We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely family weekend in the Brecon Beacons...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Acre Brecon

The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Master bedroom with super king size bed and additional single. Kitchen, range cooker rustic table seating 8,  open plan with natural light from all aspects.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Master bedroom with super king size bed and additional single.
Kitchen, range cooker rustic table seating 8,  open plan with natural light from all aspects.
Ground floor sitting area with 42' led TV and Wii console, breath taking views.
Ground floor lounge with seating for 8 in comfort.
First floor lounge, with balcony panoramic view's of the Usk valley and beyond.
Utility room comprising off boot rack, washer dryer, dishwasher, door leading to shower room
Utility room with ample floor and wall storage, tiled floor throughout the ground floor.
View from the decking, which has a double burner BBQ and seating for 8, sit and relax.
The decking looking North,a parasol to shade you from the summer sunshine.
The Acre Bwlch, from the top of its grounds looking East at the Black mountains. 2 acres of garden.
Happy guests on the balcony, relaxing with a drink and enjoying the fabulous views.
Kitchen set up for breakfast for 6 more seating available. American fridge freezer with dispenser.
A view from the Black mountains in the same valley as the Acre Bwlch. A walkers paradise.
Walk in shower on ground floor with toilet and wash basin. All towels and bath robes provided.
The lake, under 3 miles away, walk or cycle a bird watchers haven, perfect for sailing & fishing.
Brecon Beacons in Brecon 7 miles away, Hay on Wye a short drive, Green Man festival 2 miles .
Drive and flower bed, the lane leading to the Acre is single track and a dead end road so very quiet
Ground Floor layout
Taken on the 23rd November 2014 fog in the usk valley
The Acre in winter bottom left of the picture.
First floor lounge with balcony doors open in the summer.
Sink and American fridge freezer with plumbed ice and water.
Fresh vegetable boxes with green house for organic supplies.
Patio area with BBQ and plenty of seating,
King size bed with ensuite.
First floor living room with balcony doors closed.
Boot and coat rack for storage after your days adventure.
Travel cot,for the younger visitors.
Patio area with BBQ and water feature. Fabulous view in every direction.
3D 5.1 Blu Ray home cinema system.
Table set for dinner.
Fresh bread made at The Arce.
Snow at The Acre, approaching 1000ft.
Bright warm sunshine on the patio at The Acre Bwlch.
Loads of private parking along with well kept colourful grounds.At The Acre Bwlch.
Our own hens, a great attraction with the younger guests free eggs!
If your visit is in the summer months feed the huge Sun flowers.
Fisherman on Llangorse Lake.
View to the Black mountains with snow from The Acre Bwlch.
The start of our ride back to the Acre Bwlch
Clean sealed floor tiles, american style fridge freezer
utility room from the stairs
Utility room from the kitchen
Floor plan of The Acre Bwlch Brecon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Gail E
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely family weekend in the Brecon Beacons National Park”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful time in this really lovely house. Conway couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful throughout our stay - including freshly-baked bread, coffee and fruit on arrival and fridge stocked with all the essentials. There was plenty space for our group of six to relax, read, watch TV, play games, eat (a lot!) and enjoy the lovely views. The New Inn - a five minute walk down the road in Bwlch - is a great pub with brilliant staff and excellent food. We did some lovely walks - up Sugarloaf, the Elidir Trail, and the Four Waterfalls walk to Sgwd yr Eira.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the views, the friendly welcome.
Liked least: The layout is a little idiosyncratic - for example having the kitchen split between two rooms is not ideal (but not a major problem).
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig N
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely house - great location”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A group of five of us have just stayed at The Acre for a walking weekend.

The house was large, modern and well appointed, with stunning views. We didn't need to use the cars all weekend as we could walk out straight from the house onto a number of walks.

It was a really nice place to unwind after a long walk, with good quality showers and a decent night's sleep.

We brought food with us for breakfast but a lot of the basic things were provided including, milk, fruit, butter and fruit juices which was really helpful. Conway was an excellent host and checked in with us during the weekend to make sure everything was going ok.

The New Inn at the end of the road was really friendly and served good food. Conway warned us when we arrived that we'd need to book for that night and called them for us to arrange a table. The following night we called and were told by one of the staff that unfortunately they were fully booked because of the FA Cup Final. We got a call back from the landlord ten minutes later asking if we were the guys staying with Conway... he sorted out a table for us as long as we didn't mind coming down after the final whistle.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunset61
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

6 friends and I have just returned from a fantastic 2 night stay at Acre Brecon. We were meeting other friends and going mountain biking at Bike Park Wales in Merthyr as a birthday celebration and the house was brilliant and suited our needs perfectly.
Had great communication with Conway both before the stay and during and he was really helpful in suggesting places nearby to eat and checking all was well.
We were left a welcome pack of food including homemade bread which was lovely. We brought most of our food with us as we were told that there wasn't a supermarket nearby but they were happy for us to order a delivery if we needed it and there were staples there for us anyway should we have needed them.
The house itself was great and totally suited our requirements. Plenty of showers and toilets for us mountain bikers! We were dying to see the beautiful valley opposite and take full advantage of the views but the mist was heavy until our last day-still, we were just inspired to come back another time.
Conway gave us a tip about the pub up the road, The New Inn, and a couple of friends went up for food and really enjoyed it. The rest of us went up later for drinks and found it cosy and welcoming - the locals are brilliant.
A couple of our friends were staying at the bunkhouse up the road opposite the pub and some others in a motorhome. They were allowed to park up and stay in the motorhome at the back of the bunkhouse so we were all able to spend time together on the first night. The owners of the house were happy for us to invite friends down to have a birthday meal so we really appreciated that as I can understand why they would rather we didn't.
All in all a great stay and we hope to return to enjoy a similar type of stay when we next go biking in the area.
Thanks very much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex A
Wilmington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic property and location for NYE”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The property is very spacious - we had 10 staying - and finished to a high quality. The host was very accommodating, friendly and was flexible with timings. We were there for New Year and is an ideal setting for walks, mountain biking, relaxing and spending time with friends or family. Lots of equipment, towels, games etc all for your use.
Would stay again. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfy, spacious and everything we needed”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Had a lovely two nights with a group of friends, we had lots of essentials provided for us, the house was warm and cosy with comfy beds and tonnes of space for us all and plenty of entertainment!

The weather wasn't great while we stayed but we were happy enough staying in the lovely house playing board games!

Conway was great answering questions before we arrived and giving helpful tips and advice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having the essentials for cooking and fresh bread
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katomcg
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect rental for large groups! So peaceful and cosy.”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

From the minute we arrived in Brecon and easily found The Acre, we were stunned by the views and also the presentation of the house. Stephanie showed us round and made sure we had everything we needed, which we did and more (by this I mean the home made welsh cakes and bread). The kitchen was perfect for making home cooked meals and we made full use of the veggies in the welcome pack to make a nice winter soup.
Conway was helpful with recommending walks for us to do and which local pubs to eat in. Everyone had a great night sleep and it turned out to be the perfect place for 8 friends to meet for a renuinion.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abnikola
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Perfect place for a countryside getaway with University friends. Ample space for the 8 of us. Incredible house, location, views, everything! Just fab! Hopefully be back again for our next Uni reunion!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing