We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a deluxe rm for husband birthday but wasn't what expected views nice staff friendly but not definitely 5 star possible 4
Carpets are badly stained and worn spent over£300 and that was room only
Which is to expensive and I think prices need re thinking with a meal package

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lighters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for your review. It is regrettable that you were disappointed on this occasion and I wish to offer my apologies. The hotel is currently under a refurbishment programme and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to experience our ongoing investment.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,856)
There are newer reviews for The St. David's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,075 - 3,081 of 3,856 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great location and decent view but best hotel in Wales - no way. 5* I would debate. Its more like a decent 3*.

Rooms are OK but that's about it.

Spa is awful. Grubby, run-down. To be honest, its like being in your local leisure centre pool.

Worst thing is breakfast. Completely awful. Food uncooked or burnt. Items missing or run out. 'Selection of meats and cheeses' means one salami, one cheese BTW. Had better at travelodge if I'm honest. Not worth £2.50 let alone £18.50.

And this £2.50 credit card charge. Does a 5* hotel really need to screw another few quid from its customers? Make sure you've got cash to pay the £8 for the car park or it'll be £2.50 extra.

Again, travelodge don't charge extra and I don't think poundstretcher do either......

Room Tip: Dont bother with a junior suite - its a 3ft bigger room with a settee behind a curtain.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulfoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for your review. I can confirm that a new breakfast offering goes live on Saturday 9th June but in the meantime apologise for your disappointment with the current standard. I refute your comments regarding our Marine Spa but have noted your comments with regard to the credit card charge which will be passed on appropriately.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were warmly greeted by the doorman but the guy on reception didn't continue with the warm charm. Instead we felt like we were an inconvenience to him.
The rooms themselves are spacious but the bathroom looks a little dated and I was surprised that the curtains weren't thicker... early in the morning the sun was shining and the room was really light and woke us up! The best thing about the room has to be the stunning views.
The next day when we went down for breakfast, we wondered what to expect and we weren't disappointed. The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly... they certainly made up for the guy on reception.
During our stay, we checked out the spa and it is well worth a visit. We went about 8pm 7pm on a Friday night and it was very quiet, perfect timing as it felt like it was our own spa!!
From the outside the hotel looks a little dated and it needs a clean.
The location: It is a short walk to the shops and restaurants in the Bay and it took approx half an hour to walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisaJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the Marine Spa, the views and breakfast. Your further comments have been noted. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to St David's in the near future.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel is just stunning . We were attending a wedding at the hotel and we stayed for 2 nights .
The room had panoramic views of Cardiff Bay and the Penarth Coastline . Complete Luxury from the time we arrived my car was unloaded and all our belongings Delivered to our Room . My car was Parked for me so a very special experience .
The wedding was fantastic and both the food and service was what you would expect from a hotel of this style .i particularly liked the full English Breakfast .
Well done St David's .Fist Class Hotel and brilliant Staff . A special mention for Anna Griffiths who took very special care of us .
Mr S Gape & Family

Room Tip: Ask for room with glass walls for best views of Bay
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevemuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for your review, your kind words have been shared with the team. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us whilst attending the wedding. We hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

great hotel very friendly staff keen to please , the rooms are very nice but what makes them fabulous is the views over the bay either back towards the city or out accross to penarth and the sea locks , you have your own private balcony to use , room was very clean and laid out well , has good air con , quite construction makes noise travel limited , nice touch on arrival a selection of hand made chocks and real local mini welsh cakes, the shop that makes then is about 500 yards away well worth a visit mmmmmmm lol , sorry got lost there, the spa was wonderful after a long day being dragged round a very good shopping centre , pool , spa baths, hydro massage and suana all part of the room price , you have a private lift from your floor to the spa and are give a nice bath robe and slippers to wear , the showers are stocked with good quality pampering products (molten brown)? i am told these are good by she who knows ,, breakfast was good nicely done well stocked and fresh, the only down side was the top class resturaunt !! its not the food i thought was very poor for this type of hotel , and very expensive for the quality of the meals no more than average results ,i mentioned this to reseption when we left and was told they would ask the chef about the few things i was not happy about, ,,, but supprise i never heard back from them disapointing realy as it took the edge off a realy nice two night break

Room Tip: get rooms higher up the better for the views and as far away from the enterance the better to be nea...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gshockxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and all that St Davi's has to offer. I have noted your comments regarding the restaurant.
I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Time and rate:
I stayed for 1 night from 26th - 27th May in an executive double, because it was the only room left. The rate was double of their usual rate, so the rate was quite high, even for a 5 star hotel, but it was the weekend, and we booked only a few days prior. If you have the time, book in advance on the Principal Hayley website to save yourself a fortune.

Location:
The hotel is located at the tip of Cardiff Bay but everything is easily accessible, you can walk out to the Bay for food and drinks in 5 minutes. If you are bringing your car down, you can easily drive to town in 10 minutes. There are also plenty of buses in the bay area that can take you to town, taxi shouldn't cost too much as well. Around 10 - 15 pounds approx will definitely get you there. Cardiff is quite compact so most of the attractions are within a 2 - 3 mile radius. (Based on my 4 year living experience in Cardiff)

Parking:
St David's has about 60 - 65 parking spaces, when we went it was full. However, we found a spot in the council car park (Havannah St car park) right next to the hotel car park, there are plenty of spaces there and cheaper than the hotel car park anyways. Hotel car park charges 8 pounds per 24 hours, council car park was 5 pounds (if I remember correctly). It makes no difference whether if it is the hotel car park or council car park. They are directly next to each other, and quite secure.

Room:
The room to be honest, did not feel like a five star room even in an executive double. I have stayed in 5 star hotels with much better interiors than that. I can only give the room an unbiased 4 star. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom is average sized. However, the magic of St David's lies in its spa facilities, especially the pool, and its location right by the bay, especially during the summer. You can sit out on the balcony with a beer and work on your tan, whilst enjoying the views of the bay.

The spa:
Good sized gym room with treadmills, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay as you exercise. Outside of the gym room is a small lounge area with light refreshments, water, juice, tea and coffee. There are a good number of treatment rooms about 10 of them. They also use Thalgo products which is nice. I would advise you to book in advance for any treatments if you are going on a weekend, as St David's gets very full as it is renowned in the area as a good place for treatments. I made the mistake of not having booked in advance.

The pool:
The pool was the best bit about St David's, the swimming pool was a good size to do lengths in. Then there are two relaxation pools, one huge jacuzzi which is enough to sit 10 people, very powerful jets, good for those with bad backs !! The other small pool has 3 jets which can massage neck and shoulders.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was average, it was about a 3 - 4 star quality hotel breakfast not exactly 4 star. Fruit juice was a bit sweet, tasted artificial. You get all the usual suspects in the breakfast and nothing more. Cereal, a little variety of fruits, continental breakfast, coffee and tea.

Overall, it was a really good trip as it was the first week of summer sun in the UK. Everyone in town went down to the Bay it was jam packed and had a carnival like atmosphere. The weather definitely made the stay at St David's a lot better and allowed us to enjoy walking around the area and sitting on the balcony. But do book in advance as if you ask me if St David's was worth 200 pounds upwards for a night is worth it, I would say no. I would pay only 120 - 150 if it was up to me. But I would definitely recommend St David's to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahhhhh_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the views and our spa facilities. I hope to welcome you back to St David's again soon.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

St David's is famed in Cardiff as (a) upmarket, (b) stunningly located and (c) expensive. As a Cardiff resident, I'd never been until my best friend and I decided to stay for some pampering, celebrating our birthday.
It's an icon building with its 'sails' roof, and we were thrilled with our room, which has a panoramic view of the barrage and Penarth. We were in a 'deluxe' room so, I suspect, a little bigger than standard. We had a bottle of fizz and chocolates as part of the package, both of which were lovely, but no fridge (you can get ice from room service).
The big attraction here is the pool and spa, which was indeed very nice, with a sauna, jacuzzi, jet showers and a lazy river. We had a massage and pedicures (and a happy half hour waiting for our nails to dry while we watched gulls catching fish out in the bay!)
One weakness: the restaurant. Again, the setting can't be faulted - beautiful views around the bay give you a 'holiday' feeling, enhanced by the late-May heatwave during our visit. But we both thought our evening meal was 'just ok'. We tried the poussin and a cod dish with (underwhelming) risotto. Definitely not at the 'cheffy' end of the spectrum and we felt it didn't live up to the environment. (breakfast was better). My advice: if you don't have dinner as part of a package, skip it and stroll across to Woods Brasserie or ffresh (at the Wales Millennium Centre) instead - both are fantastic and you'll get more bangs per buck.
Overall? It's worth it as a treat, if you're going to make good use of the spa facilities and the views.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you both enjoyed your experience with us at St David's. Your comments regarding dinner have been noted and will be discussed with my Executive Chef. I hope we can welcome you back to St David's in the near future.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.6 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
2.6 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
2.7 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.9 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $136 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing