We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in St David Spa hotel for one night in February. Hotel is very big and modern, staff very nice and helpful
Hotel is in very good location as it was quiet and we travelled one stop by train to the centre of Cardiff. There are a lot of restaurants in walking distance from hotel. On minus side you also have to pay for parking. Hotel parking cost £8.00 per 24 hours but there is car park next to it for £5.00
We were amazed with size of room and big window with balcony looking the sea and Cardiff bay area. The bed was a king size and very comfortable…
Room was equipped with everything what needed including large LCD TV and clock radio with IPod dock.
Bath was very comfortable and towels very fluffy.. Hotel has fantastic spa and swimming pool facility with robes and towels that is provided free of charge for all guests staying over night at the hotel. Also gym is available for guests but we didn’t had chance to use it
We had fantastic stay in this hotel and I would be happy to comeback in summer

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZabkaWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for your review following you recent stay with us for your birthday. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all that St David's has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,355 - 3,361 of 4,029 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Most luxurious hotel I've stopped in yet and overall good value for money. We had an upgraded room(515) with two chairs to enjoy the views over the marina. Nothing was too much trouble - but most of the staff were foreign which I felt was a shame as I would have liked to seen more local people employed ..... Thought breakfast at £12 was a little overpriced but there was so much to choose from - we had to book it to get it at that price otherwise it was £18.50! Spa was great and make sure you don't forget your swimwear. Will be making a return trip for sure. Our receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful she was called Monika.

Room Tip: If you not eating in hotel takes about 5 mins to walk to restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leothelion56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and your comments have been shared with the team. I hope to welcome you back to St David's soon.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at the St David's Hotel to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. We were a party of seven and from our check-in the staff helped to make this a very special stay. Unfortunately we did not make a note of the receptionist's name but she was so friendly and personally ensured that the decorations , cake, champagne and flowers were all in place before our daughter arrived ( apologies that we left a few balloons and 21st banners behind!) The hotel is very modern and of interesting architectural design ( a bit like a ship) but with the highest atrium lobby we have seen. The rooms were very clean and modern , each with a balcony overlooking the bay. The spa was well equipped and relaxing. The standard of the food was outstanding and certainly lived up to the hotel's 5 star rating.
We would thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HampshireMito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay for your daughter's 21st birthday. I am so pleased you enjoyed the special occasion and that St David's contributed towards the overall enjoyment. Your kind words have been shared with the tea, again, thank you.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed here with my daughter as we had tickets to see the Britains Got Talent auditions.
The lobby is quite stark and lacks comfort but the reception staff made up for this, a special mention to Laura who went that extra mile to make us feel welcome.
The room was fine although the bathroom lacks the modern feel of the room and needs updating. Breakfast was good.
I always feel you should take price into account when commenting on star rating, this has a five star rating but doesn't charge five star prices. We got value for money in a clean well designed room with the facilities we needed for our nights stay.
Aiming to return :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickihof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay and your comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My friend and I treated ourselves to a night a way. We were treated very well, the service was excellent and the food in the restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: We were offered an upgrade, take it .We were on the 4th floor with water views. Great spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you and your friend enjoyed your special treat and hope to welcome you both back to St David's soon.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We have just returned from a Saturday night stay at St. David
We really enjoyed our stay with everyone from check-in to check out extremely polite and helpful. I agree with some other reviewers about a few things:-
1. No privacy or chairs on balconies is disappointing
2. Aircon a little noisy
3. Bathrooms Ok but not 5 star
4. Most comfortable bed and pillows ever though
5. Spa area lovely, but again not 5 star
6. Restaurant food and staff were excellent, both for dinner and breakfast

I could go on, but in general we were happy with our stay, and will DEFINITELY be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken on board your comments and will share the same with the team.
I appreciate your comments with regard to balcony furniture: our larger balconies are furnished with tables and chairs however we are unable to furnish the smaller balconies due to health and safety legislation.
I am pleased to read you will "definitely" be returning and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel is good but not that good. The fittings and fixtures were of poor quality for a five star hotel, the decor bland. However the main focus of each and every room was the view which was wonderful. We stayed in the winter which I would not do again as it was very cold and windy on the sea front. It would however be worth staying in the summer months when you could enjoy the bay area much more and make use of your balcony and the lovely views.

The staff were extremely helpful and freindly and the service was excellent (as it was everywhere in Cardiff). Can we import some of these manors and general positivity to North Wales please?

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeahorseWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for your comments which have been taken on board. I am pleased that you enjoyed the unique location of St David's together with the excellent service you received from the team. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps in the summer to enjoy the views to their fullest.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.6 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,394 reviews
2.7 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,446 reviews
2.6 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.9 km away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,516 reviews
1.8 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: C$165 - C$385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing