We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder place to stay in Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, NH USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonder place to stay in Cardiff”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a great place to stay when visiting Cardiff. Just a short walk (through the park) to the castle and downtown area. The room was wonderful and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and a perfect way to start the day. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cardiff

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    173
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
107
382
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Lovely hotel. Nice decor. Lots of character. Excellent breakfast - really superb. Good, cosy room, nicely decorated. Lovely sitting room. The only thing that stops me giving this a 5 rating is that the staff werent quite as helpful as they could have been. But thats all - otherwise I thought it was superb, and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terark99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lincoln House Hotel in Cardiff. The service was excellent, the room and ensuite shower room immaculate and the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts we had were really good with the opportunity to try Welsh fare. We left the car in the hotel's car park and walked into the town along the river. There were plenty of places to eat, things to do and walks to embark upon. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeyore9959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The positive points about this hotel are that it is in a good - (easy to reach by car) area of Cardiff, next to Bute Park. It offers a free secure car park, excellent breakfast and has friendly staff. We had a good sized, quiet room which was very clean with a comfortable king-sized bed. However having read other reviews, I was rather disappointed by the interior decoration of the hotel. Although the wallpaper was of good quality and looked new, the room furniture was a bit battered, fixtures and soft furnishings were all rather drab and the 1970s bathroom was desperately in need of a refurb - although as I said it was all very clean. The lounge and bar were also very dark and old fashioned, and although I want to say that I loved the place, because it is obviously cared for, I'm afraid I found the premises rather dark and depressing. However I still think that it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet as they are not on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cardiff. It is an amazing little place with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable with everything you need. Breakfast was amazing with the staff happy to accommodate to our needs. I took my mum there for the night on a holiday from Australia to England for a break and we had a great time. I have stayed in many hotels across the world travelling and for the price this hotel is hands down one of the best I have ever stayed in.
Thank you for making our visit enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had room 309 it over looked the road and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Excellent hotel,friendly staff, clean throughout would definatly recommend this hotel .Breakfast was delightfull with alot of choice. Bedroom and bathroom were immaculate.This hotel is close to cardiff city centre with just a short walk .Will definatly stay again as turned up early to find our room ready so we were able to check in sraight away with no hanging about .Thanks for a great stay .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Had two nights in four poster room. Very clean well furnished room with comfortable bed. Super breakfast, attentive and approachable staff. Very much enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation staying there again. Was overall excellent choice for our short stay in the city while attending wedding. Located only a short walk from city centre, with easy acess to dining/shopping areas.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cnp_swp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.5 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,260 reviews
1.3 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,128 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,107 reviews
3.4 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Property: Lincoln House Private Hotel
Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing