We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Terrible experience.

The location is quite central and convenient, but during the weekend drunken idiots on the street will keep you awake.

Old building, the floor is squeaky, if anybody walks in the corridor during the night they'll wake you up.

The bathroom smells like sewer.

Complained with reception, they said they are full and made excuses.

I stayed three nights (Thursday to Sunday). On the last day the room was not cleaned (when I came back at the end of the day the bed was still as I left it, they simply didn't get in the room at all)

After complaining at the reception, Richard told me I have to put out the "please clean the room" sign if I want my room to be cleaned. This would be the first hotel ever to have this policy. In fact, after asking why they did clean the room in the previous days he preferred to shrug his shoulders.

The breakfast is rather poor, some hot breakfast is served (sausages that taste like plastic, some decent bacon, some mushroom that taste like cardboard). Mediocre selection of cheeses (a brie probably from Tesco), same for the pastries. Coffee was the only ok thing.

The prices have been jacked up for some local overhyped event

Room Tip: Please stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoB-LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

This hotel is right in the heart of Cardiff. It made it easy for us to walk to the castle, catch a bus and find somewhere close for meals. I would not call this Hotel classy but it meets the travelers needs and supplies an OK breakfast. Cardiff is party central so choose your room carefully as the noise of a Friday and Saturday night goes until around 4-5 am.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nalpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

My friend and I stayed in this hotel for one night when attending a concert at The Motorpoint Arena.
Location is brilliant as the hotel is right in the heart of the city.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was great and plenty of waiting staff on hand to assist if necessary.
Bar facilities are great.
On returning to the hotel at about 11pm, the front door was locked and it took a long time to be let in.
Was disappointed with room. At first sight we thought the room to be very nice. However, it soon became apparent that the cleaning of the room was not very thorough. There was dust on the floor in the bathroom behind the door (which was very noticeable when you use the toilet) and also in other places. The plug chain was broken. But the worst thing was that, when I unplugged my phone charger from behind the bedside cabinet, I came across a pair of men's boxer shorts!!!!
The tea and coffee making facilities were bizarrely in the walk-in wardrobe! As there was no lighting in the wardrobe, it was quite difficult to see what you're doing! There were no biscuits with the tea/coffee.
The safe is also situated in the wardrobe, but didn't seem to work. We did not mention this to reception, we just decided to do without it. The shower was not easy to adjust.
We could not find any controls for the air conditioning (which was quite noisy) ... but I guess we could have asked in reception about this.
The beds, however, were comfortable and we slept well.
Although I have mentioned a few negative points, I would stay at this hotel again, but I would not class it as a 4* star, I would class it as 3*

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank babbsies2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely clean rooms, linen fresh and bed very comfortable. Quiet room. Bar nicely decorated. Really enjoyed our stay at The Royal again. We had toiletries in our room, which were really nice. We will always use this hotel when visiting Cardiff, a delightful hotel.

Room Tip: We have stayed in different rooms and all have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

An easy and short walk from the Cardiff Railway Station. Check in service, located on the second floor, was efficient and friendly. There is an elevator. The room, located on the fifth floor (facing the city mall) was spacious, clean and warm. The hotel bar tender was friendly and helpful. However it was an extremely restless night's sleep due to the Cardiff's natives performing their late night rituals after quenching their thirsts (which went on for most of the night).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OzTonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I enjoyed my stay and the breakfast is good but i wouldn't get the extras or the packages on their website again, if you're going to stay just stick to the room price just regret paying for all of the stuff I didn't receive.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

A quick review because it was only a quick stay. Nice hotel, perfectly placed for either the shops or the madness of St Mary Street. There was a little noise during the afternoon (although most of this was just one street drummer playing the same refrain over and over and over and over and over.) There was no noise at night at all (but we were late back anyway.)

Nice breakfast (which would have been even nicer with Black Pudding).) Decent sized room, with comfy beds. Really the only drawback was the bathroom. The one room where you want some light so you can see how decrepit you are in the morning – was in fact so dim you weren’t sure if you were looking at a mirror or a picture of Dorian Gray



But we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,362 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.2 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.7 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $69 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing