We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting insight into Wrexhams past”

Wrexham County Borough Museum
Ranked #8 of 57 things to do in Wrexham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wrexham County Borough Museum is a museum covering a variety of historical periods ranging from Neolithic right up until the present day. It is a rather popular attraction in Wrexham due to the free admission, as well as being open and suitable to all ages with a number of hands on activities for younger guests. The museum is the home of a large Welsh orientated football collection as well as a variety of local artefacts. The museum often holds special events and/or exhibitions.
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Only a small building, but is packed well with some interesting artefacts.

Exhibitions change regularly so worth popping in now and again to see whats been changed, or look up their social media activity as to when they change the exhibits.

Nice little coffee shop in the front of the building.

Parking available nearby, but is all paid parking.

Thank The_Rhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P, Public Relations Manager at Wrexham County Borough Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive and informative review about your visit to Wrexham County Borough Museum and Archives. See you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2016

A small museum but enough to keep you occupied for some time. Unfortunately it was not possible to read all the information notes in the displays due to their positioning and the lighting angles - they seemed to be placed as a secondary thought but otherwise a very interesting and free museum on the edge of the shopping area.

Thank Welshwasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P, Public Relations Manager at Wrexham County Borough Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Dear Welshwasp,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Wrexham County Borough Museum & Archives and found our exhibitions informative.
Also thank you for your thoughts and comments regarding the positioning of information notes in our galleries- so sorry you struggled to read them . Our new exhibition 'The Last One Standing: The Tales of Bersham Colliery' has just opened on 12 December 2016. We hope that you will visit us again and this time find the notes easier to read. Thanks again for taking the time to review our Museum.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

very good place to visit ,found information i needed on local mines .good cafe too ..well recomended

1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P, Public Relations Manager at Wrexham County Borough Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of the Museum.
Our staff and volunteers are always pleased to hear back from our visitors.
Hope to see you at the Museum again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I was actually looking for somewhere to have a cuppa but ended up having a good wander around. The museum is free and it's an excellent little museum, well laid out with lots of interesting artefacts. The cafe was great too, lovely coffee and friendly staff. Well worth stopping by.

1  Thank beverley_goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Locely coffee shop with some good cake... and a stunning museum to take you back as far as 1600BC... interactive and informative! A real treat and serene get away from the "hustle and bustle" of Wrexham. A must see... friendly service

1  Thank HAWiesinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P, Public Relations Manager at Wrexham County Borough Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for your positive review. Also so pleased that you enjoyed the cake at our lovely Museum café. We have an ever changing exhibition programme, so please do come back and see us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wrexham County Borough Museum also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 

Been to Wrexham County Borough Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing