We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$141
US$105
View deal
SAVE US$36
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$141
US$105
View deal
SAVE US$36
TravelocityUS$105
Orbitz.comUS$105
Trip.comUS$141
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,613)
Filter reviews
1,613 results
Traveller rating
628
573
272
77
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
628
573
272
77
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinema room deluxe room train station westgate street st mary street car park city centre lovely hotel would stay again high street excellent location ironing board reception staff hotel is situated motorpoint arena tea and coffee noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,613 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2020 via mobile

The hotel is in perfect location a few minutes walk from the station ,it's right in the heart of Cardiff lots of pubs and restaurants within a minutes walk .the shopping is fabulous all the main stores within walking distance .all of the staff in the hotel we're very helpful and pleasant.breakfast was perfect lovely and hot due to covid the breakfast was cooked to order but we didn't have to wait long ,the staff in the hotel had covid restrictions spot on ,social distancing was always there all of the staff wore face masks due to covid the staff didn't enter our room during our stay but we only had to ask for anything and it would be given to us well done the royal the room was quiet and clean and I would highly recommend this hotel and if Eva is on duty when you visit ,she is an asset to the hotel fabulous kind lady and very knowledgeable about Cardiff and the hotel

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your positive feedback with regards to our Covid19 safety measures that we have put in place. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2020

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel on the 15th August. (room 704) It was a really lovely stay. The staff are amazing. Thanks to all of you for making our stay so pleasurable. You were all very friendly, helpful and did your upmost to make our stay enjoyable. Sorry I don't know your names but you know who you are.
The Royal is right in the centre of Cardiff. Close to the train station, shops, bars and restaurant's. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need. Breakfast was perfect.
Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexterblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review, and we are so pleased that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2020

Stayed here for a couple of nights; being one of the first guests after the start of the easing of lockdown.

The team have clearly put a LOT of thought into how to make things work in the current circumstances, from calling prior to arrival to sort check in, through plenty of hand sanitiser, to a very helpful guide as to places that will do takeaway food etc.

The hotel itself was great. Incredibly convenient for Cardiff Central station and for the Civil Justice Centre, as well as a wander up to the castle.

The breakfast was fantastic - definitely book direct to take advantage of this. Really good freshly cooked hot breakfast and great coffee.

Very helpful and friendly team of staff and a great stay. I know where I'll be staying in Cardiff in future!

Date of stay: July 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonK284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and feedback following your stay with us earlier this week. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2020

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Hotel three nights, 20 March through 23 March
2020. We were trying to to return to our home in Alaska during the pandemic. My wife was able to get on the internet but my tab wouldn't connect. The manager, John offered to moved us to another room, which he did. We both had connectivity.
The desk staff helped us whenever we had another problem. Marcus and Catherine were wonderful in helping us with our issues, including suggestions on how to find transportation home. ALL the staff at the Royal Hotel marvelous and spectacular.
Morning breakfast was beyond our expectations or our anticipation when we were told of the morning feast.
During our visit most of Cardiff was closed due to Corvid-19. My wife and I hope to return to Cardiff in the future. Also, if it's good enough for Capt. Scott, it good for us.
The Royal Hotel is the best hotel we have found in Europe in five years of travel.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TRIJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2020

It was a pleasure having you with us, we are so glad you made it home safely.
Am very jealous that you will be enjoying the wilderness and tranquillity.
Enjoy your travels.
Take care, stay safe, stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2020

We stayed at the Royal Hotel on the weekend that the six nations rugby game got cancelled due to the Coronavirus, but still had a lovely time with staff being extremely helpful and friendly. The Royal is a lovely place to stay with clean rooms and a lovely breakfast with a great selection to choose from.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarletfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2020

Thank you for your kind words and review; we are pleased to hear that your stay at the Royal Hotel was a memorable visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel in the near future. We will always offer favourable Bed and Breakfast rates if booked through our website or calling the hotel direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews