We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Vanessa H

Would definitely go back …

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 26, 2023via mobile
Hotel's Favourite
Lovely hotel, everything it says it is. All the convenience and trappings of the usual chain hotels/rooms but done that little bit nicer, and for a competitive price. Breakfast was excellent, the room lovely and staff very friendly and helpful. Would def stay there any time visiting Cardiff. Discounted parking close by was a bonus as we needed the car this time but also close to the train station.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review
Responded Nov 28, 2023
Dear 932vanessah

Thank you for your great review and lovely comments following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were looked after by our great team of staff.

Your comments about the breakfast, the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team.

Take care and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

With kind wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$144
C$131
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
C$110
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
C$143
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$121
  • Algotels
0.4 km from The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$49
  • Travelodge
0.5 km from The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$54
  • Priceline
0.9 km from The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Exterior View
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$81
  • Algotels
0.5 km from The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$152
  • Algotels
2.1 km from The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$82
  • Expedia.com
    C$102
1.6 km from The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Novotel
    C$106
  • Algotels
0.8 km from The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,745)
Filter reviews
1,745 results
Traveller rating
710
602
286
81
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
710
602
286
81
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinema room captain scott room deluxe room train station central location st mary street car park lovely hotel the heart of the city would stay again high street excellent location ironing board reception staff few minutes walk bars and restaurants lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,745 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2023

I’ve used this hotel a quite a few times over the past 10 years. But this visit is one of the worst.
The bed was so uncomfortable, I don’t think the mattress has been changed in the past 20 years. I woke up with a really bad back!!
The sheets were dirty, and the toilet hadn’t been cleaned.

We only dropped our bags off, then headed out for the night. (To watch a play & have a late dinner). We didn’t get back to our room until 2. This is when we seen the state of the toilet and sheets!!

I will never stay here again!!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank saraclarkexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2023

Dear saraclarkexx

Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments following your latest stay with us in November.

I was very sorry to read about the issues that you encountered during your stay.

All guest feedback is welcome and appreciated, as this will help us improve our standards and service.

Thank you for highlighting these areas which have been passed on to the relevant department to look at what improvements can be made to prevent this from happening again.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2023

My wife and I stayed here as we were visiting Cardiff for her birthday. We were warmly greeted by the reception staff and as we were early,were told to leave our case with them until the 3pm check in time. We had asked for a high floor/quiet room as we knew that St Mary Street can be noisy at night due to clubs and bars in the vicinity. Our room was on the fifth floor and we were not disturbed at all,in fact we slept really well. The room was very spacious and clean,in which there was a sofa and very large TV. The bathroom was also very large and the toiletries were very nice. Breakfast was excellent,with a great selection of both hot and cold food on offer. The bacon/sausages etc were replenished regularly and as such were not dry as can be the case with some buffet breakfasts. The staff at breakfast were also very helpful and polite,but a special mention to the reception staff,Mohammed,Tom and Marcus who were very helpful with regards to directions etc. A useful tip,take advantage of the special rate offered by the hotel for car parking on Westgate Street and also to avoid steps,use the hotel entrance,also on Westgate Street. We will definately stay here next time we visit Cardiff.

Room tip: As in the main review ,make use of car parking and hotel entrance on Westgate Street to avoid steps at front of hotel.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank N6092GOjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2023

Dear N6092GOjohnc

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and lovely comments following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were looked after by our great team of staff.

Your comments about the breakfast, the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team.

Take care and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

With kind wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2023 via mobile

Stayed here with my friend for 2 nights for the rugby, lovely clean hotel, the room was spotless, bed really comfy and the shower very powerful, just how I like it. Staff were all lovely and very helpful, everything is on your door step, food, clubs, tesco and spar literally outside the door. If I had to complain , I would prefer a window that opens im a very warm person so even with the aircon on I was still warm, but I would 100 % stay again and will be recommending to others. Thank you for a wonderful stay and service.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Norma32167
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2023

Dear Norma32167

Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind comments following your stay with us over one of our busiest rugby weekends.

I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you felt welcome and looked after by our great team of staff.

Your comments about the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team.

Take care and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

With kind wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2023 via mobile

In a world where the hotel sector is on average populated by staff that seem not to be engaged with their customers, what a refreshing change it was to stay at the Royal Hotel in Cardiff. The location is excellent , within a 7 minute walk to Cardiff Central Station and centrally located for the City and Principality Stadium. From the moment we walked in the door we were met by staff that were genuinely pleased to see you. They were friendly, helpful beyond what was necessary and most of all had attention to detail. The room was lovely, clean, well equipped and quiet (even on a Friday night in Cardiff!). The breakfast was comprehensive with all options catered for and nothing went unattended by the staff. You were left with the feeling that they enjoyed their roles. We would heartily recommend The Royal Hotel for your stay in Cardiff

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hcfmscbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2023

Dear Hcfmscbb

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and lovely comments following your stay with us during the rugby weekend earlier this month.

I was extremely pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you felt welcomed and looked after by our great team of staff, who indeed enjoy their job roles.

Your comments about the breakfast, the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team.

Take care and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

With kind wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2023 via mobile

I'm actually really disappointed with my stay here! I booked 2 nights here solo to attend a friends wedding. Checkin was OK but I advise to get the lift otherwise you will be lugging suitcases up 50 steps! I was in room 415. It's extre Ely dated, massively in need of refurbishment, the floor was eneven, extremely creeky, the bed as you sat on it was very very squealt and uncomfortable, I really didn't sleep well either night. When it came to breakfast, it was awful, very poorly quality meat, fruit was limited, deacf coffee was granules, it really need to be ordered as you go like other hotels. Overall I was extremely disappointed by my visit and I most certainly won't be retuning again! 2 star hotel at a push!

Room tip: Book elsewhere!!
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2023

Dear Phil P

I am sorry that the hotel was not to your liking during your recent stay.

Yes, if people are arriving with luggage we do recommend using the lift; the level of exercise caused by using the stairs can be exhausting for most.
We do advise all guests in our confirmations to use the hotel entrance on Westgate Street that leads straight to the lift, that avoids the few steps up on St Mary Street and back down again. We have also added that advice to our website following your comments.

Thank you for bringing the issues in your room to our attention. It is only with valuable feedback like that that we can aim to rectify any issues that affect our guests. Sometimes parts of our lovely old building creak and groan for a little while as the seasons change. It is unfortunate that you didn’t bring it to our attention whilst you were at the hotel so that we could find you an alternate room.

I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your breakfast; we are always flexible to our guests, and absolutely would have cooked items to order if you had asked.
We actually find that our breakfast is very well received and is primarily a buffet arrangement due to guest demand. We buy only the very best quality ingredients that we can obtain from the local marketplace.
Alongside the full cooked breakfast we offer a full range of continental style options and usually what we consider to be an appropriate variety of fruit that our guests can enjoy without creating too much food waste or excessive carbon footprint. Ordinarily we find that fresh melon, grapes, apples, oranges, bananas, segmented fruits and our variety of dried fruits and nuts is more than sufficient for the vast majority of our guests who are very complimentary about our breakfast.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews