We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little cottage in peaceful & stunning...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 3 Dinorwic Houses

3 Dinorwic Houses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3 Dinorwic Houses
View of the house from the country park 3 Dinorwic Houses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
3 Dinorwic Houses
View of the house from the country park
3 Dinorwic Houses
Living room
Living room
Log burner
Log burner
Kitchen diner
Kitchen diner
Kitchen diner
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Main bathroom
Decked area at the rear of the house with patio furniture
Woodland at the rear of the house
View of Llanberis from Padarn Country Park
Waterfall in Padarn Country Park
Lane at the front of the house leading to Padarn Country Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Julia C
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely little cottage in peaceful & stunning location.”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our family had a really lovely time at this very cozy cottage. The setting is really special, very peaceful, just the calm that we all needed. There were great walks on the doorstep & great views of the mountains. Karen was really nice & welcoming & gave us some great advice about the local area. Lovely stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Dinorwic.
It's great to know that you had a good time here and that you enjoyed the peace and quiet.
Thank you for letting us know and for leaving such positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BertR46
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent cottage in a stellar location”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage was excellent. To my surprise, we found ourselves spending most of our time indoors in the kitchen, which is big warm and cosy, on the upper level. If the kitchen had not been so nice, I am sure we would have used to fireplace int he living room a lot more, and been cosy in that room. The location is fantastic. Dinorwic Forest is the an amazing strip of forest, with willowy sessile oak trees and a cascade of waterfalls. The forest makes a contrast with the cold hardness of the slate quarry. And there is plenty more beyond, like climbing Snowdon (the approach from Llanberris is monotonous and busy; the Watkin patch from the other side is a bit more strenuous, but much more varied and less busy). Recommended in Llanberris: the honey shop and Pete's Eats.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay in 3 Dinorwic Houses.
I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your time here and were able explore the area and discover the spectacular scenery in Coed Dinorwig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJP44
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage, fabulous situation.”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for six days in this lovely cottage on the edge of the Country Park and enjoyed every minute. The cottage has everything that you may need, with the added bonus of a log burner, which was lovely to come back to after long walks. The cottage has been beautifully restored and decorated by the owner, who was welcoming and helpful.

If you want to get away from it all to a place with fabulous views, great walks with a comfortable cottage to come back to, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property. We will definitely be returning ourselves, as there was still so much that we would like to do in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities were excellent and the situation perfect for us.
Liked least: Some people may find the parking slightly tricky.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in the cottage.
We try hard to ensure that guests have everything they need to make the most of their visit and it's great to know that the cottage provided you with everything that you needed to make your stay enjoyable.
I'm really pleased that you had a good time in Dinorwig and that you enjoyed the scenery and walks available in this beautiful corner of North West Wales
Thank you again for the positive comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corine B
Bemmel, The Netherlands
1 review
“Comfortable”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a nice stay in Dinorwig House. The house is very comfortable ! We had to use the stove to get it warm in the evening, but we loved that. The place outside is tiny. To go to Llanberis you need the car. There is a walking path, but it is very steep.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in 3 Dinorwic houses. It is always nice to know that guests have found the house comfortable and had an enjoyable stay.
It’s also good to know that you liked the log burning stove; it does keep the house warm on cooler evenings and creates a lovely cosy atmosphere.
The path to Llanberis is quite steep but very well marked and provides beautiful views of Llanberis, Llyn Padarn and Snowdon throughout the walk. If you’re not in a hurry it’s possible to take the less steep path into Llanberis which allows you to explore some of the other areas of Coed Dinorwig and the Country Park en route.
Thankyou for again for writing a review and for chosing to stay in 3 Dinorwic Houses.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deansmith...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway, quiet but easily accessed”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The owner was very helpful prior to our stay on email and met us at arrival to give a tour of the property. The house really does have all the amenities you could need and an abundance of DVD's, games etc which were a nice touch.

The rooms are very clean and spacious and the bathrooms are both very modern. I did have one negative though... In the upstairs bedroom there is a skylight that has no blind. Because of the time of the year that meant we were being woken up by the sun at around 5am every morning! I did border a 4 start review for this very reason because I didn't particularly want to be up early after a half marathon up a mountain...

Outside there is a wonderful area with BBQ and fire pit. They even provide you some wood to use so pray for the weather!

Overall I'd definitely return to this property if I'm ever in Llanberis again :).

NB: It's a relatively steep walk down to Llanberis from the house so although it's a short walk, (20 mins / just over a mile) make sure you wear appropriate footwear and not heels like my mum did on her birthday... Haha.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great amenities and outdoor area is lovely
Liked least: No blind on the sky light in bedroom - it's very bright!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in 3 Dinorwic houses. It is always nice to know that guests have had an enjoyable time and that the house lived up to expectations.
I’m really sorry that you were woken so early by light coming in through the velux window in the bedroom. Thankyou for highlighting this as a potential problem. I have now ordered a black out blind for the window. The blind will be delivered and installed in a few days and should resolve the issue of light coming into the bedroom early in the morning.
Thank you again for the positive feedback and we hope to see you again on any future visits to Dinorwig.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot, comfortable and homely cottage”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for my 40th with our two children and friends and the cottage was comfortable, well equipped and perfectly located. Karen, our host, lives just next door and was really friendly and accommodating, even lending us some charcoal for the BBQ. Would recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a base for exploring Snowdonia.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review of your stay in the cottage. I'm really pleased that you had an enjoyable visit to Dinorwig and that the cottage provided you with a comfortable base to explore Snowdonia.
We try hard to ensure that guests have everything they need to make the most of their stay and it's great when we get such positive feedback.
Thank you again for the positive comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24KateG
Newport, UK
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant cottage, ideally placed”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Four of us shared this cottage for 6, one using the sofa bed so we can say that all the beds are comfy. We had a very pleasant stay here. The cottage is perfectly placed for exploring the Snowdon area and particularly well placed for the Llanberis path up Snowdon (though you may have to take the car down to Llanberis before you climb Snowdon, as there is a bit of a climb to get to Llanberis itself - easy for walkers but quite steep coming back). The cottage is beautifully done out, with everything you need. The storage heaters do need adjusting a bit to get warmth to the downstairs rooms but if you light the wood burner, you will be very cosy. The bath is wonderful! Such a comfy shape to relax in after a good day's walking. Karen, the owner, is very helpful and supplies very good information about using the appliances. Having a dishwasher is fab. I cannot find one thing to complain about here - the place is just lovely. Bath towels are supplied, but they are not bath sheets, which didn't bother us but if you are a person who likes to wrap up in a big towel you need to bring your own. The phone connection can be intermittent as in most of that area, but works better upstairs rather than down. If you are lucky you may get a sheep or two saying hello at the front door, as we did our first morning. We definitely plan to return to 3 Dinorwic Cottages! (Note my rating of the booking process is to do with Holiday Lettings, not with the property itself).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Everything supplied.
Liked least: Downstairs storage heaters didn't warm up enough, while upstairs was really hot.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing