We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff .....”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 August 2006

My wife and I spent a night here after an evening out in the city centre.

On the plus side; the staff were excellent, from Matthew at check-in to the concierge when we departed. We treated ourselves to a Junior Suite, which was very clean and spacious. Lovely large bathroom. Lovely views over the civic centre from our room which is in the front. A very nice buffet breakfast. We didn't eat in the restaurant, so we can't comment on that.

On the minus side; the bed was extremely hard, there were no bathrobes as advertised, reception on the tv was very poor, a nasty looking stain on the bedspread.

Having said all that, we would have no hesitation in staying there again, as the location is perfect and as mentioned, the staff were among the most friendliest and effecient we have encountered at any hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fugazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,107 - 3,113 of 3,222 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2006

My husband & I booked last minute and were lucky enough to have an executive room. The reasonable rate (for a 5* hotel) included continental breakfast and the use of the executive lounge (free soft drinks before 5pm and free alchohol after 5pm) . The room was on the sixth floor, but as the lounge was being re-furbished, we had to use a temporary lounge on the 1st floor without the views. This was dissapointing. The bedroom was lovely, nice comfy bed, all the usual mod cons. The bathroom was big, with a very large shower and was absolutely spotless - no mildew anywhere, which was a pleasant change from some 5* hotels we have stayed at.

We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, but went down to Cardiff Bay to a wonderful Italian Restaurant. The breakfast at the hotel, however, was good and the service excellent.

The hotel is in a good location opposite the castle and just 2 mins walk to the shops. The train to / from cardiff bay is handy or you can take a taxi from the hotel.

Valet parking does cost £13/day but as we parked the car and left it there for our complete stay, we felt it was worth it - less hassle than trying to find alternative overnight parking in Cardiff.

I made use of the pool and gym, both of which were of a good standard and very clean.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hilton and would like to return when the new executive lounge is completed. The staff were friendly, helpful, and we found the entire hotel spotlessly clean . Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Dixie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2006

I know for fact that the Hotel is actually not a 5 star property , it is only 5 star based under the Welsh tourism act - which there for allows the Hilton to use the 5 star status .
The Hotel itself is not owned by Hilton , it is a franchise - it is owned by Cardiff International airport .

This is a hotel cutting back on budget , and if you are used to quality standards etc,, you will notice this .
The rooms are very dated and need to be done !
The restaurant is also dated - yet the food is very good , the breakfast price is not extortionate as some would think , tell me where you can find cheaper for Hilton ? The car park is £13 , again valet parking is expected to be that , yes the carpark is down the road , so why bother asking the staff to get your car for simple things you need to get , its a mission , you eithier take all your stuff with you to your room , or it is quicker and easier for yuorself to pop down to the carpark by foot .

Reception area is smart and efficiant , the gym is small yet equiped - the steam bar is totaly overated as premier veneue in Cardiff when its not , the piano bar is small yet nice .
The ballroom is not really a ballroom yet its a function room , as its completely carpeted ?

not bad , but not 5 star folks ! ;)

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank vivalsso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

My boyfriend and I booked 2 nights (fri and sat) via lastminute (-). We had an executive room which means that it includes continental breakfast and use of the lounge (free soft drinks before 5pm and free alcholol after 5pm!) and also these rooms are on the sixth floor, so less street noise.

The rooms was lovely, nice comfy bed, all the usual mod cons. The bathroom is big, with a very large shower. For such a good size shower though it was dissappointing to have the kind of shower in there that you would normally find over a bath - it should have had an amazing power shower to impress. Also, the shower area had mildrew - not what you should expect from a true 5 star hotel.

Our rate included evening meal. The service in the restuarant was very good. Attentive and polite staff. Needless to say that although dinner is included, drinks are not and I think the cheapest bottle of wine is about £22.00.

The hotel was quite busy when we stayed and both nights there was a wedding reception going on. The first night this was Ok but on the sat night the wedding guests were abit rough around edges, but that cant be blamed on the hotel!

The hotel is in a good location opposite the castle and just 2 mins walk to the shops. You can catch a bus to cardiff bay from outside the hotel, its well worth the visit for a nice lunch - its all restuarants.

One annoying aspect I thought was that the valet parking meant that you couldnt just pop to your car to get something out of it. You had to call for the car to be brought up and then taken back down the road again to the carpark - so make sure you take everything up to your room that you will need. Parking costs £13/day.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knieval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2006

The Hilton certainly has all the facilities of a 5*, but it was all a bit rough around the edges. The windows in the room didn't open and the aircon wasn't very good so the room was uncomfortably warm. The shower was on the cold side, the tv was ancient and the prices were outrageous. I know it's 5*, but charging £17.50 for breakfast is taking the [--]!

On the plus side, for £84 it was a fantastic room, the bathroom was huge and the bed superb. Oh, but they did charge us £5 for something from the minibar that we didn't have as well.

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank bj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

We have just returned from a weekend in Cardiff. We chose to stay at the Hilton. It is very central to everything, being right across the road from the castle. If you also want to visit the bay (recommended) you can catch the no6 "baycar" bus right outside the hotel. Our room was of a high standard, but not luxurious. However, it did have a fantastic bathroom. There is a spa and large indoor pool too, although we never made use of this. The buffet breakfast was included in our rate. Had it not been, I would have found it very expensive for what it was. The food was just OK, but really nothing special. One evening we ate at Razzi, the hotel restaurant. In contrast that was good. Food plentiful, and cooked well. We both treated ourselves to three courses and both like everything we had. If you are visiting Cardiff and want to be very central and in a nice modern hotel, this is the one you should choose.

Stayed: June 2006
8  Thank Hal93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2006

Although only staying for one night, we had an enjoyable stay at the Hilton Cardiff. We had booked a standard room for a good value rate of £84 per night (inc. taxes - a Friday night stay) On arrival at the hotel (which was hindered slightly by the road layout we were allocated a large room with sitting area and a big bathroom. The room was clean and very comfortable, with good noise insulation and a comfy king bed. We didn't eat in the hotel. We used the swimming pool which was very good, located indoors with a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The hotel is very well located for the centre. My only criticism of the hotel was that I found the cost of valet parking (£13) a bit steep. I would recommend this hotel to others, and stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UKTAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,333 reviews
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,889 reviews
0.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,174 reviews
0.7 km away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $97 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing