We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room needed an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed here for a long weekend during the summer. We were excited as we'd booked one of the suites which looked amazing on the website. Unfortunately, when we arrived at the hotel we were disappointed by the high cost of parking per day.. £20 which after paying a high price for our room, was an unnecessary addition.

The staff were lovely, particularly the concierge. Our room had stunning floor to ceiling windows which looked across the bay, and the balcony was nice to sit out on. Despite this, for the price we paid, we felt as though the room needed an upgrade although it seems they are in the process of this but hadn't reached our room yet. Annoying as it should have been reflected in the price.

Overall we enjoyed the stay and would visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Georgia H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry you found the parking fee for £20 both the hotel car park and pay and display car park is £15 per night this is applied to ensure parity for all guests, due to the limited amount of parking spaces we have to offer. If we were to offer complimentary or discounted parking to residents, or even include it in the room rate, it would penalise guests that are unable to get into our car park, and would therefore have to pay for parking in the public car park next door. This is why the parking charges mirror the overnight charges of the public car park. This car parking charge is also lower than many of our city centre 4* competitors.

Regarding your comments with the bedroom I am delighted to mention we have almost completed the Restaurant renovations and we will soon be embarking on all of our bedrooms.

I do hope you will come back and stay on another occasion.

Kind Regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 4,029 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Checked in for one night with my Grandson when we went to the Dr Who Experience, which is only about a 20 minute casual walk away. From the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be a good choice. The check in was smooth and efficient and the staff extremely helpful. The Room, a double with twin beds, was spacious with a balcony and wonderful views of Mermaid Bay. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for refurbishment. However, we had a very pleasant meal in the Tempus Room, where, once again, the staff were extremely helpful. We would certainly stay there again without a moments hesitation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank KeithCWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear KeithCWilliamson,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is quite clear to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on every level. Your positive comments will be passed onto all departments.

We look forward to your return very soon and welcome you to our new restaurant which will re-open this coming weekend.

Kind Regards
Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel. We had a suite and loved it. The staff were pleasant throughout and it was a very relaxed and tranquil place. The food was lovely and I can't fault it. Made use of the spa. Highly recommend it!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank acnewman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear acnewman1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is quite clear to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on every level. Your positive comments will be passed onto all departments.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Decided to check in for a 1 night treat as we live half hour away and we were not disappointed. Very nice reception and welcome on arrival, good value room with great views, a nice balcony and a beautiful comfy bed. We spent an hour in the spa which was enjoyable and relaxing before hitting the bars and restaurants of Cardiff bay. Great location with shops, bars and restaurants and seasonal attractions, most enjoyable.
Breakfast was very good, a fine selection on offer with good staff at hand followed by another hour in the spa before departure. A lovely stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank XtotheZ X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear XtotheZ X,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is quite clear to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on every level. Your positive comments will be passed onto all departments.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for business at the beginning of August and I could not have been happier. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the rooms were spotless and very lovely. The balcony had a brilliant view however it would have been nice to have a chair to sit on! The bathroom was very clean and the toiletries were sufficient. The food was small but tasty. Breakfast was very good also with a good choice of continental and British options. The only downside I would say was the car parking - if you're paying a lot to stay in the hotel I believe the parking at £15 is rather expensive for hotel guests. If I was staying with family this would be something I would have to consider first.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank welshtraveller1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear welshtraveller1080,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to read such a positive review whilst staying with us for business and I am delighted that the food, room and service met with your approval. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the whole team, as I know they get great encouragement from words such as yours.

I do hope you will come back and see us on another occasion.

Kind regards


Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Can't recommend this place enough! Friendly staff, rooms slightly dated but clean and fine, balcony views of the bay are great, and the pool / hot tub is an experience not-to-miss!

5 min walk to the arena area, 20 minute walk to city center (25 or so to Cardiff castle).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jeremyw652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear jeremyw652,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.

It is quite clear to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on every level. Your positive comments will be passed onto all departments.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely view would be disappointing if you didnt have a balcony. Spa, staff and breakfast were nice just perfect for a 4 star hotel which is what it is really. Parking charges are somewhat unreasonable and the management argument that they have a small car park is a little ridiculous as they could fine a way to compensate you if you parked at one of the council car parks opposite.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank OlearyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear OlearyK,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Regarding the parking the £15 charge is applied to overnight guests to ensure parity for all guests, due to the limited amount of parking spaces we have to offer. If we were to offer complimentary or discounted parking to residents, or even include it in the room rate, it would penalise guests that are unable to get into our car park, and would therefore have to pay for parking in the public car park next door. This is why the parking charges mirror the overnight charges of the public car park. This car parking charge is also lower than many of our city centre 4* competitors.

I do hope you will come back and stay on another occasion.

Kind Regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.6 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,394 reviews
2.7 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,446 reviews
2.6 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.9 km away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,516 reviews
1.8 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $164 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing