We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-23
Hotels.com
US$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-24
Priceline
US$94
US$70
View deal
SAVE US$24
Free cancellation until 21-06-23
Expedia.comUS$90
Trip.comUS$89
ZenHotels.comUS$94
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,680)
Filter reviews
2,680 results
Traveller rating
736
860
591
282
211
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
736
860
591
282
211
Show reviews that mention
All reviews groupon deal cardiff castle opposite the castle three course meal lovely hotel third floor millennium stadium city centre tea and coffee a lovely stay one night stay car parking excellent value for money cooked breakfast principality concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2,680 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great welcome and friendly team. Sadly, the hotel is very very tired, from the no1 hotel in Cardiff.
Room was massive, very tired inside and heating full on too which was unbearable.
Rm 106 faced the rear aircon units which hummed all night and not a lot of sleep.
Bathroom very dated too
Will stay again when it's brought up to a modern standard.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank pcljc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time doing feedback for us.

Kind regards,
Utkarsha Chauhan
Operations Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2021

This was an dinner and stay package booked via groupon.
We have stayed many times at this hotel using the same package- 3 course meal, breakfast and stay.
We had been advised that the meal would be served in the bedroom, which was not a problem as we have never had a disappointing meal here before.
Breakfast was not mentioned prior to the stay we assumed it would be served the same way as the evening meal.

On arrival we checked and was informed breakfast was continental and served in a paper bag on leaving. This was due to there being no chef working at the angel, we quickly explained but we are booked on a dinner package, who would cook our meal? We were told it was a limited menu of simple dishes. I still wonder who was actually employed to cook this? The cleaner, the receptionist?

We explained we were disappointed with the breakfast arrangements as we had booked believing we would get a full English.

We went to the room, they are dated but this is what we expected having stayed here before.

There was no table in the room to eat the 3 course meal at only a dressing table with enough space for one person. I asked at reception where we are supposed to eat the meal and was advised on the bedside tables. Not easy let me tell you!

Moving on to the evening meal, it was poor... in fact we could not eat it. It was basically a microwave lasagne and not even a nice one and a frozen pizza which had a very offensive smell. The only part we could could eat was the dessert. We explained to staff we could not eat the savoury dishes and they said they would pass on this feedback.

For breakfast we ubered in a breakfast from an outside cafe, slightly annoying as we had already paid for breakfast.

On leaving we asked for our continental breakfast which turned out to be an alpen bar, yogurt, apple and chocolate muffin!!

The point to the negative review is do not open and offer half a service but charge the same money, I would if much preferred to have been refunded part the money paid and had no food.

You cannot fulfil a dinner and stay package with no chef.

There has clearly been no thought to the guests expectations ... I will not stay here again for those reasons.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Leopard25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review from your recent stay with us. We take all feedback seriously and am upset to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay. Obviously with current government restrictions in place, there are no indoor venues where food is allowed to be served. Room service is all that is allowed until 17th May 2021. We have informed people who book a stay with us with food that the menu is limited and it is not our usual full menu. These are unusual times for everyone and can assure you that our usual high standard will resume when permitted.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future for an improved stay.
Kind regards,
Darren Kosa-Jones
FOH Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2021

I am very disappointed on this hotel, I don't expect it to be squeaky clean considering the price but the dust all over the appliances, grime down the toilet and all over the taps in the bathroom, gone off milk and no replacement for new, the kettle nor did three of the lamps work in the room so we only had one lamp near the bed. The bath wouldn't fill up as the plug was not in working order. It looked like this room had been left for years and not been checked.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank T9810FWamye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2021

Many thanks for your review from your recent stay with us. We take all feedback very seriously and have flagged your room with our Housekeeping manager as a matter of urgency. I'm sorry to hear you did not find the room clean. Our reception is open 24 hours a day and our team would have been happy to help you at the time of your stay. We would have been more than happy to offer you an alternative room if you would've liked or checked the lighting/lamps/bath plug with you.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future for an improved stay.
Kind regards,
Darren Kosa-Jones
FOH Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2021 via mobile

Very good stay obviously covid rules applied at the time so bar and restaurant not open but they offered room service. Room was clean comfort ble all you needed for a good stay good value for money good location for shopping

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank beverleyn278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and taking your time doing a review for us.

Kind regards,
Utkarsha Chauhan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2021

I've stayed at the Angel so many times [for work] that over the years I must have slept in 70% of the rooms. Its very charming architecturally, with a friendly group of staff who always have time for you. The city centre is ten minutes walk away.
I'm sorry to have to mention one negative though - the mattresses. They're seriously in need of replacement! Quite hard to get a full night's sleep as a result.
But I will still go back there.

Room tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter
Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dudleyphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Darren Kosa-Jones
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews