We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break for my Father's birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Fantastic location with outstanding views and lovely,helpful staff but nearer 4 star than 5. If it was in an ordinary location it would not rate 5 stars........maybe 4.5! Spa nice but not exceptional, same for breakfast but very nice rooms with stunning views and we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: all rooms have a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathi572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear kathi572013,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your Fathers Birthday. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the unique views that the position offers.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,409 - 1,415 of 3,989 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Hubby booked as surprise for our 40th wedding anniversary - Room pleasant enough - robes and towels disappointingly grey and hard .Breakfast service poor - clearing own plates as table too small to continue courses - 25 minute wait for poached eggs - although set up debit card at reception still asked to pay for drinks - all in all not a 5 star experience - better quality hotels locally at half the price - disappointing

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank grandmamcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear grandmamcbride,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am disappointed to read that you did not experience the high levels of service and comfort that we usually deliver to all our guests. I assure you that your comments will be passed to the relevant managers for any training needed.

It is company policy not to allow room charging when a debit card has been left on the room account due to current fraud protection laws. A debit card is not protected against unauthorized transactions, and so to avoid and chance of this, we cannot charge to debit cards without the guest present.

We hope to be welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Visited here as a special break away with my partner after a stressful few months. I feel as though I have wasted a whole £130 on a room at this hotel. It was nothing special compared to a premier Inn only extra was the view and a ipod docking system which I don't own. The room itself wasn't anything special it was the same size as a standard premier Inn room. There was a balcony with a view over the bay which was the only thing I guess good about the room. There was an old leather recliner as well which was well worn. There was tea and coffee facilities but it was standard no extras you would expect for a 5 star such as I would expect a coffee pod machine for the price I'm paying. I have stayed in 4 star facilities which are cleaner and offer more for the money you pay. Breakfast was £18.50 I was definately not going to pay that much. There was better places down Cardiff Bay to eat. Room service also expect you to pay an extra £5 tray charge. Car park is also £15 which is a stupid price to pay. The spa wasn't much good either which ridiculous prices and not much there to offer such as in some spas there are steam rooms, ice rooms etc they don't have that here. Overall I just feel I have been robbed for my money which I work hard to earn especially to afford a place like this.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank emz91_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2015

Dear emz91_12,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations in regards of the room, breakfast, spa facilities and car parking. I shall discus your comments with our team here at St David's.

Kind regards


Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Some good, some bad, some great.

GOOD: the bathrooms are big, wonderful bathtub, the bed was wonderful and it was a beautiful building.

BAD: I felt like the staff has been directed to be pompous. I met some really nice and helpful staff but the "sir" and "ma'am" came off as disingenuous and distancing. Also the restaurant of overpriced, they attempted to charge us for something they told us was free, and there was a sculpture of buttcheeks (no joke) in our bathroom. I would rather feel welcomed than status. I would rather have friendly, jovial staff than one that tries make me feel like I'm a "guest at a fancy hotel." Like I said, I got the sense that the staff are nice and friendly people but that they've been directed to create that environment. This may sound very critical ... but I still marked the hotel 4-stars as it was not an overwhelming sensation, and all the good points outshine this.

GREAT: OMG, the location is awesome! You can not beat the location. And it was a relaxing place to stay with great nuances like the tea, the towel elephant, and soft bed. The view was unparalleled.


It was truly a great hotel.

Room Tip: Don't eat in the restaurant. They told us the breakfast is free, then charged is $70 ($35 per p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear David E,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Am delighted that you St David's to be a "Truly Great Hotel" and thank you for your feedback regarding the manner of our staff. It is important to us that the staff are highly polite and courteous, yet friendly and approachable.

With regards to the "buttcheeks" in the bathroom, these were part of the original interior design concept and we are currently undergoing refurbishment of the rooms, when these are being removed.

We hope to be welcoming you back to St David's ion the future.

Kind Regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We booked a suite since we were travelling with our son. When I first called to book I was told that I would have to book two rooms since no additional bed could be put in the room. Since I was not happy with this, I asked to speak to the hotel directly. They of course said that we could have an extra bed in our suite to accommodate a child. The suite wasn't really big enough for an additional bed though, so we were a bit cramped. We also had to pay for the extra bed!! It was a lovely corner room with great views, and a balcony - although the balcony was covered in cobwebs with flies caught in them, really needed sweeping. I would consider this to be an average sized room, definitely not my idea of a suite. We recently stayed in a hotel with a much larger room, which was not a suite. Other down sides were paying £15 a night for parking, and children under 16 only allowed to use the pool between 10-12am and 3-6pm. The hotel staff were polite and attentive. Wouldn't bother staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear LadyEJ,

Thank you for posting your review.

I am sorry that you experienced difficulties during your initial booking process with central reservations and glad to read that when contacting the hotel direct, these were sorted out for you.

I am sorry that you found your Junior Suite to be cramped when adding an extra bed to the room. Unfortunately, due to the original design of the hotel, we do not offer specific family rooms.

The child swimming time in the spa are there to try and ensure that all our guests are catered for and have a comfortable experience. These timings are currently under review.

I am glad to see that you found the staff to be polite and attentive, and we truly do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Ours was a daytime group visit to the spa. We loved the spa and pool, particularly the standing and horizontal warm jets. This hotel is unique in that it has great views over to the marina, bay and the marshland that has visiting flocks of birds and ducks. The views are breathtaking in all weathers. The lunch was good quality wraps in a bento style box.

The other advantage is that even with visiting hen parties on a Saturday, these feel less intrusive than other spas.

A negative point but not insubstantial one is that the quality of the treatments were mixed, some were good and others by too new therapists.

Due to prices paid for these, these could be consistently better, examples being the facial is done without a hairband to separate hair from the face. Heated electric blankets left on, baking on a warm day, client should be asked, other rooms aircon cold without sufficient covers. No pillows around to prop up knees or under tummy when face down for those that need them. The main thing was the massages - feedback from our group was variable - ineffectual to very good.

It may help management to give out review forms to spa clients so they can gauge feedback and maintain consistency.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
Thank Grecophile2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear Grecophile2011,

Thank you for taking the time to post you review.

I am glad to read that on the whole you enjoyed your experience. I shall ensure that your concerns regarding inconsistency with the treatments is passed to the Spa Manager for investigation.

We hope to welcome you back to St David's in the near future.

Kind Regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Hotel was lovely breakfast was fantastic it was really comfortable bed and yes I would stay there again and I would recommend it but I also like people to be aware that you have to pay £15 for parking for your car which they did not tell me till I arrived

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 82mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear 82mick,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and found the breakfast to be fantastic. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.6 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,358 reviews
2.7 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,418 reviews
2.6 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.8 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,243 reviews
1.9 km away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $145 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing