We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Steven
Victoria, Canada

A return trip.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 12, 2024
I had stayed here several years ago, so I knew what the hotel is like. No surprises! The hotel lobby is upstairs from the street level, & there is no lift in the hotel. The decor was dated, but the room was clean & I think the bed was new as it was extremely comfortable. There was a decent cooked breakfast available on the weekends only. The hotel is well located, about a seven minute walk from the train station.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: There are lots of bars, pubs, and restaurants all located near the hotel.
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review
Responded May 13, 2024
Thank you Steven for making a return visit to us.
We really appreciate it and enjoyed seeing you again.
Hopefully we shall welcome you in the future as well.
Kind regards, Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$116
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$143
  • Expedia.com
    C$146
0.1 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$87
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
C$69
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior
C$140
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$112
  • Expedia.com
    C$116
0.3 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$143
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Novotel
    C$105
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$95
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$83
  • Expedia.com
    C$104
1.7 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • ibis Budget
    C$55
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$51
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,196)
Filter reviews
1,196 results
Traveller rating
383
476
217
62
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
383
476
217
62
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift city centre trouser press millennium stadium rooms are basic bit dated single room plenty of hot water train station street noise few minutes walk comfortable room top floor would stay again fantastic location night's sleep tea and coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,196 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2024

Stayed at the Sandringham at the weekend with my husband, both of us was impressed with the place.
This is one of the best hotels in Cardiff central. The staff are very welcoming, and warm, the breakfast was tasty, rooms were warm and comfy.
I stay at the Sandringham when attending business as it's central I always feel safe. Excellent place, cant fault it.

Room tip: Close to all amenities, pubs and restaurants, great location
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2024

Thank you Janet for your brilliant review which we are delighted to receive. It is always a pleasure to see you cariad 😊. Alison asked me to say thank you as well and to send you both her best wishes.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2024 via mobile

This hotel is situated in Cardiff city centre but is particularly well placed for the Principality Stadium. This is not a modern chain like hotel but more an independently run one with very friendly staff. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable. En suite was a little dated but very clean with complimentary toiletries provided. Breakfast is only served at weekend but their “full Welsh” sets you up for the day staff in the dining room and in reception were incredibly friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again, if visiting Cardiff; and would book direct rather than use a booking agency!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2024

Thank you so much Mike for writing so positively about us. I really appreciate it.
It was a wonderful atmosphere in Cardiff on the weekend you stayed and I am glad we have been part of it.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2024

After needing to cancel due to an op earlier in the year,the booking was changed to a later date.Correpondence for requests are excellent and every attempt is made to accomadate needs,mine being a lower room.Everything you need for a comfortable stay and breakfast was delicious for an extra £7.It is on a busy street so expect some noise especially on a Saturday night but didn't affect sleep.The staff are so helpful and being a solo traveller,I felt extremely safe.Will definitly book again.Thank you.

Room tip: No evening meal but plenty of establishm.ents to get a snack meal in the vicinity.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynjefftfg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to write so nicely about us. I really appreciate it.
It was an absolute pleasure for us to welcome you and great to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2024 via mobile

Well located for all the attractions . 2 minutes from the Fabulous Castle. The same goes for one of the museums. The staff were friendly. Being in the town you must expect some level of noise. So maybe get a room to the back. Bed was comfortable sleept ok. Everyone friendly

Room tip: If your not able to do the stairs then it's not for you
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 276cinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2024

Thank you very much for the review and for choosing to stay with us.
Hopefully we shall welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2024

We love this hotel, it's in the centre of Cardiff and near the central train station. We stay in room 108 which is a family room but gives us the space we like. It's such a fab room for the money we pay, such good value. The staff are very friendly. No breakfast in the week but there is a Wetherspoons nearby. We have already booked again for later in the year.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2024

What a beautiful review to receive. Thank you so much for writing it. We try our best. It is great knowing that guests love staying with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews