bed was comfortable climb snowdon full english north wales mike snowdonia base
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 224 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2015

Tired & cluttered. Room was disappointing, very dated, towel rail missing, no hair dryer (just a picture in the drawer). Generally felt like we were a bit of an inconvenience. Property is up for sale and it felt like they had lost heart. The food was good and breakfast was excellent.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I booked this hotel in order to get away to Snowdon for the weekend and as we intended to walk the llamberis path, we decided this would be a cheap (£136 for 2 and 2 nights.... Booking.com) and close hotel to base ourselves from.

The hotel is on a busy main road leading out of llamberis to Bangor and overlooks the lake opposite (hence the name)

We were given the infamous "room 1" on arrival and meeting with the very pleasant owner. The room, as other reviewers have pointed out is "different"! You walk through the bar area, through a door designed for a Welsh dwarf and up the stairs to the right. The room door was also designed for said dwarf and leads straight into the bathroom ! Yes.... The bathroom !!

The room was a very dated but functional with tea, coffee, TV and shower (no bath) it was a twin room which we weren't best pleased about but after a day's walking up Snowdon was not something that bothered us too much. The beds were very comfortable and the view was as suggested of the lake from the window which again was beneficial for dwarfs !

After walking Snowdon, we returned to the room to find the shower not working. We spoke to the owner who suggested we disconnect the shower hose and blow down it to clear an 'air block'. We did this and it worked ! Tip for anyone else staying!

The hotel is very dated and a little "thread bare" in places, but the owners (husband and wife) were both very pleasant as was 'Molly' the adorable dog that greets guests.

Breakfast was a little disappointing but with the option to add a cooked breakfast which was ok, at an additional cost (£3.95) We did ask for sweeteners that weren't available and were told they would be added to the shopping list, but were told on day 2 they had been forgotten !

We ate in the restaurant both nights, which was ok, nothing spectacular but edible, the curry appeared to be a microwaved affair but as I said, it was edible. My partner did ask on day 2 for her chicken to be wrapped to eat later, the chef was very safety conscious and would not allow this to happen unless it was wrapped in cling film. Very happy with this and a sensible decision.

The owner was a little under pressure with a full house and a waiter who had not turned up ! He coped admirably and kept everyone happy and entertained.

The bar was very well priced for a hotel and seemed like sensible prices and not extortionate despite being a captive audience.

There is a local Londis within 5 minutes drive, the llamberis path is within 5 mins drive, although parking is EXTORTIONATE ! At between £5-7 for full or part day ! Suggest you drive behind the lake railway as there is a cheaper car park here and is only an extra 2 mins walk. Llamberis town centre is about 2 mins drive, Bangor about 15 mins away and the lovely Caernarfon (excuse the spelling) the same distance.

The hotel structure was very dated and threadbare with dated, not just character, but threadbare furniture and fittings, but the owner, the other guests and the service made up for this. Everything was dated with a 2013 Calender on display in the bar and every note on the bar pin board out of date !!!

This was Definatley ..... 5 star service in a 3 star hotel.

Would we stay again ?? Probably not as we would try something a little more modern, or another hotel the owners had moved to.

Great,friendly staff who try really hard, have great customer service but let down by a building that seems like just too much to cope with for them and a constant battle.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bjacko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night...loverly small hotel..room was comfortable..food was lovely and home cooked..and source localy...an excellent base if you are walking up mount snowdon as it's 15 mins walk from the start of the walking path up the mountain..hotel has good fast wifi in the bar only..there is parking at the front and is free...The hotel owners Michael and Carrie are loverly and very helpful. .Please note that the continental breakfast is included in the room booking.....but for a cooked breakfast you will need to pay extra. ...but only a few quid. .its worth it. ..thay also pack you a lunch box if you request it...its not the rits....and it's not a dump....its homely. .and welcoming. ..

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2015

In this hotel we booked the 'standard double room with lake view', while the people were very friendly and helpful we felt that this establishment left a lot to be desired. Firstly, the room was outdated, along with the rest of the hotel, the bed wasn't particularly comfortable and the pillows felt old and uncomfortable. The shower was a plastic that felt like it had been imported from a caravan and it was clear that under the bed and bedroom furniture hadn't been hoovered in a very long time! Booking.com had stated that buffet breakfast was included, but when we were given the bill, the cooked breakfast that we'd had each morning had been charged on top (on a side note, breakfast was lovely!).

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peach1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2015

I had booked some time previously (on booking.com) at what seemed a reasonable nightly rate so there was a grim inevitability to be awarded the infamous Room 1 on checking-in. The owners are very hospitable and chatty, battling against some of the difficulties posed by a building which originally was a row of (300 year old?) cottages.
The room was clean and, despite the unconventional layout, reasonably comfortable. It has single beds and a kettle. The wifi worked well and was accessible from the bedroom.
There was some traffic noise from the road, the double-glazed window did little to deaden it. The road has been recently re-surfaced and looks like a race-track which encourages some people to treat it as such!
We ate at the hotel on two occasions, the portions were large and the quality acceptable. Breakfast was basic cereals and toast - as others have stated, a cooked breakfast was extra (although good value at £3.95)
It's a good 20 min. walk into LLanberis but you can get on to the Lake-side path if you want to walk around the lake.
On the downside, some of the public areas in the hotel could do with a good clean. Overall we enjoyed the stay although if I came to Llanberis again, I'd probably look elsewhere.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews