We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had an excellent weekend in Cardiff based here.

Location is terrific for the city centre shops and the museum and art gallery are an easy stroll from the hotel. The restaurant and bars of Cardiff Bay are only an inexpensive taxi ride away.

Hotel itself was clean and friendly with all the things you would expect from this grade of hotel.

Only woe was the price of the car parking, c'mon guys, no need for that given what it costs to stay.

Over I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boo-yeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
There are newer reviews for Cardiff Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

A friend and myself stayed here for one night 4th February. The room had 2 double beds which was great. Lovely view of the town from the 10th flooor.
The check in was very smooth and very professional staff. We were there to celebrate our birthdays and it was my friends birthday that day. The lady on reception did say I hope you enjoyed your birthdays but that was it. I feel it wouldn't take much top add a little card and maybe cupcake to the room? But maybe they have 100's of birthdays all the time? Also I asked for a quiet room and our room looked out on 3 night clubs? which were noisy! surely the other side of the building would have been better?
Breakfast was lovely and run very well. There were plenty of tables and loads of food even at 10.30am on a Sunday morning!
All in all though a great hotel a few minutes from the station, next to John Lewis, next to a host of places to eat and the huge shopping centres.
I would stay here again. Well done Marriott Cardiff

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa-who-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Super convenient location for a city break. Great location for shopping or the stadium.A nice walk to Cardiff Bay.Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was good ,warm and comfortable on a very cold weekend. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. yet again the staff were very polite and helpful and constantly checked if we needed more coffee or tea.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beechnut_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights over the weekend of the 27th, 28th January. We were lucky to find we had been put in an executive room on the 9th floor which gave an excellent view over Cardiff towards the Castle

The room was warm, clean and very comfortable with a huge bed. The bathroom was clean and just what is required.

The staff in the main were very friendly and helpful apart from one housekeeper who took it onto herself to query my husband getting off at the 9th floor. She obviously didn't think he looked like he should be in an executive room.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for it's location and facilities.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors have less problems with the noise from outside at night
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallywt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Staying for a business trip I found the hotel easily from the station - a five minute walk.

Reception was efficient ensuring a speedy check in, and knowledgeable about local area helping guide me to a good Thai restaurant - Thai House.

Room was ample and very clean, bed comfortable, could make out the rumble of trains from the nearby mainline but not too badly.

Annoyed that broadband (by cable) was an added charge and there was no Wi-Fi....this is 2012 after all.

Gym was great, more than enough bikes, treadmills etc and the pool was very good, large enough for a decent swim for a change. Sauna and Steam rooms.

Breakfast was a buffet so I had no problem making a quick exit in the morning.

Checkout was as efficient as check in. Thank you Marriott.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

INTRODUCTION
Booked 2 nights as I was visiting Cardiff for a couple of concerts. Thought I'd book the Marriott as an extra treat as it's more expensive than the hotels I usually stay at. I'll go into more detail below, but my overall impression is that the hotel is doing the minimum it can get away with in most areas. Nothing was really awful, but nothing was spectacularly brilliant either.
RECEPTION
I was allowed to check-in early which was good - I expected to have to just leave my bags and check-in later when I returned. Reception staff were OK, but efficient rather than warm and welcoming. I was given incorrect information about local transport by two different Reception staff.
ROOM
A very nice room with comfortable bed and pillows. Usual Freeview TV channnels. Everything clean and tidy. Hospitality tray and toiletries sufficient but not generous. Anybody with mobility difficulties would struggle to have a shower as the bath was raised and it was quite a step into the bath (and I'm 6'2"). Given the location of the hotel and that it is quite modern, I would have expected some thought to have been given to sound-proofing and double glazing. Unfortunately this is not the case. Music from local bars and noise from traffic and drunks clearly audible in room, making it difficult to sleep. On Friday night the noise continued until well after 3 in the morning. I suggest asking for a room on a high floor. I don't know if all rooms have the same problem, but avoid odd-numbered rooms above number 11 on any floor in any case!
FOOD
Had breakfast on both mornings and evening meal on one night. The breakfast buffet was a pretty basic mixture of cooked and continental. Nothing special but OK. I was hoping for a little better from this class of hotel. eg mushrooms and tomatoes on alternate mornings but not both at the same time, and no black pudding. Fruit salad heavy on apple and orange but low on melon. Tired looking ham and cheese selection. Coffee rather weak. Staff in restaurant were good. Evening meal had a choice of set menu or a la carte. Decent selection over all - decided on 2 course set. Starter was fine, if rather under-seasoned. Main course was poor - greasy sea bass and even greasier potato 'cake'. No idea what the sauce tasted like as it was completely over-powered by the grease and oil.
CONCLUSION
If you can get a good deal and want to be central (5 minutes from railway station and shopping centres) it may be worth considering the hotel. You will need to be careful with room selection if you want to get a good night's sleep and would probably be better off eating out at one of the numerous restaurants near the hotel. I will try a different hotel on my next visit to Cardiff.

Room Tip: Higher the better. Avoid odd numbered rooms above number 11 on any floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel is a stunning hotel with some really great staff that was really helpfully and friendly. They had put me and my dad both with a massive double bed each and the bath tub was like being in a swimming pool. The only problem is that on a saturday the noise from the city centre is quite loud.
Food was brillient and great fitness facilities too

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.1 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $96 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing