We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandringham Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
US$112
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$144
US$120
Principal Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The River House(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
519
498
245
66
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
498
245
66
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain scott roomcinema roomcentral locationcomplimentary bottle of winedeluxe roomtrain stationst mary streetcar parklovely hotelexcellent locationhigh streetwould stay againmillennium stadiumstreet noisenice roomhotel barcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2017

An easy and short walk from the Cardiff Railway Station. Check in service, located on the second floor, was efficient and friendly. There is an elevator. The room, located on the fifth floor (facing the city mall) was spacious, clean and warm. The hotel bar tender was friendly and helpful. However it was an extremely restless night's sleep due to the Cardiff's natives performing their late night rituals after quenching their thirsts (which went on for most of the night).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OzTonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

I enjoyed my stay and the breakfast is good but i wouldn't get the extras or the packages on their website again, if you're going to stay just stick to the room price just regret paying for all of the stuff I didn't receive.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

A quick review because it was only a quick stay. Nice hotel, perfectly placed for either the shops or the madness of St Mary Street. There was a little noise during the afternoon (although most of this was just one street drummer playing the same refrain over and over and over and over and over.) There was no noise at night at all (but we were late back anyway.)

Nice breakfast (which would have been even nicer with Black Pudding).) Decent sized room, with comfy beds. Really the only drawback was the bathroom. The one room where you want some light so you can see how decrepit you are in the morning – was in fact so dim you weren’t sure if you were looking at a mirror or a picture of Dorian Gray



But we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Staying in Cardiff for the 1 night on business, booked this hotel direct online and what an absolute bargain I got. In total I paid £63.00, my room was upgraded free of charge, a free bottle of wine was in my room upon arrival, free car parking at the NCP car park across the road was included, and to top it off, breakfast was included!!

Very clean spacious room, biggest bed and television that I have ever seen in a hotel room before! Water, tea, coffee, biscuits all included.

Slept well and ate even better at the buffet the following morning.

Staff warm and welcoming.

Can't fault the hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017

We are regulars and book direct with Scott who sorts out our booking ,always helpful and replies promptly. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Lovely reception staff. Excellent service from Dean and Raff . Treat us very well. We always feel welcome. Hotel is right in the centre .Breakfast is good. We love this hotel. Fantastic shopping centre. Plenty of pubs and restaurants. Royal Hotel is in an excellent position. We will return again. Thank you all.

Room Tip: We always go for a deluxe room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews