We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Weekend! Didn't Want to Leave!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
96 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 96 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
877Smarie
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Amazing Weekend! Didn't Want to Leave!”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is the first time we've stayed in Brecon, we go to Wales for a 3 day weekend every year, usually go to Snowdonia but after a long internet search I came across the Brecon Retreat & although a bit more expensive than we usually spend for a similar holiday lodge we decided to book it as I was amazed by all the excellent reviews!

We weren't disappointed! It really was amazing! Its a shame the check in is quite late at 4pm though, but I understand its a large area to clean - check out is 10am, we arrived at 4pm & Helen was there, she kindly showed us around & explained how to use the hot tub, log burner, oven etc & then explained that she no longer lives next door, but she's not far away if we need her for anything. One of my favourite touches was the chillout playlist she had made on Spotify & you can connect it to the Bose! Wow! best thing is I can listen to the playlist at work now I'm back...wishing I was back in Brecon!! Great choice of tracks!

Its a good location, a few miles drive to Brecon town centre, only around 20 minutes drive to Pen Y Fan which we walked up on Saturday - lovely sunny day! Got some great photos! & about 40 minutes drive to Waterfall Country - drizzly day, but we are in Wales! but that place is incredible! We got lost - started on the yellow path & merged into the red somehow & was in the forest about 6 hours, even had to ask someone for help to drive us back to our car! but such a fun day! wet - but fun!

We didn't eat out we were too exhausted from walking, it was so nice to comeback to the lodge, stick our wet muddy clothes in the washing machine, put the chillout playlist on, log burner on, have a beer & cook on the BBQ! Then a nice soak in the hot tub finished the evening by watching a movie on Sky! I never relax & chill out at home because I work 2 jobs, I felt so relaxed after a couple of days, I didn't want to leave! I ached from head to toe from the walking but I still felt relaxed! The birds woke me up very early every morning, I'm not used to that! but the bed was super comfortable! The kitchen area is a bit small, its a shame there is no draining board & storage is a bit limited, I think i'd struggle if there was more than 2 of us there as it does sleep 4.

The little touches make it luxury, the dog tag & the oil diffusers, the warm water outdoor tap is a brilliant idea! gave the dog a good wash & dry before allowing him back inside & having a bed & food bowls saved us bringing ours! I'm glad spa slippers were provided as the stone floor is a bit chilly to walk on & the dressing gowns were great!

The decking area was a bit untidy but I understand lots of twigs fall from the trees above, there is only 1 PlayStation controller so if 2 of you want to play then bring another one to avoid disappointment, some games are provided though! I couldn't get the singstar mics to work but I think the battery's had ran out, I brought some more but forget to put them in, probably a good thing!! & the battery needed replacing in the clock in the bedroom, but I really am being fussy now, these aren't complaints just attention to detail. Wifi is great! & the canapy above the hot tub is a good idea incase its drizzling!

Really really beautiful, amazing place! spotlessly clean, we would 100% say again, you will not be at all disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub, Log Burner, Chillout Playlist
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlewis3
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Having read the trip advisor reviews, we were a little sceptical- they all seemed so good, we wondered if they were genuine?! They were!! We enjoyed a totally brilliant time- a beautiful lodge, with so many thoughtful extras that really made for a lovely holiday. A great area for walking, and the tub is the perfect reward after a day trudging up hills in the rain. Thank you Helen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla R
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a place, beautiful Lodge with everything you need and more. The Hot Tub is an added bonus.
Gorgeous surroundings and great walks with amazing scenery.
We will definitely be back, thank you Helen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom E
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This could be the best place to stay in the UK”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

With a property finished to an extremely high level, allowing our four-legged companions and beautiful views from the living area - what more could you want? Genuinely, we have had an absolutely fantastic time at Brecon Retreat and would thoroughly recommend it to walkers, mountain bikers and dog owners alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality of property and features
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon L
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely perfect ... At last we have found luxury accomadation that accepts dogs. So perfect we didn't want to leave. The sound of the stream is just beautiful. The hot tub is a delight of an evening. Helen was just at hand for anything you need. We will be back for sure

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How luxurious it was and dog friendly
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin R
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sumptuous relaxing stay, the dogs quite enjoyed too.”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge is beautiful, the attention to detail throughout the entire place shows how much the owner cares that you enjoy your time at this very special place. The lodge is ideally placed to verdure out walking at many of Brecons beautiful attractions, and when your done with that you can unwind in the awesome jacuzzi and listen to the stream rush buy. Highly recommended and we can't wait to come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob W
1 review
“Relaxing hideaway”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I stayed at this lovely little hideaway for New Years Eve. We couldn't have had a better welcome. Helen, the owner, was great and very friendly. She even provided us with a bottle of champagne for the Eve itself, which we particularly impressed with. With the hot tub, log fire and convenience of an on-site massage we hardly had a reason to leave the cabin at all. I'll definitely be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing